Renewal Deadlines

If you are a large school, your school's Certificate of Approval (license) must be renewed annually. If you are a small school, your license must be renewed as approved by the Commission.

Types of licenses issued:

  •  1-year:  Complete renewal application must be received or postmarked at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of your Certificate of Approval
  •  3-year (approved by the Commission):  School will be advised of annual renewal process. 

Your renewal application with fees must be mailed to TWC, postmarked at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of your Certificate of Approval.

If your renewal application is late or incomplete, you must pay a late fee. If your renewal application is not postmarked by the expiration date of the Certificate of Approval, you must apply for licensure as if you were an unlicensed school.

Return to Top

Renewal Process

Notification, Forms & Fees

Ninety days prior to the expiration of your Certificate of Approval, we will notify you of the due date for your renewal application, the forms that must be sent, and the fees that are due. 

Renewal forms:

We may also request that you send other documents such as financial statements or catalog revisions.

Your renewal fee will be $500 or higher. Higher fees are based on .12% of tuition from students minus refunds as shown on a school's most recent financial statement. You also will pay $45 for the renewal of each representative.

Return to Top

Late or Incomplete Application for Renewal

If an application for renewal is late, a late fee will be assessed. If the application is not received within five days of the Certificate expiration date, the Certificate of Approval will become inactive, and the school must submit an application for original Certificate of Approval with appropriate fees. Continuing to operate as an unapproved school will result in additional penalties.

If an application for renewal is incomplete, we will ask for corrections. If the school does not finish the corrections by the fifth day after the expiration of the Certificate of Approval, TWC will deny renewal of the Certificate of Approval.

Return to Top

Appealing a Denial

Within 15 days of notice of denial, the school may submit all the required items or appeal the renewal denial following the instructions contained in the notice letter.

If renewal is denied and the school does not appeal, then:

  • The school no longer holds a Certificate of Approval
  • The denial of the Certificate of Approval is final
  • The school ceases operations and closes with violations
  • The owner cannot operate any school

Return to Top

Contact Information

  • Texas Workforce Commission
    Career Schools and Colleges, Room 226T
    Attn: Revenue & Trust Managment
    Mail by Courier:
    4405 Springdale Road
    Austin, TX 78723
    Mail by USPS:
    101 E 15th St
    Austin, TX 78778-0001
  • Texas Workforce Commission
    Attn:
    Career Schools and
    Colleges, Room 226T
    Mail by Courieer:
    4405 Springdale Road
    Austin, TX 78723
    Mail by USPS:
    101 E 15th St, Rm 226-T
    Austin, TX 78778-0001