Texas Operation Welcome Home

Texas Operation Welcome Home

Texas Workforce Commission is partnering with the Texas Workforce Solutions network to assist recently separated service members who are experiencing challenges in translating their military skills into civilian terms, locating employment, completing two- to four-year college programs or obtaining the appropriate licensure or certifications to compete in the job market.

For more information visit www.TexasOperationWelcomeHome.com.

Skills for Transition Program

The Skills for Transition Program assists military service members who are preparing to separate from service within 180 days or who have been discharged within 180 days and will remain in Texas.

To obtain information and assistance with the challenges in transitioning from military service to the civilian workforce, contact a Workforce Solutions’ staff in your area:

Workforce Solutions Skills for Transition Program Staff
Service Area Contact Person Contact
Information
Borderplex
Martha Loya     
 
 
Vielka Atkins 

martha.loya@borderplexjobs.com
915-887-2051

vielka.atkins@borderplexjobs.com

915-887-2635

Capital Area Samuel Blanks
samuel.blanks@twc.state.tx.us
512-597-7208
 
Central Texas

Kara McVey


Mary Urrutia

kara0910@workforcelink.com
254-200-2228
 
254-200-2230
Rural Capital Casey Wade

casey.wade@twc.state.tx.us
512-244-2207

Tarrant County Sal Adamski sal.adamski@workforcesolutions.net
817-413-4403

 

Information and Application for Community Colleges

We encourage community colleges to participate in the Skills for Transition Program. Please see the program's overview and application below.

We Hire Vets

We Hire Vets logoThe We Hire Vets program recognizes Texas employers for their commitment to hiring veterans.

Employers whose workforce is composed of at least 10 percent military veterans are eligible to receive a We Hire Vets employer recognition decal to display on their storefront and a digital decal to display on their website.

To participate, use one of the links provided below:

After receiving and approving the application, TWC will mail the We Hire Vets decal to the company's physical address and email the high-resolution digital version to the email address provided on the application.