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PURPOSE: 

The purpose of this Workforce Development (WD) Letter is to provide information and 

guidance to Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards) on increased child care 

provider reimbursement rates. 

RESCISSIONS: 

WD Letter 24-21 

BACKGROUND: 

The US Office of Child Care encourages states to adjust the lowest maximum 

reimbursement rates to the 75th percentile. On September 13, 2022, the Texas Workforce 

Commission’s (TWC) three-member Commission (Commission) took action to set the 

lowest threshold for child care maximum reimbursement rates at the 75th percentile of 

the market rate, based on the most recent Market Rate Survey (MRS). 

Texas Rising Star and Texas School Ready (TSR) maximum reimbursement rates 

continue to be tiered in accordance with Texas Workforce Commission Chapter 809 

Child Care Services rule §809.20. 

PROCEDURES: 

No Local Flexibility (NLF): This rating indicates that Boards must comply with the 

federal and state laws, rules, policies, and required procedures set forth in this WD Letter 

and have no local flexibility in determining whether and/or how to comply. All 

information with an NLF rating is indicated by “must” or “shall.” 

Local Flexibility (LF): This rating indicates that Boards have local flexibility in 

determining whether and/or how to implement guidance or recommended practices set 

forth in this WD Letter. All information with an LF rating is indicated by “may” or 

“recommend.” 

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=40&pt=20&ch=809&rl=20
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=40&pt=20&ch=809&rl=20
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NLF:  Boards must be aware that maximum reimbursement rates for all categories of 

nonrelative child care that currently fall below the 75th percentile will be increased to the 

75th percentile in accordance with the most recent MRS. These rate increases are 

effective October 1 of the year during which the MRS is released. 

NLF: Boards must be aware that if a local reimbursement rate for a category of care was in 

effect before October 1 and is higher than the calculated increased rate for that category, 

the higher rate continues to be in effect after October 1. No provider reimbursement rates 

will be reduced based on this guidance. 

NLF: Boards must be aware that the Texas Rising Star reimbursement rates have been 

calculated based on the most recent MRS 75th percentile for non-TRS providers and 

continue to be based on the following benchmarks: 

• Texas Rising Star Four-Star providers’ reimbursement rates must be set at 9 percent 

greater than the rates of Three-Star providers. 

• Texas Rising Star Three-Star providers’ reimbursement rates must be set at 7 percent 

greater than the rates of Two-Star providers. 

• Texas Rising Star Two-Star providers’ reimbursement rates must be set at 5 percent 

greater than non-TRS providers’ regular child care rates. 

NLF: Boards must be aware that TWC will calculate and enter the reimbursement rates of each 

category of care into The Workforce Information System of Texas (TWIST) for each 

Board. (See Attachment 1, Fiscal Year 2023 Child Care Provider Reimbursement Rates.) 

The new rates are effective on October 1 of each year. 

NLF: Boards must ensure that provider agreements containing specific reimbursement rate 

information are updated to reflect the new rates. Boards must ensure that all affected 

agreements are updated by November 30 of each year. 

INQUIRIES: 

Send inquiries regarding this WD Letter to childcare.programassistance@twc.texas.gov. 

ATTACHMENTS: 

Attachment 1: Fiscal Year 2023 Child Care Provider Reimbursement Rates 

REFERENCES: 

Title 45 Code of Federal Regulations §98.45, Equal Access 

Texas Workforce Commission Chapter 809 Child Care Services Rule §809.20, Maximum 

Provider Reimbursement Rates 

mailto:childcare.programassistance@twc.texas.gov

