1 2	CHAPTER 844. PROHIBITED CORONAVIRUS VACCINE MANDATES BY PRIVATE EMPLOYER
3 4 5	PROPOSED RULES TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE <i>TEXAS REGISTER</i> . THIS DOCUMENT WILL HAVE NO SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES BUT IS SUBJECT
6	TO FORMATTING CHANGES AS REQUIRED BY THE OFFICE OF THE
7 8	SECRETARY OF STATE.
9 10 11 12	The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) proposes new Chapter 844, relating to Prohibited Coronavirus Vaccine Mandates by Private Employer, comprising the following subchapters:
12	Subchapter A. General Provisions, §844.01 and §844.02
13	Subchapter B. Complaints, §§844.25 - 844.30
15	Subchapter C. Determinations, §§844.50 - 844.55
16	Subchapter D. Administrative Hearings and Judicial Review, §§844.75 - 844.87
17	Subenaper D. Manimistrative flearings and sudicial Keview, \$3044.75 044.07
18	PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY
19	The purpose of Chapter 844 is to establish rules as required by Senate Bill (SB) 7, 88th
20	Texas Legislature, Third Special Session (2023), which added Texas Health and Safety
21	Code, Chapter 81D, Prohibited Coronavirus Virus Vaccine Mandates by Private
22	Employer.
23	
24	SB 7 prohibits employers from taking adverse actions against applicants, employees, or
25	contractors based on a refusal to be vaccinated against COVID-19. If an adverse action
26 27	was taken by an employer against an applicant, employee, or contractor, the applicant, employee, or contractor can file a complaint and TWC will investigate. An employer who
28 29	is determined to have taken a prohibited adverse action is subject to an administrative penalty unless the employer takes reasonable efforts to make the complainant whole. SB
30	7 also allows TWC to recover the reasonable cost of investigation when it is determined
31	that the employer took a prohibited adverse action.
32	
33	Chapter 844 rules address the requirements for and methods of submitting a complaint.
34	The chapter also establishes an appeal procedure to provide employers notice and an
35	opportunity to be heard at a meaningful time and in a meaningful manner.
36	
37	PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS
38	SUDCHADTED A CENEDAL DDOVISIONS
39 40	SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS TWC proposes new Subchapter A, General Provisions, as follows:
41	8044.01 Decement
42	§844.01. Purpose
43 44	New §844.01 defines the purpose of the Chapter 844 rules.
44 45	<u>§844.02. Definitions</u>

1 New §844.02 defines "Adverse Action," "Agency," "Complainant," "Complaint Form,"

- 2 "Contractor," "COVID-19," "Day," "Department," "Employee," "Employer,"
- 3 "Governmental Entity," and "Person." The definition of Employee would include an
- 4 individual who seeks admission to or is employed under a medical residency program in
- 5 Texas.
- 6

7 SUBCHAPTER B. COMPLAINTS

TWC proposes new Subchapter B, Complaints, as follows:

8 9

10 §844.25. Complaint Requirements

11 New §844.25 establishes the requirements and method to file a complaint. Complaints

- 12 must be filed online within 90 days of the adverse action and must provide the name of
- 13 the complainant, name of the employer, and the nature and description of the adverse
- 14 action. The complainant must also declare that the information provided in the complaint 15 is true and correct.
- 15 16

17 §844.26. Valid Complaints

New §844.26 addresses issues concerning the validity of a complaint. These issues
include that the adverse action must have occurred after the effective date of SB 7, that
the employer is not a governmental entity, and that the complaint is not duplicative of a

- 21 prior complaint. All references to days in this chapter mean calendar days.
- 22

23 §844.27. Jurisdiction

24 New §844.27 defines when employers are subject to TWC's jurisdiction under this

- 25 Chapter as it relates the connection of the work, complainant, and employer to Texas.
- 26

27 **§844.28. Dismissal**

New §844.28 allows TWC to dismiss complaints that are incomplete or do not meet the
 requirements of §844.26. Dismissed complaints can be refiled by the complainant within
 30 days of the dismissal.

31

32 §844.29. Adverse Action

New §844.29 provides context to the definition of adverse action by further addressing
the reasonable person standard. Examples of an adverse action include, but are not
limited to, terminating an employee, terminating a contractual relationship, demoting an
employee, reducing pay or compensation, not hiring an employee, not offering a contract
for a contract position, or a reduction in hours not related to a business need. When

- determining whether an employer's action was an adverse action, the Agency will
- 39 consider the employer's good faith attempt to comply with a legal obligation as evidence
- 40 that the employer's action would not be considered by a reasonable person to be for the
- 41 purpose of punishing, alienating, or otherwise adversely affecting a complainant.
- 42

43 §844.30. Investigation of Complaints in Health Care

- 44 New §844.30 requires TWC to consult with the Texas Department of State Health
- 45 Services (DSHS) when a complaint against a health care facility, health care provider, or
- 46 physician concerns a policy that requires the use of protective medical equipment to

1 determine if the policy is reasonable. Section 844.30 also requires TWC and DSHS to

- 2 enter an MOU to facilitate coordination.
- 3 4

SUBCHAPTER C. DETERMINATIONS

5 **TWC proposes new Subchapter C, Determinations, as follows:**

6

7 <u>§844.50. Preliminary Determination Order, Determination on Remedial Action, and</u> 8 <u>Penalty and Cost Order</u>

9 New §844.50 defines the procedures for issuing a determination after the investigation is

10 complete. A preliminary determination order will be mailed to the employer informing

11 the employer whether TWC found a violation, which would require the imposition of an

administrative penalty, and whether TWC will seek to recover investigative costs from

the employer. SB 7 prescribes the administrative penalty amount of \$50,000 for each

- violation and did not provide TWC with discretionary authority to adjust the penalty
- amount. The preliminary determination order would inform the employer of appeal rights

and the ability to take remedial action to avoid the administrative penalty. If an employer

- completes remedial action and submits proof of remedial action within 30 days of a
 preliminary determination order or decision, TWC will issue a determination on remedial
- preliminary determination order or decision, TWC will issue a determination on remedial action, which is an appealable document. Once the determination or decision is final, a
- 20 penalty and cost order will be issued instructing the employer to make payment to TWC.
- 21 If an employer fails to make payment in accordance with the penalty and cost order,
- TWC will refer the amount to the Office of the Attorney General in accordance with
- Texas Government Code §2107.003 as well as reporting the indebtedness to the Texas
- 24 Comptroller of Public Accounts under the warrant hold provisions in Texas Government
- 25 Code §403.055(f).
- 26

27 §844.51. Remedial Action

New §844.51 establishes how an employer may take remedial action, in accordance with
Texas Health and Safety Code §81D.006, to avoid the imposition of an administrative
penalty. The section also defines acceptable proof of a remedial action and the method
for submitting proof of remedial action, which must be submitted within 30 days of a
preliminary determination order.

33

34 §844.52. Investigative Costs

New §844.52 addresses when TWC may seek to recover the reasonable costs of an
 investigation.

37

38 §844.53. Corrected Determinations

- New §844.53 allows TWC to issue corrected determinations or decisions to correct an
 error including an incorrect employer address.
- 41

42 §844.54. Withdrawal of Complaint

43 New §844.54 allows a complainant to withdraw a complaint before the preliminary

44 determination order becomes final.

45

46 §844.55. Appeal and Determination Finality

1 2 3	New §844.55 establishes that an employer can file an appeal to a determination within 30 days of the mailing date of the determination by submitting a written appeal by mail, fax, or other method approved by TWC on the preliminary determination order.
4 5	SUBCHAPTER D. ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS AND JUDICIAL REVIEW
6	TWC proposes new Subchapter D, Administrative Hearings and Judicial Review, as
7	follows:
8	
9	<u>§844.75. Administrative Hearings</u>
10	New §844.75 states that an administrative hearing will be conducted by the Agency's
11	Special Program Appeals department by electronic means.
12	
13	<u>§844.76. Parties</u>
14	Under New §844.76, the parties to the hearing are the employer and TWC. While the
15	complainant is not a party to the appeal, a complainant would be invited to the hearing as
16	a witness because his or her testimony may be needed to decide whether a violation
17	occurred.
18	
19	<u>§844.77. Hearing Scheduling and Notice</u>
20	New §844.77 prescribes the procedures for scheduling and issuing a hearing notice upon the magint of an appeal. The section states what information must be included in the
21 22	the receipt of an appeal. The section states what information must be included in the hearing notice.
22 23	heating notice.
23 24	§844.78. Representation
25	New §844.78 allows parties to be represented by an attorney or other individual of their
26	choice.
27	
28	§844.79. Ex Parte Communications
29	New §844.79 prohibits ex parte communications without notice and an opportunity for all
30	parties to participate.
31	
32	<u>§844.80. Hearing Procedures</u>
33	New §844.80 establishes hearing procedures for the administrative hearing including
34	general procedures and procedures for evidence, witnesses, exchange of exhibits, and
35	maintaining the hearing record.
36	
37	<u>§844.81. Postponement and Continuance</u>
38	New §844.81 addresses situations when the hearing can be postponed or continued.
39 40	<u>§844.82. Default</u>
40 41	New §844.82 describes the procedures when a party fails to appear for the hearing and
41 42	for a non-appearing party to file a motion to set aside the default.
42 43	for a non appearing party to me a motion to set aside the default.
44	§844.83. Timeliness

- 1 New §844.83 establishes the timeliness guidelines for this chapter including address
- 2 changes, dating of appeal documents, and the evidence required to overcome the
- 3 presumption of receipt.
- 4

5 §844.84. Withdrawal of an Appeal

6 New §844.84 allows an employer to withdrawal an appeal before the hearing officer's

- 7 decision is final.
- 8

9 §844.85. Decision

- New §844.85 states that the hearing officer's decision must be issued in writing as soon as possible after the hearing closes; states the information that must be included in the
- 12 decision; and states that the decision must be mailed to the parties or their
- representatives. A decision can be reopened if the employer submits a notice to the
- 14 hearing officer within 14 days of the mailing date of the decision that the employer
- 15 intends to take remedial action. The employer would then have 30 days to submit proof
- 16 of remedial action.
- 17

18 §844.86. Finality of Decision

- New §844.86 states that the hearing officer's decision becomes final 14 days after the
 date the decision is mailed unless the hearing officer reopens the decision before that
 date.
- 21 22

23 §844.87. Judicial Review

New §844.87 sets forth the method of seeking judicial review of the hearing officer's
 decision.

26

27 PART III. IMPACT STATEMENTS

- 28 Chris Nelson, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each year of the first five 29 years the rules will be in effect, the following statements will apply:
- 30
- There are additional estimated costs to the state and to local governments expected as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.
- 33
- There are no estimated cost reductions to the state and to local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.
- 36
- There are estimated losses or increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.
- 39
- 40 There are no foreseeable implications relating to costs or revenue of the state or local
- 41 governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.
- 42
- 43 There are no anticipated economic costs to individuals required to comply with the rules.
- 44
- 45 There are no anticipated adverse economic impact on small businesses, microbusinesses,
- 46 or rural communities as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

1

- 2 Based on the analyses required by Texas Government Code, §2001.024, TWC has
- 3 determined that the requirement to repeal or amend a rule, as required by Texas
- 4 Government Code, §2001.0045, does not apply to this rulemaking.
- 5
- 6 <u>Takings Impact Assessment</u>
- Under Texas Government Code, §2007.002(5), "taking" means a governmental action 7 that affects private real property, in whole or in part or temporarily or permanently, in a 8 manner that requires the governmental entity to compensate the private real property 9 owner as provided by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the US Constitution or the 10 11 Texas Constitution, §17 or §19, Article I, or restricts or limits the owner's right to the property that would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental action, and is the 12 producing cause of a reduction of at least 25 percent in the market value of the affected 13 private real property, determined by comparing the market value of the property as if the 14 governmental action is not in effect and the market value of the property determined as if 15 the governmental action is in effect. TWC completed a Takings Impact Assessment for 16 the proposed rulemaking action under Texas Government Code, §2007.043. The primary 17 purpose of this proposed rulemaking action, as discussed elsewhere in this preamble, is to 18 implement and interpret the provisions of Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 81D, 19
- 20 Prohibited Coronavirus Virus Vaccine Mandates by Private Employer.
- 21

22 The proposed rulemaking action will not create any additional burden on private real

- 23 property or affect private real property in a manner that would require compensation to
- 24 private real property owners under the US Constitution or the Texas Constitution. The
- 25 proposal also will not affect private real property in a manner that restricts or limits an
- 26 owner's right to the property that would otherwise exist in the absence of the
- 27 governmental action. Therefore, the proposed rulemaking will not cause a taking under
- 28 Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007.
- 29
- 30 Government Growth Impact Statement
- 31 TWC has determined that during the first five years the rules will be in effect, they:
- 32 --will create or eliminate a government program;
- --will require the creation or elimination of employee positions;
- --will require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations to TWC;
- 35 --will require an increase or decrease in fees paid to TWC;
- 36 --will create a new regulation;
- 37 -- will not expand, limit, or eliminate an existing regulation;
- 38 -- will change the number of individuals subject to the rules; and
- 39 -- will not positively or adversely affect the state's economy.
- 40
- 41 Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
- 42 TWC has determined that the rules will not have an adverse economic impact on small
- 43 businesses or rural communities, as the proposed rules place no requirements on small
- 44 businesses or rural communities.

45

46 Mariana Vega, Director, Labor Market Information, has determined that there is not a

- 1 significant negative impact upon employment conditions in the state as a result of the
- 2 rules.
- 3
- 4 Chuck Ross, Director, Fraud Deterrence and Compliance Monitoring, has determined
- 5 that for each year of the first five years the rules are in effect, the public benefit
- 6 anticipated as a result of enforcing the proposed rules will be to ensure compliance with
- 7 new state law.
- 8
- 9 TWC hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 10 be within TWC's legal authority to adopt.
- 11

12 **PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES**

- 13 SB 7 requires consultation with the Department of State Health Services.
- 14
- 15 TWC will provide notice to employers and other stakeholders to increase awareness
- 16 during the public comment period.
- 17

18 PART V. PUBLIC COMMENTS

- 19 Comments on the proposed new rules may be submitted to
- 20 <u>TWCPolicyComments@twc.texas.gov</u> and must be received no later than August 26,
- 21 2024.
- 22

23 PART VI. STATUTORY AUTHORITY

- 24 The rules are proposed to implement Senate Bill 7, 88th Texas Legislature, Third Special
- 25 Session (2023), which added Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 81D, Prohibited
- 26 Coronavirus Virus Vaccine Mandates by Private Employer.
- 27
- 28 The rules are proposed under:
- 29 -- Texas Health and Safety Code §81D.007, which provides TWC with the specific
- authority to adopt rules as necessary to implement and enforce Texas Health and Safety
 Code, Chapter 81D; and
- 32 --Texas Labor Code §301.0015(a)(6), which provides TWC with the general authority to
- adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary for the effective administration
- 34 of TWC services and activities.
- 35
- 36 The proposed rules relate to Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 81D.
- 37

1 2	CHAPTER 8	44. PROHIBITED CORONAVIRUS VACCINE MANDATES BY PRIVATE EMPLOYER
3 4	SUBCHAPTER A.	GENERAL PROVISIONS
5	§844.01. Pur	·pose.
7 3 9 0	Health an	ose of this chapter is to implement and interpret the provisions of Texas ad Safety Code, Chapter 81D, Prohibited Coronavirus Virus Vaccine s by Private Employer.
-	§844.02. Def	initions.
3 4 5 6 7	following	wing words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the g meanings, unless the statute or context in which the word or phrase is rly indicates otherwise.
/ 3)) 1 2	(1)	"Adverse Action" means an action taken by an employer that a reasonable person would consider was for the purpose of punishing, alienating, or otherwise adversely affecting an employee, contractor, applicant for employment, or applicant for a contract position.
	(2)	"Agency" shall have the meaning established under §800.2 of this title.
- - - -	(3)	"Applicant for employment" means a person who has submitted a formal application for an employment position for which the person meets the minimum qualifications and who has a genuine interest in the position.
	(4)	"Applicant for a contract position" means a person who has submitted a formal application or proposal for a contract position for which the person meets the minimum qualifications and who has a genuine interest in the contract position.
	(5)	"Complainant" means an employee, contractor, applicant for employment, or applicant for a contract position who files a complaint against an employer alleging an Adverse Action by the employer against the person in violation of Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 81D.
) - 	(6)	"Complaint Form" means the COVID-19 Vaccine Complaint Form approved by the Agency.
3 4 5 5	(7)	"Contractor" means a person who undertakes specific work for an employer in exchange for a benefit without submitting to the control of the employer over the manner, methods, or details of the work.

1			
2		(8)	"COVID-19" means the 2019 novel coronavirus disease and any
3			variants of the disease.
4			
5		(9)	"Day" means calendar day.
6			
7		(10)	"Department" means the Department of State Health Services.
8			
9		(11)	"Employee" means an individual who is employed by an employer,
10			whether or not for compensation. The term does not include:
11			
12			(A) a person related to the employer or the employer's spouse
13			within the first or second degree by consanguinity or affinity,
14			as determined under Texas Government Code, Chapter 573; or
15			
16			(B) a contractor.
17			
18		(12)	"Employer" means a person, other than a governmental entity, who
19			employs one or more employees.
20			
21		(13)	"Governmental Entity" means this state, an agency of this state, a local
22			government entity, or a political subdivision of this state as defined in
23			§821.4 of this title. This definition includes the definition of
24			governmental entity as provided by Texas Health and Safety Code
25			§81B.001(2).
26			
27		(14)	"Person" includes corporation, organization, government or
28			governmental subdivision or agency, business trust, estate, trust,
29			partnership, association, and any other legal entity.
30			
31	SUBCHAPT	ER B.	COMPLAINTS
32			
33	§844.2	5. Con	nplaint Requirements.
34	-		
35	(a)	A co	mplaint must be filed in writing by the complainant completing the
36			plaint Form.
37			1
38	(b)	A Co	omplaint Form may only be submitted by online submission as identified
39			igh the Agency's website page related to COVID-19 mandate
40			plaints or by other means authorized in writing by the Agency.
41		1	
42	(c)	The	complainant must provide the following information on the Complaint
43		Form	· · · · ·
44			
45		(1)	the name of the complainant;
46		× /	1 /
-			

1		(2)	the name of the employer;
2 3		(3)	the nature and description of any alleged Adverse Action the employer
4 5			took against the complainant; and
5 6 7		(4)	any other information specifically requested by the Agency on the Complaint Form that is necessary to resolve the complaint.
8			
9	(d)	The	e complainant must declare that the information provided in the
10		com	npleted Complaint Form is true and correct.
11 12	§844.26	5. Va	lid Complaints.
13 14	(a)	Δ	complaint may only be filed for an Adverse Action that occurred after the
14 15 16	(a)	effe	ective date of Senate Bill (SB) 7, 88th Texas Legislature, Third Special ssion (2023), which was February 6, 2024.
17			
18	(b)		e complaint must be received by the Agency within 90 days of the date of
19			Adverse Action. For adverse actions that occurred after the effective
20			e of SB 7, and before the effective date of this chapter, a complaint must
21			received by the Agency within 90 days of the date this chapter becomes
22 23		ene	ective.
23	(c)	Ac	contractor or applicant for a contract position may only file a complaint if
25	(•)		contractor or applicant for a contract position was or would have been a
26			ty to the contract with the employer.
27		I	I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I
28	(d)	Ac	complaint must name an employer that is a non-governmental entity that
29		sati	isfies the definition of employer in §844.02(12) of this chapter.
30			
31	(e)		complaint may only be filed by a complainant for an Adverse Action that
32			s taken against the complainant for a refusal to be vaccinated against
33		CO	DVID-19.
34			
35	(f)		Complaint Form must be filled out completely and sufficiently to allow
36			Agency to attempt contact with the employer to investigate the Adverse tion.
37 38		AC	11011.
38 39	(g)	Δ	complainant may not file an additional complaint for an Adverse Action
40	(5)		t has already been the basis of another complaint that is still pending or
41			ulted in the issuance of a preliminary determination order, other than a
42			missal under §844.28 of this subchapter, or for a complaint that was
43			hdrawn under §844.54 of this chapter.
44			r
45	(h)	Du	ring the course of an investigation, a complainant or an employer may
46	~ /		wide additional information to the Agency prior to the issuance of a

1		preliminary determination order which the Agency will consider in addition to evidence offered in the original complaint.
2		to evidence offered in the original complaint.
3	8811 27	. Jurisdiction.
4	8044.27	
5 6	The	Agency may exercise jurisdiction over complaints under this chapter in which:
7		
8	(a)	the work was performed or would have been performed in Texas; and:
9	$(\mathbf{I}_{\mathbf{r}})$	46.5.5.5.1.5.5.5.
10	(b)	the employer:
11 12		(1) is a resident employer; or
12		(1) is a resident employer, or
13		(2) is a non-resident employer pursuant to the Texas Civil Practice &
15		Remedies Code, Chapter 17, Subchapter C, also known as the
16		"Texas Long-Arm Statute," when the following are met:
17		
18		(A) the employer employs the complainant in Texas at the time
19		of the Adverse Action or the employer's contact with Texas
20		is continuing and systematic; and
21		
22		(B) exercising jurisdiction is consistent with:
23		
24		(i) fair play and justice as determined by the quality,
25		nature, and extent of the employer's activities in
26		Texas including the extent to which the employer
27		avails itself of the benefits and protections of
28		Texas law; and
29		
30		(ii) the relative convenience of the parties.
31		
32	(c)	The Agency shall not exercise jurisdiction over complaints based on work
33		performed or intended to be performed outside the United States.
34	8011 70	Diamianal
35 36	8044.20	. Dismissal.
36 37	(a)	The Agency may dismiss a complaint that is incomplete or does not meet
38	(<i>a</i>)	the requirements of §844.26 of this subchapter.
39		are requirements of 50 (1.20 of this subchapter.
40	(b)	A dismissal under subsection (a) of this section becomes final unless a
40	(0)	complainant refiles the complaint within the period to file a complaint or
42		within 30 days of the mailing of the dismissal, whichever is later.
43		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

1	§844.29). Adverse Action.
2	(a)	To support a finding of a violation under this chapter, the Adverse Action must
3	~ /	cause a result that a reasonable person would regard as an objective and
4		demonstrated harm to the complainant.
5		-
6	(b)	If an Adverse Action was taken, the Agency will consider the reason(s)
7	(0)	provided by an employer when determining whether the Adverse Action was
8		taken due to a refusal to be vaccinated against COVID-19 in violation of
9		Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 81D.
10		
11	§844.30). Investigation of Complaints in Health Care.
12		
13	If a	complaint against a health care facility, health care provider, or physician
14	alle	ges an Adverse Action that involved an employer policy that includes
15		iring the use of protective medical equipment, as described in Texas Health
16		Safety Code §81D.0035(b), the Agency will consult with the Department to
17	dete	rmine whether the policy was reasonable.
18		
19	SUBCHAPT	ER C. Determinations
20	8044 50	
21	§844.50). Preliminary Determination Order, Determination on Remedial Action,
22		and Penalty and Cost Order.
23 24	(a)	After an investigation, the Agency will mail a preliminary determination
24 25	(a)	order to the employer stating whether the Agency determined the employer
23 26		took an Adverse Action against the complainant for a refusal to be
20 27		vaccinated against COVID-19 in violation of Texas Health and Safety Code,
28		Chapter 81D.
29		
30	(b)	If the Agency determines that a violation exists, but no remedial action has
31		occurred prior to the preliminary determination order being issued, the
32		preliminary determination will notify the employer:
33		
34		(1) that a violation has occurred;
35		
36		(2) an administrative penalty will be imposed;
37		
38		(3) that the employer may remediate the violation;
39		(4) the empirical of magnetic time and if and the Area in
40		(4) the amount of reasonable investigative costs, if any, the Agency will
41 42		seek to recover from the employer; and
42 43		(5) the employer has the right to file an appeal.
44		(c) die employer has die fight to file an appeal.

1 2	(c)	If the Agency determines that a violation exists, and the employer has taken remedial action prior to the preliminary determination order being issued,
3 4		the preliminary determination will notify the employer:
5		(1) that a violation has occurred;
6 7 8		(2) whether the remediation was sufficient to remove the administrative penalty;
9 10		(3) whether an administrative penalty will be imposed;
11 12 13		(4) the amount of reasonable investigative costs, if any, the Agency will seek to recover from the employer; and
14 15		(5) the employer has the right to file an appeal.
16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24	(d)	If an employer submits proof of remedial action after the preliminary determination order is issued, the Agency will issue a separate determination on remedial action with separate appeal rights. An employer has 30 days to submit proof of remedial action from the mailing date of the preliminary determination order. If the employer does not submit proof of remediation within 30 days, and/or does not appeal, the Agency will not consider any proof of remediation.
24 25 26 27 28 29	(e)	If the employer files a timely appeal to the preliminary determination order, the employer may remediate at any time up until the hearing officer issues his or her decision, after which the employer must comply with the requirements of §844.85(e) of this chapter.
30 31 32 33 34	(f)	After a preliminary determination order, a determination on remedial action, or decision becomes final, the Agency will issue a penalty and cost order to the employer detailing the final amount owed to the Agency by the employer with instructions for submitting payment.
35 36 37	(g)	Determinations and penalty and cost orders shall be mailed to the employer at the best address available as required by §815.3 of this title, or at a location the employer usually receives mail.
38 39 40	(h)	A copy of the preliminary determination order will also be mailed to the complainant.
41 42 43 44 45	(i)	An administrative penalty under this chapter is not an award of damages to the complainant and no funds will be issued to the complainant by the Agency.

§844.51. Remedial Action.

2	
3	(a) Under Texas Health and Safety Code §81D.006(a)(1) and (2), an
4	administrative penalty will not be assessed if prescribed remedial action is
5	taken in response to a complaint. The remedial action required to avoid a
6	penalty depends upon the specific facts which resulted in a violation.
7	Depending upon the circumstances of the violation, remedial action may
8	require:
9	
10	(1) if the complainant applied for an employment or contract position with
11	the employer, and was not offered such position based upon his or her
12	refusal to be vaccinated against COVID-19, the employer must offer
13	the complainant the position applied for;
14	
15	(2) if the complainant is currently, or was recently, an employee or
16	contractor of the employer, the employer shall take the following
17	remedial steps as applicable to the violation. Not all steps may be
18	applicable to remedy the Adverse Action which resulted in a violation:
19	
20	(A) reinstatement of the employee or contractor;
21	
22	(B) providing the employee or contractor with back pay from the
23	date the employer took the Adverse Action; and/or
24	
25	(C) the employer must take every reasonable effort to reverse the
26	effects of the Adverse Action. Reasonable efforts include, but
27	are not limited to, reestablishing employee benefits for which
28	the employee or contractor otherwise would have been
29	eligible if the Adverse Action had not been taken.
30	-
31	(b) Acceptable proof of a remedial action may include an offer or hiring letter
32	on company letterhead, a signed new hire paperwork, a signed settlement
33	letter, or completion of an Agency form by the complainant attesting to the
34	remedial action.
35	
36	(c) Proof of remedial action shall be submitted online as identified through the
37	Agency's website page related to COVID-19 mandate complaints, by other
38	means authorized in writing by the Agency, or to the assigned hearing
39	officer in accordance with §844.85(e) of this chapter.
40	
41	§844.52. Investigative Costs.
42	
43	(a) If the Agency determines that the employer violated this chapter, the
44	Agency may recover from the employer reasonable investigative costs
45	incurred in conducting the investigation into whether the employer violated

1 2		Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 81D, regardless of whether the employer took remedial action.
3		
4	(b)	The Agency may not recover from the employer investigative costs incurred in conducting an investigation into whether the employer took remedial
5 6		action.
7		
8 9	(c)	The preliminary determination order will inform the employer of the investigative costs calculated by the Agency.
10		
11	(d)	The investigative costs may, at the discretion of the Agency, be included in
12	(u)	the amount owed in the penalty and cost order even if the employer took
13		remedial action.
14		
15	§844.53.	Corrected Determinations and Decisions.
16		
17	(a)	If Agency staff discover a clerical error of a non-substantive nature in
18		connection with a determination or decision issued under this chapter,
19		within the applicable appeal period, the Agency may reconsider and reissue
20		the determination unless an appeal has already been filed.
		the determination unless an appeal has already been filed.
21	(1)	
22	(b)	A reissued determination voids and replaces the determination or decision
23		issued under this chapter requiring correction and becomes final unless an
24		appeal is filed from the determination within 30 days of the date the reissued
25		determination is mailed.
26		
27	(c)	Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, if a determination or decision
28		issued under this chapter is mailed to an employer's incorrect address, the
29		Agency may reissue the determination to the employer's correct address at
30		any time.
31		any time.
	8811 51	Withdrawal of Complaint
32	8044.54.	Withdrawal of Complaint.
33		
34	(a)	A complainant may withdraw a complaint at any time before the date the
35		preliminary determination order becomes final.
36		
37	(b)	A complainant withdrawing a complaint shall submit a form as prescribed
38		by the Agency.
39		
40	(c)	A complaint that is withdrawn may not be refiled and a new complaint
40 41		cannot be filed for the same Adverse Action as the withdrawn complaint.
		cannot be med for the same Adverse Action as the withdrawn complaint.
42	80 <i>44 ==</i>	Annual and Determination Finality
43	8844.55.	Appeal and Determination Finality.
44		
45	(a)	Appealable Determinations:
46		

1		(1) An employer determined to have violated this chapter may appeal the
2		preliminary determination order, within 30 days of the mailing date of
3		the determination, to dispute whether a violation of Texas Health and
4		Safety Code, Chapter 81D occurred, or the amount of the assessed
5		investigative costs.
6		
7		(2) An employer determined to have not met the remedial action $1 + 1 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 + $
8		requirements under §844.51 of this subchapter may appeal the
9		determination on remedial action within 30 days of the mailing date of
10		the determination.
11		
12		(3) An employer may appeal a combined determination under §844.50(c)
13		of this subchapter to dispute any of the issues contained therein within
14		30 days of the mailing date of the determination.
15	$\langle 1 \rangle$	
16	(b)	A determination becomes final unless the employer files an appeal before
17		the appeal deadline.
18		
19	(c)	An appeal must be filed in writing by mail, common carrier, facsimile (fax),
20		or other method approved by the Agency on the preliminary determination
21		order or on the determination on remedial action.
22	(b)	A papality and cost order is not an appealable document
23 24	(d)	A penalty and cost order is not an appealable document.
24 25	(e)	Complainants are not a party of interest and may not file an appeal to the
23 26	(e)	preliminary determination order or a determination on remedial action.
20 27		premimary determination order of a determination on remediar action.
27	SUDCHADTI	ER D. ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS AND JUDICIAL REVIEW
28 29	SUBCHAFIE	ER D. ADWINDSTRATIVE HEARINGS AND JUDICIAL REVIEW
29 30	8844 75	. Administrative Hearings.
31	3044.75	. Automistrative freatings.
32	(a)	Administrative hearings shall be conducted subject to the rules and hearing
33	(u)	procedures set out in Chapter 815 of this title, except to the extent that such
34		sections are clearly inapplicable or contrary to provisions set out under this
35		chapter.
36		enupter.
37	(b)	The hearing is not subject to Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001.
38	(0)	The hearing is not subject to Texas Government Code, enapter 2001.
38 39	(c)	Hearings may be conducted by electronic means, including but not limited to
39 40	(C)	telephonic hearings, unless the hearing officer determines that an in-person
40 41		hearing is necessary.
42		noume is necessary.
43	(d)	Accommodations may be requested, including the need for an in-person
44	()	hearing or interpreters, through the hearing officer or Agency staff.
45		
45		

§844.76	6. Parties.	
		oceedings under this chapter are the Agency and the employ liminary determination order or determination on remedial
	-	ainant is not a party, the complainant may be invited to hearing as a witness.
§ 844.7 7	. Hearing Sched	luling and Notice.
(a)	officer and mai	f an appeal, the Agency shall assign an impartial hearing l a notice of hearing to the employer and complainant and/o l representatives.
(b)	The notice of h	earing shall be in writing and include a:
	(1) statement	of the date, time, place, and nature of the hearing;
		nt of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the to be held;
	(3) a reference	e to the sections of the statutes and rules involved;
	(4) statement	of the issues to be considered during the hearing; and
	(5) either:	
	(A)	a short, plain statement of the factual matters asserted; or
	(B)	an attachment that incorporates by reference the factual matters asserted in the complaint.
(c)		earing shall be issued at least 10 days before the date of the all parties agree to waive this requirement.
§ 844.7 8	8. Representation	n.
	U	to be represented by an attorney or other individual of the with $\$815.18(3)$ of this title.
§ 844.7 9	. Ex Parte Com	munications.
(a)	of ex parte ma	vided in this chapter, and unless required for the disposition tters authorized by law, the hearing officer may not directly or indirectly, in connection with any issue of fact of

1 2		y, representative of a party, witness, or individual providing pt on notice and opportunity for each party to participate.
3	5	
4	(b) The hearing of	ficer may communicate concerning the case with an Agency
5	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	has not participated in the hearing but may do so only for
6		using the special skills or knowledge of the Agency and its
7		ing the evidence.
8	stuff in evaluat	
9	§844.80. Hearing Procee	lures.
10	J	
11	(a) General Procedu	re. The hearing shall be conducted informally and, in such
12		certain the substantive rights of the parties. The hearing
13		elop the evidence. All issues relevant to the appeal shall be
14	considered and a	1 11
15		
16	(1) Presentation o	f Evidence. The parties may present evidence that is
17		elevant, as determined by the hearing officer. In conducting
18		hearing officer shall actively develop the record on the
19		nstances and facts to resolve all issues. To be considered as
20		decision, any document or physical evidence must be
20		exhibit at the hearing. A party has the right to object to
22		ed at the hearing by the hearing officer or other parties.
22		ed at the hearing by the hearing officer of other parties.
23 24	(2) Evidence Gen	erally. Evidence, including hearsay evidence, shall be
25		s relevant and if in the judgment of the hearing officer it is
26		dence on which reasonably prudent persons are accustomed
27		lucting their affairs. However, the hearing officer may
28		nce if its probative value is outweighed by the danger of
29		ce, by confusion of the issues, or by reasonable concern for
30	1 0	vaste of time, or needless presentation of cumulative
31	evidence.	
32		
33	(3) Examination of	of Witnesses and Parties. The hearing officer shall examine
34		y witnesses under oath and shall allow cross-examination to
35		hearing officer deems necessary to afford the parties due
36	process.	
37	1	
38	(4) Additional Ev	idence. The hearing officer, with or without notice to any of
39		ay take additional evidence deemed necessary, provided that
40	-	e given an opportunity to rebut the evidence if it is to be used
41	against the par	
42		
43	(5) Appropriate H	earing Behavior. All parties shall conduct themselves in an
44		anner. The hearing officer may expel any individual,
45		rty, who fails to correct behavior the hearing officer
		,

1 2	identifies as disruptive. After an expulsion, the hearing officer may proceed with the hearing and render a decision.
3	F
4	(b) Records.
5	
6	(1) The hearing record shall include the audio recording of the proceeding and
7	any other relevant evidence relied on by the hearing officer, including
8	documents and other physical evidence entered as exhibits.
9	
10	(2) The hearing record shall be maintained in accordance with federal or state
11	law.
12	
13	(3) Confidentiality of information contained in the hearing record shall be
14	maintained in accordance with federal and state law.
15	
16	(4) Upon request, a party has the right to obtain one copy of the hearing
17	record, including recordings of the hearing and file documents at no
18	charge.
19	unagu.
20	§844.81. Postponement and Continuance.
21	30 mont 2 ostponomont and Continuance
22	(a) On the hearing officer's own motion, or for good cause, at a party's request,
23	the hearing officer may postpone or continue a hearing.
24	
25	(b) Requests for a continuance or postponement may be made informally by a
26	party, either orally or in writing, to the hearing officer.
27	
28	(c) The hearing officer shall use his or her best judgement to determine when to
29	grant a continuance or postponement of a hearing to secure all necessary
30	evidence and to be fair to the parties.
31	
32	(d) The notice of the hearing must indicate the times and places at which the
33	hearing may be continued unless waived by the parties.
34	
35	§844.82. Default.
36	
37	If a party to whom a notice of hearing provided under this chapter fails to appear
38	for a hearing, the hearing officer may proceed in that party's absence on a default
39	basis. If a final decision is issued, the factual allegations listed in the notice of
40	hearing may be deemed admitted. If a party fails to appear at a hearing, the
41	hearing officer will issue a notice of default to that party. A party may file a
42	motion no later than 14 days after the notice of default is mailed to set aside a
43	default announced at the hearing and to reopen the record. If a timely motion to
44	set aside a default is filed, the hearing officer may grant the motion, set aside the
45	default, and reopen the hearing for good cause shown, or in the interests of
46	justice. The hearing officer may issue a decision denying the motion to set aside

1	a def	a default without a hearing if the motion fails to allege a reason for the party's		
2	failure to appear or if a party has failed to appear at three or more scheduled			
3	hearings.			
4				
5	§844.83.	Timeliness.		
6				
7	(a)	Parties shall promptly notify, in writing or during the recorded hearing, the		
8		Agency of any change of mailing address. Determinations and decisions		
9		shall be mailed to the new address.		
10				
11		(1) If a party properly designates a party representative, a		
12		determination or decision must be mailed to the designated		
13		party representative for it to become final.		
14				
15		(2) The Agency is responsible for making an address change only if the		
16		Agency is specifically directed by the party to mail subsequent		
17		correspondence to the new address.		
18				
19		(3) If the Agency addresses a document incorrectly, but the party		
20		receives the document, the time frame for filing an appeal shall		
21		begin as of the actual date of receipt by the party, whether or not the		
22		party receives the document within the appeal time frame. However,		
23		this does not apply if the party fails to provide a current address or		
24		provides an incorrect address.		
25		1		
26	(b)	A determination or decision mailed to a party shall be presumed to have		
27		been delivered if the document was mailed as specified in subsection (a)		
28		of this section.		
29				
30		(1) A determination or decision shall not be presumed to have been		
31		delivered:		
32				
33		(A) if there is tangible evidence of nondelivery, such as being		
34		returned to the sender by the US Postal Service; or		
35				
36		(B) if credible and persuasive evidence is submitted to establish		
37		nondelivery or delayed delivery to the proper address.		
38				
39		(2) If a party provides the Agency with an incorrect mailing address, a		
40		mailing to that address shall be considered a proper mailing, even		
41		if there is proof that the party never received the document.		
42				
43	(c)	The filing date for a complaint or an appeal shall be:		
44				
45		(1) the postmark date or the postal meter date (where there is only		
46		one or the other);		

1			
2		(2)	the postmark date if there is both a postmark date and a postal meter
3			date;
4			
5		(3)	the date the document was delivered to a common carrier, which is
6			equivalent to the postmark date;
7			
8		(4)	three business days before receipt by the Agency, if the document
9			was received in an envelope bearing no legible postmark, postal
10			meter date, or date of delivery by a common carrier;
11			
12		(5)	the date of the document itself, if the document date is fewer than
13			three days earlier than the date of receipt and if the document was
14			received in an envelope bearing no legible postmark, postal meter
15			date, or date of delivery by a common carrier;
16			
17		(6)	the date of the document itself, if the mailing envelope containing
18			the complaint or appeal is lost after delivery to the Board or
19			Agency. If the document is undated, the filing date shall be deemed
20			to be three business days before receipt by the Board or Agency; or
21			
22		(7)	the date of receipt by the Agency if the document was filed online or
23			by fax.
24			
25	(d)	Credit	ble and persuasive testimony under oath, subject to cross-
	· /		
26		exami	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates
26 27	~ /	exami establ	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to
		exami establ establ	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the
27		exami establ establ docur	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates ished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to ish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive
27 28		exami establ establ docur evider	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has
27 28 29		exami establ establ docur eviden been f	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present
27 28 29 30 31 32		exami establ establ docur eviden been f	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has
27 28 29 30 31		exami establ establ docur evider been f credit	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ble and persuasive evidence to support the allegation.
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34		exami establ docur eviden been f credit	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ble and persuasive evidence to support the allegation.
27 28 29 30 31 32 33		exami establ establ docum eviden been f credit A dec if a pa	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the ment itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ble and persuasive evidence to support the allegation.
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34		exami establ establ docur evider been f credit A dec if a pa inform	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ble and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35		exami establ establ docum eviden been f credit A dec if a pa	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ble and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38		exami establ establ docur eviden been f credit A dec if a pa inform establ	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ole and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically lish:
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39		exami establ establ docur eviden been f credit A dec if a pa inform establ	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ble and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40		exami establ establ docur evider been f credit A dec if a pa inform establ (1)	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ble and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically lish: how the party was misled; or
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41		exami establ establ docur eviden been f credit A dec if a pa inform establ (1) (2)	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ole and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically ish: how the party was misled; or what misleading information the party was given, and, if possible,
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42		exami establ establ docur eviden been f credit A dec if a pa inform establ (1) (2)	ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ble and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically lish: how the party was misled; or
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43	(e)	exami establ establ docur evider been f credit A dec if a pa inform establ (1) (2)	 ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present be and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically tish: how the party was misled; or what misleading information the party was given, and, if possible, by whom the party was misled.
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44	(e)	exami establ establ docur eviden been f credit A dec if a pa inform establ (1) (2) Appea	 ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present ble and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically isish: how the party was misled; or what misleading information the party was given, and, if possible, by whom the party was misled.
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43	(e)	exami establ establ docur evider been f credit A dec if a pa inform establ (1) (2) Appea follow	 ination, may establish a filing date that is earlier than the dates lished under subsection (c) of this section. A party shall be allowed to lish a filing date earlier than a postal meter date or the date of the nent itself only upon a showing of extremely credible and persuasive nce. Likewise, when a party alleges that a complaint or appeal has filed that the Agency has never received, the party must present be and persuasive evidence to support the allegation. ision or preliminary determination order shall not be deemed final arty shows that a representative of the Agency has given misleading nation on appeal rights to the party. The party shall specifically tish: how the party was misled; or what misleading information the party was given, and, if possible, by whom the party was misled.

1	holiday.
2 3	(g) There is no good cause exception to the timeliness rules.
3 4	(g) There is no good cause exception to the timenness rules.
5	§844.84. Withdrawal of an Appeal.
6 7 8 9	An employer may request a withdrawal of its appeal at any time before the hearing officer's decision is issued. The hearing officer may grant the request for withdrawal in writing and issue an order of dismissal.
10 11	§844.85. Decision.
12 13 14	(a) The hearing officer shall issue a written decision as soon as possible after the hearing is finally closed.
15 16 17 18	(b) The Agency shall notify each party to a contested case of any decision of the hearing officer by mailing the decision to the parties or the parties designated representative if requested.
19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26	(c) The decision shall include findings of fact and conclusions of law separately stated and a list of the individuals who appeared at the hearing. Findings of fact, if set forth in statutory language, shall be accompanied by a concise and explicit statement of the underlying facts supporting the findings. Findings of fact shall be based exclusively on the evidence and on matters officially noticed and any issues the parties waived notice of. The hearing officer shall rule on any contested determinations issued as a result of the complaint.
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34	(d) If the decision rules that the employer violated Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 81D or this chapter and if no remediation determination has been issued prior to the hearing, the hearing officer's decision shall indicate the amount of the administrative penalty, any applicable investigative costs, and inform the employer of the ability to avoid the administrative penalty by taking remedial action and submitting proof thereof.
35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42	(e) If no decision has ruled on remedial action and the employer intends to take remedial action in response to a decision issued under subsection (d) of this section, the employer must notify the hearing officer of their intent to remedy within 14 days of the decision being issued. Notice of intent to remedy must be filed in accordance with the instructions provided in the decision. Upon notification, the hearing officer's decision will be reopened for 30 days for the employer to provide proof of remedial action to the hearing officer.
42 43 44	(f) The hearing officer may hold an additional hearing to consider additional evidence of remediation. After consideration of any evidence of proof of

1	reme	diation, the hearing officer shall issue a combined decision addressing all	
2	issues in front of the hearing officer resulting from the complaint.		
3			
4	§844.86. Finality of Decision.		
5			
6	The decision of the hearing officer becomes final 14 days after the date the		
7	decision is mailed unless before that date the hearing officer reopens the decision.		
8			
9	§ 844.8 7.	Judicial Review.	
10			
11	(a)	If a final decision imposes an administrative penalty or the recovery of	
12		investigative costs, an employer may obtain judicial review of the decision	
13		by filing a petition in a Travis County district court against the Agency on	
14		or after the date on which the decision is final, and not later than the 14th	
15		day after that date.	
16			
17	(b)	Judicial review under this subchapter is by trial de novo based on the	
18		substantial evidence rule.	
19			
20	(c)	An employer may not obtain judicial review of the decision unless the	
21		employer has exhausted the party's remedies as provided by this subtitle.	