1	Calendar Year 2024 Late Refund Penalty Rate
2	Career Schools and Colleges
3	Discussion Paper

## 4 Background

- 5 Texas Education Code §132.061(b) requires a career school or college to pay student refunds
- 6 within a 60-day period. A career school or college that fails to do so must pay a penalty. Section
- 7 132.061 also requires that the Texas Workforce Commission annually establish this penalty at a
- 8 level sufficient to act as a deterrent to the retention of refunds. On September 1, 1990, the annual
- 9 rate of the penalty payment was set at the prime interest rate plus 10 percent. This rate, which
- 10 was approximately 20 percent at the time, had no discernible impact on the timely repayment of
- student refunds. Therefore, the rate was increased to 250 percent, effective January 1, 1992. An example of how the late refund penalty rate is calculated follows:
- example of now the late refund penalty rate is calculated follo
- \$1,800 refund x 2.5 = \$4,500 annual rate
- \$4,500 annual rate ÷ 365 = \$12.33 daily rate (effective the first day after the 60-day refund period)
- 16 Penalties paid are used to repay any:
- remaining amount of the student's loans;
- 18 tuition and fees paid by the Board; and
- 19 cash payments made by the student.
- Any money remaining after the above-mentioned payments have been made is deposited into the Tuition Trust Account for the benefit of all students.
- 22 The current penalty rate expires on December 31, 2023, and the newly established rate is
- effective on January 1, 2024.
- 24 Section 132.061 imposes no additional costs on schools operating in accordance with the law.

## 25 Issue: Impact of the Rate

- 26 The 250 percent rate has proven effective in encouraging career schools and colleges to pay
- student refunds in the required timely manner. The sum of late refunds has steadily decreased
- from approximately \$400,000 in 1991 to a negligible amount in recent years.

## 29 **Decision Point**

- 30 Staff seeks direction on maintaining the penalty rate for late refunds to students at the current
- 31 annual rate of 250 percent for Calendar Year 2024. This will ensure that career schools and
- 32 colleges continue to pay student refunds within the 60-day time frame required by statute.