## Waiver of Chapter 809 Child Care Services Texas Rising Star Rules Discussion Paper

1

## 2 Background

- 3 Child Care & Early Learning (CC&EL) staff have identified two Texas Workforce Commission (TWC)
- 4 Child Care Services (CCS) rules that are posing challenges with Texas Rising Star program
- 5 implementation.
- 6 Under TWC CCS rules, <u>\$809.3 Waiver Request</u>, TWC's three-member Commission (Commission) may
- 7 waive child care rules if it determines that the waiver benefits a parent, child care contractor or providers,
- 8 and if the Commission determines that waiver does not harm child care or violate state or federal statutes
- 9 or regulations.
- 10 Issue 1: Waiver of Texas Rising Star Annual Monitoring Assessments
- 11 TWC's CCS rules, <u>§809.133</u>. Application and Assessments for Texas Rising Star Certification, define
- 12 how TWC's Centralized Assessor Entity (CAE) must conduct on-site assessment and monitoring of Texas
- 13 Rising Star programs, including:
- Initial assessments for new Texas Rising Star programs
- 15 Annual monitoring assessments for currently certified Texas Rising Star programs
- Recertification assessments for current Texas Rising Star programs every three years
- 17 The Children's Learning Institute (CLI) at the University of Texas Health Science Center recently became
- 18 TWC's CAE. CLI has notified CC&EL that they are facing some initial implementation challenges as we
- are implementing the new mandatory Texas Rising Star requirement. As of October 1, 2023, there are
- 20 currently 2,634 Texas Rising Star certified programs. There are just over 4,300 programs that will need to
- 21 be assessed before September 30, 2024.
- In order to prioritize the 4,300 on-site assessments that need to be conducted, CC&EL staff recommends that the Commission waive Texas Rising Star annual monitoring assessments, as required in TWC CCS rules, <u>§809.133 (d)(1)</u>, through September 30, 2024.
- All Texas Rising Star programs will still be subject to quarterly screening reviews of their compliance
  with Child Care Regulation standards.
- 27 Even with this waiver, CLI will still face capacity challenges in conducting just over 4,300 initial
- assessments before September 30, 2024. If CLI is unable to conduct an initial assessment for an Entry
- 29 Level-designated child care program who requested an assessment, the Agency will need to authorize
- 30 waivers of the Entry Level Designation deadline, based on factors outside of the child care program's
- control, as allowable in TWC CCS rules, <u>§809.131(f)</u>.

## Issue 2: Waiver of Texas Rising Star Full Permit Requirement for Regulated Home Child Care Providers Expanding Their Capacity

- 34 TWC's CCS rules,  $\frac{809.131(a)(1)}{2}$ , state that in order to be eligible for certification under Texas Rising
- 35 Star, a child care program must have a permanent license/registration (e.g., *full* permit) from Child Care
- 36 Regulation (CCR) and must have 12 months of licensing history.
- 37 Two Texas Rising Star-certified registered home-based child care programs have noted challenges that
- they are facing based upon their desire to expand their capacity. These *registered* homes can serve a
- 39 maximum of 6 children; they would like to expand their capacity, at their existing location, to serve up to
- 40 12 children as a *licensed* child care home. In order to affect this change, CCR must change the type of

- 1 license/registration that the provider receives and will grant the licensed care home an *initial* permit.
- 2 Because of TWC's CCS rule that requires a *full* permit, these Texas Rising Star homes are disincentivized
- 3 to expand their capacity because they will lose their Texas Rising Star certification.
- 4 In order to eliminate barriers to Texas Rising Star-certified home-based providers from expanding their
- 5 capacity, CC&EL staff recommends that the Commission waive TWC CCS rule,  $\frac{809.131(a)(1)}{6}$  for
- 6 certified home-based providers who are moving from a registered home to a licensed home at the same
- 7 location for up to six months. During this period, Texas Rising Star assessors will conduct an on-site
- 8 assessment of the provider within three months of the facility change. In addition, the home-based child
- 9 care provider will continue to be subject to Texas Rising Star quarterly screening reviews of their
- 10 compliance with Child Care Regulation standards.
- 11 CC&EL is currently engaged in the four-year review of the Texas Rising Star program as required in
- 12 TWC CCS rules, <u>§809.130 Short Title and Purpose</u>, which includes considering input from stakeholders.
- 13 The CC&EL Texas Rising Star stakeholder workgroup will conclude its work in early calendar year 2024.
- 14 Following this, CC&EL will be reviewing all Texas Rising Star recommendations, including potential
- 15 rule amendments. The waiver being recommended in this Discussion Paper will be considered in
- 16 conjunction with the larger four-year review of the Texas Rising Star program, and any potential rule
- 17 amendments.

## 18 **Decision Point**

20

21

- 19 CC&EL staff recommend that the Commission
  - waive Texas Rising Star annual monitoring assessments, as required in TWC CCS rule <u>\$809.133</u>
    (d), through September 30, 2024; and
- waive TWC CCS rule <u>\$809.131(a)(1)</u> for Texas Rising Star-certified home-based providers who
  are moving from a registered home to a licensed home permit at the same location, as described
  above, for up to six month; waivers may be authorized through September 30, 2024.