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Background
[bookmark: _Toc159290327]Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) Child Care Services rule §809.20(a) requires Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards) to establish maximum reimbursement rates for child care subsidies that provide equal access to child care in the local market and are consistent with state and federal statutes and regulations governing child care.  When establishing maximum reimbursement rates for child care subsidies, Boards also must consider the ability to meet performance targets for the number of children in care per day.

Additionally, Texas Government Code §2308.315 and Child Care Services rule §809.20(c) both require that Boards increase reimbursement rates for Texas Rising Star (TRS)-certified providers to ensure that the maximum TRS rate is at least: 
· 5 percent higher for a provider with a 2-star rating;
· 7 percent higher for a provider with a 3-star rating; and
· 9 percent higher for a provider with a 4-star rating. 

The new TRS rates become effective September 1, 2015.

Issues
General Appropriations Act Performance Targets
Under the General Appropriations Act (GAA), raising reimbursement rates depends on the receipt of additional funds or a reduction in the target number of children served with a corresponding increase in the average cost per child per day.  TWC requested a reduction in the target number of children served and an increase in the average cost per child per day in State Fiscal Years 2016–2017 (SFY’16–17) Legislative Appropriations Request (LAR), to reflect rate increases due to increases in:
· the number of providers and children participating in the TRS program; 
· the increased costs due to the new tiered reimbursement system; and
· local market rates for private-pay child care.  

The targets adopted by the legislature in the SFY’16–17 GAA accounted for only the increase associated with increased TRS participation and the implementation of tiered reimbursements and not for any general market increase in the cost of subsidized child care.  

Implementation of the New TRS Standards
On January 27, 2015, TWC’s three-member Commission adopted new TRS rules and guidelines.  

In March 2015, TRS assessors began using the new standards to conduct assessments on approximately 1,360 TRS providers certified under the former TRS guidelines.  As of July 29, 2015, approximately 54 percent of the current TRS providers have either completed or started an assessment under the new standards.  The assessments are expected to be completed in August 2015, which will ensure that newly assessed TRS providers receive the new tiered reimbursements rates effective September 1, 2015.

Recommendation
Staff recommends issuing guidance through a Workforce Development Letter instituting limits on rate increases for child care provider reimbursement rates for the first six months of BCY’16.  Existing providers who meet the new TRS standards, as well as new providers who become TRS certified are eligible to receive increased reimbursement rates through the Board’s graduated reimbursement rates.  

During the first six months of BCY’16, TWC will review the impact of the TRS graduated reimbursement rates on the average cost per day per child, and the number of children served and will provide recommendations regarding rate limitations for the remainder of the year.  
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