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Texas Business Today

 

New Year, 
New Opportunities!

 

Commissioner’s Corner

December 4, 2015, TWC Commissioner Representing Employers Ruth R. 
Hughs presented a $192,376 Skills Development Fund grant to Del Mar 
College and voestalpine Texas LLC. 

 

As employers move to Texas and 
grow in Texas, they have proclaimed, 
“We found a dedicated and enthusiastic 
workforce in Texas that has supported 
growth throughout the state.”  In 2016, 
the workforce commission will work to 
continue to meet employers’ demands 
for a skilled workforce. As we look 
to 2016, we must remember 2015 to 
better understand how we can continue 
our support of Texas employers in the 
future. 

In 2015, we sponsored Texas 
Business Conferences, a series of 
employer seminars held each year 
throughout the state. More than 
4,179 individuals attended 18 Texas 
Business Conferences. Employers 
who attend the seminars learn about 
state and federal employment laws and 
the unemployment claim and appeal 
process. Individuals interested in 
attending the conferences in 2016 can 
now register online at www.twc.state.
tx.us/texas-business-conferences.

Last year was an exciting year for 
employers and colleges throughout 
Texas. In partnership with 67 
businesses, the Texas Workforce 
Commission (TWC) awarded 
Skills Development Fund grants to 
community and technical colleges that 
supported the creation of 3,664 new 
jobs and elevated the skills of 9,431 
incumbent workers. I had the privilege 
of presenting some of these grant 
awards in 2015. Some examples include 
the partnerships between PECOFacet 
and Weatherford College; Rackspace 
and Alamo Colleges;  McKinney, Jack 
Henry & Associates and Emerson 
Process Management Regulator 
Technologies and Collin College; and  

voestalpine Texas LLC and Del Mar 
College in Corpus Christi, Texas. The 
custom training provided through 
these collaborations will allow us to 
ensure that Texas businesses have the 
workforce they need to maintain our 
economic competitiveness.

TWC partnered with public junior 
colleges, public state colleges, and 
public technical colleges under 
agreements with school districts 
across the state to expand dual-credit 
and career and technical education 
programs through the use of Skills 
Development Funds. Projects are 
funded in an effort to respond to 
industry demands for skilled workers 
in technical fields, while enabling high 
school students to complete college 
credit hours in addition to high school 
coursework, better preparing them for 
employment or further education. Last 
November, I recognized one of these 
projects between Laredo Community 
College and the Laredo and United 
Independent School Districts. Through 
the TWC skills grant high school 
students are provided customized 
training in a high-demand field as 
well as the opportunity to earn college 
credit.

Also in 2015, the commission 
dedicated skills funds to support small 
businesses. Texas has over 480,000  
private-sector employers with fewer 
than 100 employees. Because we 
recognize that these employers are an 
integral part of the economy, TWC 

dedicated $2 million from the Skills 
Development Fund to implement the 
Skills for Small Business program. This 
initiative provides small businesses, 
the opportunity to address workforce 
training needs and improve overall 
business operations. More information 
about the Skills for Small Business 
program is available online at  
www.texasworkforce.org/ssb.

These are just some examples from 
2015. There will be new opportunities 
for schools, colleges, and employers to 
benefit from TWC programs in 2016.  
At TWC, we have an entire team 
dedicated to advising and assisting 
you and your education partners in 
submitting proposals. To learn  
more please contact our TWC  
Business Services team at  
skills@twc.state.tx.us.

My office is committed to 
supporting employers, keeping UI 
taxes low, and connecting employers
to qualified labor. Please don’t hesitate 
to contact my office if you need any 
assistance or want to learn more  
about our workforce development 
programs.

 

 

Sincerely,

Ruth R. Hughs
Texas Workforce Commission
Commissioner Representing Employers

www.twc.state.tx.us/texas-business-conferences
www.twc.state.tx.us/texas-business-conferences
http://www.texasworkforce.org/ssb
mailto:skills%40twc.state.tx.us?subject=
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Please join us for an informative, full-day conference 
where you will learn the relevant state and federal 
employment laws that are essential to efficiently 
managing your business and employees.

We have assembled our best speakers to guide 
you through ongoing matters of concern to Texas 
employers and to answer any questions you have 
regarding your business.

Topics have been selected based on the hundreds 
of employer inquiry calls we receive each week, and 
include such matters as: Hiring Issues, Employment 
Law Updates, Personnel Policies and Handbooks, 
Workers’ Compensation, Independent Contractors and 
Unemployment Tax Issues, Unemployment Claim and 
Appeal Process, and Texas and Federal Wage and 
Hour Laws. 

The non-refundable registration fee is $125 (one-day)
and $199 (two-days). Continuing Education Credit 
(six hours) is available for CPAs. General Professional 
Credit is also available. 

2016 CONFERENCE DATES
El Paso .........................................February 26

Austin   .............................................. March 11

Corpus Christi   ................................... April 8

Longview  .............................................   May 6

Victoria   ........................................... May 20

College Station  ................................ June 10

McAllen  ...........................................June 24

Amarillo ................................................... July 1

Arlington 2-day (tentative) .............  July 21-22

Fredericksburg  .............................. August 5

To register, visit www.texasworkforce.org/tbc
or for more information call 512-463-6389.

Commissioner's Corner  .........................................................................................2

Business and Legal Briefs  ....................................................................................4

Improperly Paying the Piper  ..................................................................................6

Liar, Liar: Protection Against Dishonesty in the Workplace ............................... 8

Interesting Questions from Employers, Asked and Answered .................................... 10

UI & You:  16 Tips for Handling Unemployment Claims .................................... 14

www.texasworkforce.org/tbc
https://tbc.expoplanner.com/index.cfm?do=reg.flow&event_id=29
https://tbc.expoplanner.com/index.cfm?do=reg.flow&event_id=37
https://tbc.expoplanner.com/index.cfm?do=reg.flow&event_id=38
https://tbc.expoplanner.com/index.cfm?do=reg.flow&event_id=32
https://tbc.expoplanner.com/index.cfm?do=reg.flow&event_id=39
https://tbc.expoplanner.com/index.cfm?do=reg.flow&event_id=30
https://tbc.expoplanner.com/index.cfm?do=reg.flow&event_id=40
https://tbc.expoplanner.com/index.cfm?do=reg.flow&event_id=33
https://tbc.expoplanner.com/index.cfm?do=reg.flow&event_id=36
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Business and Legal Briefs
New Overtime Exemption 
Regulations Effective 
July 1, 2016

Concerning the U.S. Department of 
Labor (DOL) regulations pertaining 
to the upcoming increase in the 
minimum salary needed for an exempt 
salaried employee, the DOL website 
indicates that the increase will become 
effective on or about July 1, 2016. The 
new weekly salary minimum will be 
$970. You can view the DOL's web 
page on the new salary requirements 
at www.reginfo.gov/public/doeAg
endaViewRule?pubId=201510&R
IN=1235-AA11. Employers should 
definitely take care to remember 
certain fundamentals that have not 
changed: a salary alone does not make 
an employee exempt from overtime 
pay; a job title is also insufficient by 
itself to make an employee exempt; 
the overtime exemptions for salaried 
employees are intended for so-
called "white collar" jobs, such as 
the company presidents or CEOs, 
vice-presidents, general managers, 
department heads, chief financial 
officers, attorneys, physicians, 
registered nurses, and senior IT staff 
in charge of a company's computer 
network. There is also an exemption 
for outside sales representatives, but 
that does not require a salary. For 
details on the white-collar exemptions, 
see www.twc.state.tx.us/news/
efte/focus_on_the_white_collar_
exemptions.html.

Enforcement Begins for 
New DOL Overtime Rules 
for Caregivers

Due to conflicting court 
decisions in 2015, many home 
health care companies that provide 
companions for the elderly and 
helpers for household chores received 

contradictory information on the status 
of the companionship and domestic 
employee exemptions from minimum 
wage and overtime laws. The U.S. 
Department of Labor's (DOL’s) new 
regulations for the companionship 
and domestic employee exemptions 
went into effect on January 1, 2015 
as planned, but DOL announced that 
during the first six months of the year, 
the agency would focus on awareness 
and outreach about the rule, rather 
than audits and penalties. On January 
14, 2015, a federal district court 
invalidated the rule, forcing DOL to 
put the whole effort on hold while 
it prepared an appeal. On August 
21, 2015, the U.S. Court of Appeals 
for the District of Columbia Circuit 
reversed the lower court's ruling and 
held in favor of DOL that the rule was 
valid. The rule was thus reinstated by 
the action of the appeals court (DOL 
has a copy of that court decision on 
its website at www.dol.gov/whd/
homecare/0821appealdecision.
pdf). The plaintiff, the Home Care 
Association of America, has indicated 
that it will appeal the D.C. Circuit's 
ruling to the U.S. Supreme Court. 
DOL's current plans for enforcement 
are outlined at www.dol.gov/whd/
homecare/litigation.htm. According 
to that document, all-out, strict 
enforcement was set to begin on 
January 1, 2016. Accordingly, it is 
important for home care companies 
to come into compliance with the 
new regulations as soon as possible. 
Basically, the minimum wage and 
overtime exemption is no longer 
available for home care companies 
with respect to their employees who 
serves patients as companions, and 
the overtime exemption for domestic 
employees is unavailable for workers 
who perform general household tasks 

or patient care-related duties. Detailed 
guidance is found on the following 
DOL web pages: www.dol.gov/whd/
opinion/adminIntrprtn/FLSA/2014/
FLSAAI2014_2.htm; www.dol.gov/
whd/regs/compliance/whdfs79e.htm; 
and www.dol.gov/whd/homecare/.

Arbitration Agreements 
at Risk under the 
National Labor Relations 
Act (NLRA)

The National Labor Relations Board 
(NLRB) ruled on December 31, 2015 
in the case of GameStop Corp. (Case 
20-CA-080497) that the employer's 
use of an arbitration agreement as 
a condition of employment violates 
the National Labor Relations Act 
(NLRA) if it waives employees' rights 
to pursue class or collective actions 
involving employment-related claims 
in all forums, whether arbitral or 
judicial. The NLRB held that such 
agreements might cause employees 
to believe that they would not have 
the right to file unfair labor practice 
charges with the NLRB. The NLRB's 
decision was based on its 2012 ruling 
in the D.R. Horton case (357 NLRB 
No. 184; enforcement denied in 
relevant part, 737 F.3d 344 (5th Cir. 
2013)). Notwithstanding the fact that 
the Horton decision from the 5th 
Circuit Court of Appeals held that 
arbitration agreements do not violate 
the NLRA unless they foreclose the 
possibility of filing an administrative 
claim with the NLRB, and the NLRB 
found that the arbitration agreement 
used by GameStop was structured so 
as to allow reasonable employees to 
believe they could not exercise their 
rights under the NLRA. Coupled with 
existing laws that prohibit 

Texas Business TodayTexas Business Today

http://www.reginfo.gov/public/doeAgendaViewRule?pubId=201510&RIN=1235-AA11
http://www.reginfo.gov/public/doeAgendaViewRule?pubId=201510&RIN=1235-AA11
http://www.reginfo.gov/public/doeAgendaViewRule?pubId=201510&RIN=1235-AA11
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/focus_on_the_white_collar_exemptions.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/focus_on_the_white_collar_exemptions.html
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http://www.dol.gov/whd/homecare/
http://www.dol.gov/whd/homecare/0821appealdecision.pdf
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agreements to waive administrative 
claim rights under the FLSA (see  
unemployment compensation statutes), 
this decision illustrates how important 
it is to consult an experienced labor 
law attorney before attempting to 
implement an arbitration agreement. 
Companies with existing arbitration 
agreements should consider having 
them reviewed by such an attorney.

New Open-Carry Law  
in Texas

Employers have been asking a lot of 
questions about what Texas' new open-
carry law means for their businesses. 
The changes in the law were not as 
great as what some have assumed. 
While extra signage is needed for 
a business that wishes to bar both 
concealed and open-carry firearms 
from its premises, there is no change 
to the law regarding an employer's 
legal right to prohibit employees from 
carrying or possessing any kind of 
weapon in the building. Likewise, 
there has been no change to the law 
allowing employees to store, in a 
closed and locked personal vehicle 
parked in company-provided parking 
spaces, a gun and ammunition that 
they are legally entitled to possess. 
What has changed is the signage 
requirement for private businesses 
that do not want guests or visitors 
to bring firearms onto the premises. 
Concerning what kind of signage is 
needed to denote a gun-free zone in 
or at a business, the sign just needs 
to comply with the revised statute, 
which was changed by HB 910 
effective January 1, 2016. One sign 
will not suffice to bar both concealed 
and open-carry handguns – there is a 
separate sign for each purpose. Here 
is the relevant text from the bill in 
question (see www.legis.state.tx.us/
tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB00910F.
htm for the full text of the bill):

�  The sign for concealed handguns 
must state the following: "Pursuant to 
Section 30.06, Penal Code (trespass 
by license holder with a concealed 
handgun), a person licensed 
under Subchapter H, Chapter 
411, Government Code (handgun 
licensing law), may not enter this 
property with a concealed handgun.

�  The sign for open-carry handguns 
must state the following: “Pursuant to 
Section 30.07, Penal Code (trespass 
by license holder with an openly 
carried handgun), a person licensed 
under Subchapter H, Chapter 
411, Government Code (handgun 
licensing law), may not enter this 
property with a handgun that is 
carried openly.”

Each such sign must include the 
required language in both English and 
Spanish, must appear in contrasting 
colors with block letters that are 
at least one inch in height, and be 
displayed in a conspicuous manner 
that is clearly visible to the public. 
Many sign businesses offer signs like 
that for sale, so businesses should have 
no trouble locating appropriate signs 
for purchase. Watch out, though, for 
signs that do not feature the required 
wording. A sign is not sufficient for 
trespass law purposes if it only has 
an image like a red circle and slash 
over a gun, or something like that. 
Without the wording shown above, 
the sign would be insufficient. More 
commentary on workplace weapons 
policies is available at www.twc.state.
tx.us/news/efte/weapons_at_work.
html.

New Online Parent Portal 
links to Resources for 
Texas Families

As announced on TWC’s Solutions 
blog (texasworkforce.wordpress.
com/) on January 14, 2016: “The Texas 
Workforce Commission’s (TWC) 
Child Care Services department has 
created an online parent website as 
a new resource for families seeking 
information to meet the needs of 
children. TexasChildCareSolutions.
org is an online source of information 
to assist parents in making informed 
choices for early childhood education, 
quality child care, children with 
special needs and child care 
financial assistance. …” The site 
“connects Texas parents with up-
to-date parenting information, 
ideas and resources. With the new 
TexasChildCareSolutions.org 
website, TWC provides resources 
to continually improve the quality 
of early childhood environments 
throughout Texas. TWC’s child 
care program offers subsidized 
child care services for low-income 
families, promoting long-term self-
sufficiency by enabling parents to 
work or attend workforce training 
or education activities. TWC also 
provides resources to educate parents 
about the availability of quality child 
care, which enhances children’s 
early learning and development. 
… More information can be found 
at TexasChildCareSolutions.
org or by emailing childcare.
programassistance@twc.state.
tx.us. Detailed information about 
TWC’s child care program and 
employment support resources can 
be found by exploring the TWC Job 
Seekers & Employees webpage.” 
(Note: employers can visit that page 
at www.twc.state.tx.us/jobseekers/
employment-support-resources) 

William T. (Tommy) Simmons 
Senior Legal Counsel to  
Commissioner Ruth R. Hughs

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB00910F.htm
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB00910F.htm
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB00910F.htm
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/weapons_at_work.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/weapons_at_work.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/weapons_at_work.html
texasworkforce.wordpress.com/
texasworkforce.wordpress.com/
http://texaschildcaresolutions.org/
http://texaschildcaresolutions.org/
http://texaschildcaresolutions.org/
mailto:childcare.programassistance%40twc.state.tx.us?subject=
mailto:childcare.programassistance%40twc.state.tx.us?subject=
mailto:childcare.programassistance%40twc.state.tx.us?subject=
www.twc.state.tx.us/jobseekers/employment-support-resources
www.twc.state.tx.us/jobseekers/employment-support-resources
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Improperly Paying the Piper:
When Payroll Goes Wrong

One challenge that employers 
continually face in the operation of 
their businesses is how to deal with 
inaccuracies or mistakes created by 
their payroll departments. Among 
the most frequently cited obstacles in 
managing payroll is how an employer 
should deal with a situation in which 
it has either overpaid or underpaid an 
employee. Understandably, when faced 
with this scenario many questions 
can arise: Can the employer recoup 
the overpaid money? Is the employer 
in violation of the Texas Payday Law 
because, through an honest mistake 
in payroll, they have underpaid an 
employee? Is there anything the 
employer could have done to prevent 
the mistake? To assist the employer in 
answering these important questions, 
this article will explore effective ways 
to rectify accidents that can occur in 
the payroll department. 

What happens if the employer 
mistakenly overpays an 
employee?

A classic payroll hiccup occurs 
when an employer accidentally pays 
an employee more money than the 
employee is owed. Employers will 
be pleased to find that they can 
indeed recoup the overpaid wages, 
provided that they adhere to a few key 
guidelines. 

First, the employer must not 
lose sight of the fact that recouping 
overpaid wages from an employee is 
no different than making a deduction 
from an employee’s paycheck. As 
such, the employer should be aware 
that deducting from an employee’s 
paycheck without that employee’s 

express written permission can result 
in a violation of the Texas Payday 
Law. In order to overcome this hurdle, 
many employers have their employees 
sign Wage Deduction Authorization 
Agreements. These agreements, if 
properly drafted, provide the employer 
the written permission required 
to properly make pay deductions. 
In addition, it should be noted that 
employers will likely have a higher 
success rate in securing a signed 
wage deduction agreement from their 
employees before any mistake occurs. 
For an example of a Wage Deduction 
Authorization Agreement (specifically, 
item #5), please visit: www.twc.state.
tx.us/news/efte/wage_deduction_
authorization_agreement.html.

Second, employers might be 
concerned that in some instances 

deducting overpayments from an 
employee’s paycheck could reduce 
their pay to an amount below 
minimum wage. Normally, a pay 
deduction that reduces the employee’s 
pay below minimum wage is not 
permissible under the Texas Payday 
Law or the Fair Labor Standards Act 
(FLSA). However, the Department 
of Labor has taken the stance that 
overpayments fit into the same 
category as loans and wage advances 
(see Opinion Letter FLSA2004-
19NA at www.dol.gov/whd/opinion/
FLSANA/2004/2004_10_08_19FLSA
_NA_recoup.htm). This is 
important because loans and wage 
advances are two of the extremely 
limited exceptions where an employer 
can deduct an employee’s paycheck 

Photo by iStock/Thinkstock
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below minimum wage. As a result, 
if the employer has a signed Wage 
Deduction Authorization Agreement 
from the employee, deductions from 
pay below minimum wage for wage 
overpayments should not be a problem. 

What happens if the employer 
mistakenly underpays an 
employee?

On the flip side of overpaying an 
employee is, of course, underpaying 
an employee. While no one likes to 
be shortchanged on pay that is owed, 
there are several ways an employer can 
minimize potential problems that can 
arise when the proper amount of wages 
has not been paid to an employee.

To begin, the Texas Payday Law 
states that all employees must be paid 
in full and on time on the employer’s 
regularly scheduled payday(s). In 
addition, that same law states that non-
exempt employees must be paid at least 
twice a month and exempt employees 
must be paid at least once a month. 
Accordingly, if an employer underpays 
one of its employees, even if by 
accident, that employer has technically 
violated the Texas Payday Law. If 
this situation occurs, the employer 
should make the affected employee 
whole by delivering the owed wages 
immediately. The sooner that the 
employer delivers the proper wages to 
the employee, the better its chances in 
avoiding a payday law complaint.

It is important to remember that 
even the most technical violations of 
the Texas Payday Law give an affected 
employee the right to file a wage claim 
with the Texas Workforce Commission 
(TWC) for payments owed. If an 
employer has a history of wage claims 
filed against it, there is a good chance 
that future claims filed against the 
employer will result in administrative 

penalties. If employers act speedily 
to rectify any underpayments, they 
lower the chances that any affected 
employees become so irritated that 
they resort to filing wage claims  
with TWC.

Suggestions on what 
employers can do to prevent 
payroll mistakes

The best way to avoid mistakes from 
occurring is doing what you can to 
prevent them from happening in the 
first place. Preventive measures can go 
a long way towards heading problems 
off at the pass and employers should 
adopt them whenever possible.

For example, each employer should 
consider having a policy in their 
employee manual or handbook dealing 
specifically with wage overpayments/
underpayments. The policy should 
carefully describe what will happen if 
such an overpayment or underpayment 
occurs, and what procedures will be 
followed to remedy the situation. For 
an example of what an overpayment/
underpayment policy might look like, 
please visit www.twc.state.tx.us/news/
efte/wage_overpayment_policy.html.

Also, as mentioned above, if 
the employer plans on making any 
deductions from an employee’s 
paycheck it will need that employee’s 
express permission in writing in order 
to be in compliance with the Texas 
Payday Law. As such, the employer 
can elect to have its employees sign 
Wage Deduction Authorization 
Agreements to secure the written 
permission needed to make pay 
deductions. Usually, the best time to do 
this is when the employee is initially 
hired. Employers should also keep a 
signed copy of the agreement in the 
employee’s personnel file so that if a 
problem arises, they can quickly locate 

the agreement and use it as proof that 
they are in compliance with applicable 
wage laws. 

In Conclusion
Processing payroll is one of the most 
integral operations that employers 
perform at their places of business. 
With the amount of hours to be 
tracked and rates to be tabulated for 
each employee, mistakes can occur – 
especially if the employer is dealing 
with other forms of compensation 
beyond the straight-time pay such as 
travel time, mileage, and so forth. 

Despite this challenge, the 
employer should remember that wage 
overpayments can be recouped if the 
employer has a signed Wage Deduction 
Authorization Agreement from the 
affected employee. Additionally, 
employers should make every effort 
possible to immediately deliver any 
wages owed to an employee resulting 
from an accidental underpayment to 
minimize chances of a wage claim 
being filed. Lastly, employers should 
implement preventive measures to 
ensure that mistakes are kept to a 
bare minimum. By following these 
steps, the employer will be in a better 
position to deal with payroll errors if 
they occur.  

Mario R. Hernandez
Legal Counsel to Commissioner  
Ruth R. Hughs

www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/wage_overpayment_policy.html
www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/wage_overpayment_policy.html


 8

Liar, Liar: Prevention and 
Protection Against Dishonesty in 
the Workplace

Lies happen every day. Every 
employer has likely caught someone 
in a lie, and some lies do not result 
in much harm. However, when a job 
applicant or an employee falsifies, 
conceals, or misrepresents certain 
information, the results can be 
devastating. For this reason, many 
employers proceed with the utmost 
caution when hiring employees in 
an effort to protect their businesses. 
Unfortunately, these efforts are not 
always successful, and we often get 
calls on our employer hotline (800-
832-9394) with questions on what 
employers can do to protect their 
businesses from deceptive applicants 
and employees.

People can embellish anything 
on their resumes, and they often 
do. Recent statistics reveal that 
approximately 53 percent of job 
applications reviewed by employers 
contain falsifications. (For more 
information, please see the following 
link: www.statisticbrain.com/
resume-falsification-statistics/). 
Some of the data can be distorted or 
exaggerated, including GPA, skills, 
and prior job duties. Other data can 
simply be omitted, such as criminal 
history. Applicants also completely 
fabricate information, such as past 
employment, schools attended, degrees 
held and job references.  

Once hired, employees can be 
dishonest regarding anything job-
related—they can deny things they 
did, things they heard, whether they 
were warned, and why they were fired. 
While an employer may never be 
able to identify every lie every time, 

it is certainly possible to mitigate the 
damage by taking certain steps when 
moving forward.

For employers, the work begins 
when reviewing applications. Statistics 
show that 26.5 percent of people polled 
indicated that they have or would lie on 
a resume. In addition, over 75 percent 
of resumes are misleading. Given this 
data, it is likely that every employer 
has been misled by information 
in a resume. Many employers will 
attempt to verify resume information 
by contacting past educational 
institutions, employers, and job 
references. That is a good step towards 
verification. However, a simple phone 
call may not be enough these days, as 
certain technological advancements 
have made it considerably easier to 
deceive. 

Several companies in recent years 
have gone into the business of selling 
lies. For a relatively small fee, a person 
can pay a stranger to tell whatever 
lie he or she wants. These companies 
pride themselves on being willing to 
lie about anything, and the bulk of 
their profits come from job seekers. 
These companies employ trained liars 
who can act as a fictitious reference or 
a former boss, and their popularity has 
grown over the years because they are 
easy to find. Many of these companies 
advertise their services online.  

Some deception services even offer 
fake writing samples and “resume 
rewriting,” which sounds innocent 
enough, but really involves fabricating 
data to help someone appear qualified 
for the job. Educational institutions 
attended, degrees received, past 

employers, job titles, pay, dates of 
employment – almost nothing is 
off limits. Other companies sell 
fake diplomas or certifications from 
anywhere in the world and they pride 
themselves on the fact that their 
work has deceived some of the most 
prestigious institutions and companies 
in the country. 

Employers should also be aware 
that phone applications (apps) 
have made it very easy for people 
to disguise their own voices. The 
reference you call may just be the 
applicant using the phone app. Other 
technology can re-route a call so that 
the number an employer dials will be 
redirected to a person on the other 
line who is prepared to deceive. These 
services have proven useful to both 
prospective and current employees 
alike. Employees can use any of these 
services to help them verify an excuse 
given to take time off work or to vouch 
for their whereabouts on a certain day.

Knowing all of this information can 
cause an employer to feel helpless. At 
what point can you ever trust that you 
have hired the person you thought? 
While an employer may never be 
100 percent safe from this type of 
deception, there are a few things that 
should be done to help minimize the 
risk of harm to the business.

First, when reviewing applications, 
try to verify the information provided 
to you. If an applicant looks promising, 
take the time to contact the educational 
institutions, prior employers and job 
references. Given the websites and apps 
just mentioned, there is a possibility 
that employers can be deceived during 
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the verification process. However, just 
knowing about these services can help 
employers be on guard so that they can 
proceed with caution. From there, the 
best an employer can do is to pay close 
attention to the information provided 
and take note of any red flags that may 
come up.

In addition, if an applicant seems 
promising, be sure to have him or her 
sign an authorization form so that each 
prior employer can release information 
relating to that applicant’s employment. 
This should occur prior to contacting 
past employers to verify information. A 
sample is available for review and use 
at the following link: www.twc.state.
tx.us/news/efte/authorization_to_
release_information.html.

Employers may also be tempted 
to research an employee online 
using search engines and checking 
social media websites to search for 
information. There are differing 
opinions on whether or not this is a 
wise decision, as employers may come 
across private information that they 
do not need to know. For example, 
employers may accidentally become 
aware of health issues or other private 
information, thereby giving prospective 
employees the opportunity to argue 
that they were not hired because of this 
information. Therefore, any employer 
who elects to use the internet for these 

purposes should exercise caution and 
avoid looking at any information that 
may be deemed private, protected 
information.

In the case of background checks, 
employers can move forward with one 
as long as the applicant authorizes such 
in writing. The authorization form 
must be signed before investigation 
begins. A sample form is available 
here: www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/
authorization_for_background_
check.html. Denying an applicant a 
position due to a negative background 
check also requires further action, 
which is explained here: www.twc.
state.tx.us/news/efte/background_
check.html. 

There are other things employers can 
do when verifying past employment 
and skills. When interviewing, you 
may want to have applicants describe 
a work experience related to a skill 
they mentioned. Take notes and ask for 
detailed information. Once they have 
explained, you can ask for a name to 
contact to verify the information.

Employers may also want to test 
an applicant’s skills before hire. This 
can include soft, personality-driven 
skills such as communication skills 
and office etiquette, or hard skills, 
such as reading, writing, typing, and 
knowledge of software programs. 
Make sure that your pre-employment 

test or examination does not allow the 
applicant to perform actual work for the 
employer. For example, when testing 
software knowledge, you may ask the 
applicant to open a computer program 
and perform a certain function, but you 
may not allow the applicant to work 
on a document the employer needs for 
business use. This would transform 
the applicant into an employee, which 
goes against an employer’s intention 
in this instance. The following link 
provides additional information on pre-
employment tests and examinations, 
which employers are encouraged to 
review: www.twc.state.tx.us/news/
efte/pre_employment_tests.html.

Employers should also have a 
clear policy informing employees 
that falsification, concealment, or 
misrepresentation is prohibited. 
The employer should clarify the 
consequences that will result from 
such activity, whether it be a warning 
or immediate discharge. The policy 
should address falsification in 
the job application or during the 
interview process, concealment of 
information during the hiring process, 
misrepresentation of qualifications, and 
employee dishonesty. This policy can 
help deter deceitful activity altogether 
and can also shield an employer from 
liability on an unemployment claim. 
Additional information regarding these 
particular hiring issues can be found 
here: www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/
hiring_issues_in_ui_claims.html.

In addition, even though it can be 
time-consuming, it is important for 
employers to document the process. 
Documentation can serve as both a 
sword and shield. Also, remember: 
trust your instincts, as they can often 
reveal more to you about a person than 
what you know from a resume.

Velissa R. Chapa 
Legal Counsel to Commissioner  
Ruth R. Hughs
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Texas Business Today

Interesting Questions from 
Employers, Asked and Answered

Q: Can you clarify whether non-
salaried exempt employees must 
clock in and out for the first 40 
hours or if they are only required to 
clock in and out for anything that 
exceeds 40 hours in a work week?  
I’m wondering if the Department 
of Labor (DOL) would just accept a 
default 40-hr setting in a timekeeping 
system for this group of employees?

A: There is no discretion under 
DOL regulations with respect to 
keeping time records – an employer 
must keep exact records of all days 
and hours worked by each non-
exempt employee. In the event, 
however unlikely, of a wage claim, 
an employer's failure to keep exact, 
reliable records allows an employee to 
convince the DOL or a court that he or 

she really worked more time than what 
the employer paid the employee for. 
The specific method of keeping such 
detailed records is up to an employer to 
work out with its employees. However, 
the employer has the burden, in the 
event of a challenge, of showing that 
its records are the best evidence of 
the time actually worked. For details 
on the legal issues involved, please 
see the following article in our book 
Especially for Texas Employers: 
www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/
recordkeeping_requirements.html.

Q: I have a situation that I need 
some guidance on. An employee 
became upset about another employee 
leaving the company, and walked off 
of the job. The manager called the 
employee’s home number and the 

employee picked up the phone and 
then hung up on the manager without 
talking to her. The manager called 
back and left a voicemail message 
that she needed to talk to her. At 
10:30 am, the employee came back 
to the office and verbally said she 
was giving her 30-day notice, used 
some profanity, and walked out of 
the office, slamming the door. The 
employee did not return to work and 
we considered this a voluntary quit 
with no notice. Later that morning, 
the employee sent an e-mail to the 
owner of the company stating she 
had found another job and to please 
consider this her 30-day notice. 
We have already terminated the 
employee and she has not tried to 
return to work. Here is my question. 
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I know that if someone gives a 
two-week notice, you can make the 
termination effective immediately and 
not be obligated to pay the two-week 
“notice” period to the employee. If 
someone gives a 30-day notice, and 
you ask them to leave immediately 
and not work the notice, you are 
obligated to pay two weeks of the 
30-day notice period. This situation 
I have is a little different, the person 
verbally gave 30-days notice to the 
manager and then walked off the 
job and did not continue working…
then sent a written 30-day notice 
later that day to the president of 
the company (who is not going to 
respond to an e-mail like that and did 
not forward the e-mail he received 
from this employee until three days 
later). Bottom line: the employee is 
terminated for voluntary quit /job 
abandonment and I do not know if I 
need to pay two weeks of pay or not.

A: Under Texas and federal laws, 
there would be no obligation for your 
company to pay the employee anything 
beyond the wages she earned for the 
time that she actually worked. An 
employer does not need to pay wages 
for any part of a notice period during 
which the employee does not work. 
The only exception to the general rule 
that no pay is owed for an unworked 
notice period would be in the situation 
of an employee who works under 
some kind of express employment 
contract that has a provision requiring 
payment for a notice period, regardless 
of whether it is worked. In such a 
situation, the employer would simply 
follow the contract.

Q:  I recently hired a new senior 
staff employee who fails to filter 
verbal comments in a professional 
environment. I have managed 
to soften their edges a bit in the 
office, but they are starting to feel 
comfortable associating with my 

administrative and technicial staff 
outside of business hours and it 
concerns me a bit, as they are privy 
to sensitive information in capacity 
as a senior staff member. When 
the senior staffer goes out with 
the administrative and technical 
staff, the senior staffer tends to 
drink heavily and have “loose lips” 
so to speak. I found out that my 
new senior staffer went to a non-
work event with our competition 
where alcohol was served. My new 
employee knows the plans for our 
new office, sensitive information, and 
a tremendous amount of potentially 
costly information if it were shared 
with our competition. I have a policy 
in place to limit fraternization among 
staff members, but this employee 
is under a contract that does not 
state anything about maintaining a 
distance while intoxicated. I fear that 
this behavior will continue and I am 
unsure as to how to proceed. I would 
like to know how to prevent this in the 
future or if I even have the ability to 
do so. Can I dictate what an employee 
can do in their personal time if it 
affects the business?  

A:  I would say that the following 
things are important to keep in mind:

1.	� An employer has the right to 
prohibit any sharing of company 
information between employees 
and competitors. It sounds like 
what has already happened may 
fall into that category.

2.	� It is also legal to prohibit any 
off-duty conduct that harms, or 
has a significant likelihood of 
harming, the company, if the 
conduct has nothing to with 
exercising legally-protected 
workplace rights. In this 
situation, the employee does 
not have a legally-protected 
workplace right to engage in 
after-hours social activity with 

a competitor. While you cannot 
prevent them from actually 
doing that, your company can 
take corrective action against the 
employee for violating known 
rules or policies – see below for 
more commentary on that point.

3. Professional-level employees
may be held to a higher standard 
than other employees.

4.  Abiding by a contract is 
important, of course, but the 
fact that the contract with 
that employee mentions 
nothing about maintaining 
an appropriate distance from 
competitors while intoxicated 
does not mean that it cannot be 
read or interpreted to prohibit 
contacts with competitors 
that result in breaches of 
confidentiality, unauthorized 
sharing of company trade 
secrets, loss of clients, and the 
like. It is hard to imagine that 
the contract, as written, does not 
have anything in it that would 
protect the company from a 
professional employee revealing 
confidential information to  
a competitor.

5.  Most employment contracts 
also have a provision regarding 
termination of the contractual 
relationship under various 
circumstances that might 
include professional misconduct, 
violation of a law, regulation, 
or guideline pertaining to the 
industry, intentional action 
resulting in harm to the 
company, and so on. It would 
just be a matter of reading the 
contract and finding what that 
provision says about termination 
of the contract. Then, the 
company can exercise its right 
under the contract and give 

	�    
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the employee an appropriate 
warning that the complained-
of conduct must stop, or else 
the company will exercise its 
contractual right to terminate 
the contract and release the 
employee from employment.

6.  As a new professional, 
the employee may not 
yet understand what the 
appropriate bounds for their 
conduct are. Accordingly, they 
could probably benefit from 
having one or two older, more 
experienced peers counsel them 
about where they fit in and how 
they can promote their career by 
acting in accordance with their 
position.

Q:  We have live-in attendants 
who provide care (activities of daily 
living) to our clients in their homes 
over extended periods of time. I 
wanted to confirm that unless there 
is an agreement to exclude a defined 
period of sleep & breaks/meal times 
from hours worked, we owe for that 
time (compensable), if the employee is 
“engaged to wait” or interrupted from 
personal activities. Is that correct? 

And if they are completely relieved 
from duty and able to use the time for 
personal reasons (i.e., run personal 
errands), that time isn’t considered 
time worked. Is this interpretation 
correct? This question came up 
because of the reversal decision on 
the FLSA Companionship Exemption 
Rule and I understand that the 
regulations concerning hours worked 
didn’t change.

A:  The current status of the 
companionship exemption is outlined 
in the official U.S. Department of 
Labor (DOL) guidance found at www.
dol.gov/whd/homecare/litigation.
htm. The most important part of 
that guidance relating to timelines 
is the part that reads: “Through 
December 31, 2015, the Department is 
in the second phase of its previously 
announced time-limited non-
enforcement policy. As of January 
1, 2016, we will continue to provide 
employers technical assistance for 
coming into compliance with the 
Rule. As with all of our enforcement 
actions, employers and workers can 
expect that we will strategically use 
our enforcement resources, including 

complaint-based and agency-initiated 
investigations, to achieve compliance 
with these new important protections” 
Thus, beginning January 1, 2016, DOL 
will begin enforcing full compliance 
with the new regulation, which 
basically states that the companionship 
exemption does not apply to employees 
of third-party providers. You correctly 
note that the regulations on hours 
worked did not change. Under those 
regulations, if an employee's shift is set 
to last 24 hours or longer, the employee 
and employer may agree to exclude 
from work time a reasonable amount 
for sleeping (no more than eight hours), 
as well as meal breaks (see www.twc.
state.tx.us/news/efte/wh_part785.
html#785_22). Time off during a 
day during which the employee is 
effectively relieved of duties and 
is able to use the time for personal 
affairs is also not work time. Time 
spent waiting for duties to be assigned, 
during which time the employee is 
waiting to be engaged in work or 
waiting for instructions and cannot 
engage in normal personal activities, is 
work time. 

Q:  We have an employee who was 
off work on workers compensation 
leave for six months due to a broken 
wrist. During this same time period, 
he complained about having a 
shoulder injury. The insurance 
company denied his claim that the 
shoulder injury was related to the 
wrist injury. In December 2015, he 
was medically cleared to return to full 
duties with no restrictions. Via the 
company grapevine, the owner heard 
a rumor that this same employee 
might seek to find a way to go back 
off on a workers compensation leave, 
claiming he re-hurt the shoulder. To 
avoid this risk, the owner has asked 
that I send a note to this specific 
employee stating he is not to lift 
anything heavier than a specific 
weight (e.g., 5 or 10 pounds). And, 
if he does and he re-injures the 
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shoulder, then the company can 
claim he lifted a weight that was not 
sanctioned by the company. While the 
owner's idea has some merit, I see a 
number of pitfalls and this is where 
I would like your input. Specifically, 
if we restrict his lifting to a certain 
weight and he unknowingly lifts 
something more than that, he might 
be able to argue the employer did not 
provided any adequate way to check 
weights before lifting items. Given 
he has medical clearance from the 
carrier to return to full duties with 
no restrictions, if the company now 
restricts only his job duties out of 
concern (not medical fact) and this 
causes him a loss of income, I worry 
that the company might be vulnerable 
to a mistreatment/unfair treatment 
claim. Am I making too big a deal out 
of this? Can the employer do this sort 
of action (i.e., setting a lifting limit 
for one employee) without worries of 
any liability risk?

A:  It is understandable that 
you would be concerned about an 
employee who, shall we say, may be 
unduly prone to further “injuries.” The 
following thoughts come to mind:

1.  A certain amount of risk and 
unfairness is inherent in the 
current system of workers’ 
compensation. If an employee is 
determined to ride the system, 
it is practically impossible to 
prevent it.

2.  About the most that a company 
can do is secure a good workers’ 
comp provider that strikes 
the right balance between 
expediting claims and passing 
along costs to the employer on 
the one hand, and being vigilant 
and willing to control unjustified 
claims on the other; maintain 
a clean, safe, and healthy 
workplace that is fully compliant 
with OSHA standards and the 
best practices for the industry; 

and adhere to guidelines for 
disability-related laws such as 
the Americans with Disabilities 
Act (ADA).

3.  After controlling those 
controllable things, the 
employer is left with whatever 
uncontrollable things arise, such 
as freak accidents, wrongful acts 
of others, and employees who 
for some sad reason known only 
to themselves decide to try to 
ride the system.

4.  All that having been said, and 
to address the issues raised by 
the owner, telling one employee 
to observe weight restrictions in 
the absence of medical advice 
would stick out too much and 
be too easy to use as evidence 
that the company has some kind 
of animus toward the employee 
because he had earlier filed 
a workers’ comp claim. That 
would particularly be the case 
if the weight restrictions result 
in a realignment of duties that 
leads to a reduction in pay. 
The reduction in pay could be 
viewed as a tangible adverse 
employment action that would 
be evidence of the company’s 
intent to create a hostile work 
environment for him.

5.  The law would not prevent the 
company from meeting with the 
employee (one person to lead the 
discussion, and another present 
to be a witness) and discussing 
the report of a possible shoulder 
injury. Document what the 
employee says about the report 
that came to the company's 
attention. Explain the question 
in terms of the company's 
concern for the employee's well-
being and its desire to help the 
employee avoid further injuries. 
If a need for accommodation 
becomes apparent, make the 

accommodation as long as 
it would be feasible without 
creating an undue hardship for 
the company (to lower the risk of 
an ADA claim).

6.  Ensure that the employee 
understands that the company 
will be watching out for his 
safety and that it is up to him to 
immediately alert a supervisor 
if a job task leads to a potential 
problem.

7.  With a safe workplace, proper 
accommodations for known 
problems, and workers' 
compensation coverage, there 
is nothing more that a company 
can do. The worst that can 
happen is that the employee 
might claim a further injury, 
in which case the company 
is already protected by its 
workers' comp coverage. The 
employee certainly could not 
file a successful lawsuit faulting 
the company for allowing him 
to return to work and engage in 
activities that he says he can do, 
and that are consistent with any 
known medical restrictions. 

William T. (Tommy) Simmons 
Senior Legal Counsel to  
Commissioner Ruth R. Hughs



UI & You: 16 Tips for Handling 
Unemployment Insurance Cases in 2016

It’s a new year, and while 
unemployment insurance (UI) cases are 
surely one of the last things employers 
want to think about as they plan for the 
year ahead, many employers may find 
themselves in the unenviable situation 
of having to handle a UI claim in 
2016. While the best defense against 
an unemployment claim is to never 
have one in the first place, some job 
separations are simply unavoidable.

The following tips will provide 
some guidance and assistance to those 
employers navigating their way through 
a claim.
1.  Remember the number 14. 
Deadlines are very important when it 
comes to UI claims. The most common 
deadline in a unemployment claim 
is 14 days, measured from the date a 
document was mailed to the party, and 
not from the date the party received 

it. Not responding in a timely manner 
to a deadline is the easiest way for an 
employer to lose a UI case. For more 
information about timeliness: www.
twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/ui_law_
claim_notices.html
2.  If you fax a response, appeal, or 
other time-sensitive document to the 
Texas Workforce Commission (TWC), 
don’t wait until the last day to do it. 
And if you do, stay at the fax machine  
– do not walk away – until you 
receive confirmation of a successful 
transmission. TWC fax machines have 
been known to be very busy. Keep a 
copy of the fax confirmation sheet.
3.  It’s all about the base period. 
Whether employers will bear financial 
responsibility for a claim depends on 
whether or not the employer reported 
wages for the claimant during the base 

period of the claim – a period of 4 
calendar quarters measured backward 
in time from when the claim was filed. 
If you are not a base period employer, 
you have no financial liability in 
a claim, and your stress level will 
probably decrease. Learn more about 
the base period here: www.twc.state.
tx.us/news/efte/ui_law_claim_notices.
html#baseperiod.
4.  If you choose it, you must prove 
it. The party who initiated the job 
separation – whether employer or 
claimant – has the burden of proof when 
it comes to a UI claim. This means that 
in cases of a discharge initiated by the 
employer, the employer must prove 
that the claimant was discharged for 
misconduct connected with the work 
in order to prevail on the claim. For 
more information about misconduct 
visit: www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/
ui_law_qualification_issues.html#dq-
mc.
5.  Tip the scales in your favor. A 
UI case is not the same as a criminal 
case that must be proved “beyond a 
reasonable doubt.” A party just needs 
to show that it was more likely than not 
that the event in question happened. 
That means that employers should 
provide TWC with all the evidence 
they have to support their position. It’s 
better to submit more information and 
not use it, than to really need something 
and not have it. This is your story, make 
sure you tell it. 
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6. Use the best evidence. In trying to 
prove misconduct, employers should 
not simply describe evidence they 
reviewed and have available, such as 
videos, photographs, audio recordings 
or documents. Employers should 
provide copies of these videos, photos, 
recordings, etc. to TWC if this evidence 
supports the employer’s position. 
Remember that any evidence submitted 
to a hearing officer for use in an appeal 
hearing must also be provided to the 
opposing party.
7.  If using color photos as evidence, mail  
– do not fax – good quality color copies 
to TWC. Employers who fax copies of 
photos usually learn at a UI hearing 
that the image quality substantially 
deteriorated. Most faxed copies end up 
completely illegible and unusable.
8.  Place important dates, such as 
appeal deadlines and hearing dates, on 
a calendar accurately. Remember that 
failure to meet a deadline or appear at a 
hearing, because the employer noted it on 
the wrong date or at the wrong time, is an 
easy way for an employer to lose a case. 
To learn more about appeal hearings, 
see: www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/ui_
law_the_claim_and_appeal_process.
html#ui-at.
9.  Check your mail, even when you’re 
not at work. In many small businesses, 
business owners trust only themselves to 
check the mail. This means that in their 
absence – when they are on vacation 
or out ill, for example – the company’s 
mail will not be collected or opened. It’s 
important to assign someone to open 
or handle the mail, if the owner will be 
out of the office, to ensure that TWC 
correspondence is timely processed. 
There is no good cause exception to the 
timeliness rules, which means that it 
doesn’t matter that the business owner 
had a really good reason for being 
out of the office and responding late. 
Remember #1 above.

10.  Review the hearing packet – all 
of it. When a party appeals a claim, 
an appeal hearing is scheduled and a 
hearing packet is mailed to the parties. 
The hearing packet contains very 
important instructions for parties, as 
well as important case information 
and documents. If employers want to 
be prepared for the upcoming appeal 
tribunal hearing, they should read the 
entire hearing packet.
11.  Make your firsthand witnesses 
available to testify at an appeal hearing. 
This is fully explained in the hearing 
instructions sent to the parties, but 
many employers fail to read them. 
See #10. Firsthand witnesses are those 
who saw or heard what happened 
using their own eyes and ears. Written 
statements are not given the same 
weight as firsthand testimony, under 
oath, and subject to cross examination. 
Secondhand hearsay testimony is 
usually insufficient to overcome 
a claimant’s firsthand denial of 
wrongdoing.
12.  Prepare witnesses for a call from 
TWC. The hearing officer should not 
be cold-calling witnesses at an appeal 
hearing. If the employer plans to have 
witnesses participate in a hearing, and 
these witnesses will not be testifying 
from the same location as the employer, 
the witnesses should be informed to 
expect a call from an unknown or 
unidentified number on the appropriate 
date and time. Witnesses do not need to 
be in the same room, they just need to 
be available by phone.
13. Ensure that you have a working 
phone when participating in a hearing. 
If using a cell phone, make sure that 
the reception is good, that the phone is 
fully charged or plugged in, and that the 
cell phone bill is paid. If using an office 
phone, ensure that the receptionist is 
aware that a hearing officer will be 
calling. Ironically, employers have lost 
cases, due to non-participation, when 
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well-meaning receptionists refused 
to patch hearing officers through to 
awaiting employers. Apparently the 
receptionists were told that these 
employers were going to be busy on  
a phone conference and shouldn’t  
be disturbed.
14.  Don’t count on getting a second 
hearing if you’ve already had one. The 
appeal tribunal hearing is the first – and 
possibly only – opportunity that a party 
gets to present its most complete case. If 
an employer leaves out some evidence 
at the hearing and later offers to 
present it, there is no guarantee that the 
Commission will grant another hearing. 
This is one time when employers should 
put all their eggs in one basket.
15.  Just because you won, doesn’t 
mean you’re done. Keep checking 
the mail for TWC correspondence 
even after a victory. Because the 
claimant has the right to appeal a 
disqualification, it’s a good idea to 
continue to be vigilant of the mail and 
be on the lookout for either a hearing 
notice or an acknowledgement that 
the claimant has filed an appeal to the 
Commission. Remember #9 above.
16.  Call our office first. Before taking 
serious adverse action – such as firing 
an employee – call the Office of the 
Commissioner Representing Employers 
for some guidance. We have staff 
attorneys available to provide guidance 
and information on UI cases. The 
number is 1-800-832-9394.

Confronting the year ahead and 
meeting all the challenges that 
employers face as they manage their 
employees can be a daunting task. 
And while the prospect of having to 
defend an unemployment claim is never 
welcome, keeping these 16 tips in mind 
for 2016 will help employers prevent 
costly and avoidable mistakes.

Elsa G. Ramos 
Legal Counsel to Commissioner  
Ruth R. Hughs
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