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Texas has become a magnet for 
business and job creation

Texas Workforce Commission Chairman Tom Pauken 
speaks at the Putting America Back to Work Conference. 
Texas Workforce Commission photo

Chairman’s  
Corner

In April, a bipartisan group of California lawmakers 
visited Austin to better understand why companies and 
jobs are leaving the Golden State in droves for Texas. 
For Californians, there certainly is reason for concern. 
At the time of this writing, California’s employment 
levels are still more than 7 percent below where they 
were prior to the recession, while Texas has experienced 
a steady increase in private sector job growth over the 
past year. Texas is poaching jobs from high-tax, high-
regulatory states like California. In fact, Irvine-based 
business relocation consultant Joseph Vranich ranked 
Texas first among the most popular states and countries 
for California businesses to relocate in 2009 and 2010. 

Of course, it is no secret why Texas has become a 
magnet for business and job creation. The Lone Star 

State consistently ranks first 
in Chief Executive Magazine 
as the best place in the 
U.S. to do business, and 
recently the Small Business 

and Entrepreneurship Council ranked Texas only 
behind North Dakota for having the best business tax 
system. This recognition of the importance of economic 
development and job creation by our governor and our 
state legislature has helped shield Texas from much of 
the economic strains still gripping many states due to 
the national recession. It is no wonder why some state 
leaders are beginning to look to Texas as a model for 
prosperity.

However, while Texas may be on its way toward 
recovery, the hazards of increased federal government 
spending, continued trade deficits, and high national 
joblessness continue to loom as dark clouds over 
the Texas horizon. In an interview following May’s 
dismal national employment report, Professor Peter 
Morici of the University of Maryland said that private 
employment gains in the U.S. would need to average 
365,000 a month for the next three years in order 
to bring the national unemployment rate down to 6 
percent – a discouraging projection considering that 
private employment gains have averaged less than 
half of that since the beginning of this year. The bleak 
economic trends we are seeing nationally suggest that 
the persistently high U.S. unemployment rate is not 
simply the result of the most recent recession; it is the 
outcome of a decade-long trend of falling private sector 
employment, particularly in the export-oriented, goods-
producing sectors. 

Over the last 10 years, data from the Bureau of 
Labor Statistics shows private sector employment in the 
U.S. has actually experienced a net decline, while total 
manufacturing jobs have fallen by roughly one-third. 

Likewise, U.S. multinational firms are shedding millions 
of American jobs while adding millions overseas. 
According to a recent Wall Street Journal story, newly 
released data from the U.S. Department of Commerce 
showed that from 2000 to 2009, big firms eliminated 
2.9 million jobs in the U.S. while creating 2.4 million 
jobs in other countries. As a number of economists have 
suggested, replacing our nation’s onerous business tax 
system with a revenue-neutral business consumption 
tax would get the private sector moving again and start 
bringing jobs home to America. 

Despite a slight manufacturing uptick in parts of the 
country, serious structural impediments in the labor 
force continue to threaten American competitiveness as 
the manufacturing leader of the world. To accommodate 
rising input costs and low consumer demand, many 
U.S. firms have been making cutbacks on human 
capital spending for hiring, wage increases, and 
worker training. As more and more baby boomers 
enter retirement, firms will face the difficult challenge 
of finding workers with the necessary skill sets to 
replace the previous generation. We are beginning to 
see evidence of this already. According to a survey 
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from ManpowerGroup, a Wisconsin-based workforce 
solutions and services provider, the percentage of U.S. 
employers who say they are struggling to fill positions 
has risen from 14 percent in 2010 to 52 percent. Skilled 
trade positions topped the list of “hardest to fill jobs” 
with lack of experience and technical training being 
cited as the top reasons. 

While these jobs pay well, high school students often 
are pressured into going to a four-year university on the 
theory that earning a college degree is the only path to 
success. Since 1990, the cost for college has increased 
by more than 285 percent, a growth rate that is three 
times higher than inflation during the same period of 
time. Yet, in a survey conducted by Rutgers University, 
only 56 percent of the Class of 2010 was able to find 
employment a year after graduating. We must stop 
pushing a one-size-fits-all approach to education which 
tells all high school students that they should pursue a 
four-year university degree. The skills required for so-
called blue-collar jobs are impressive, and they allow 
young workers to make the kind of living needed to 
raise a family. 

Revamping our current education models to 
recognize the value of other career paths in the skilled 
trades is just one of the needed reforms of our current 
labor market structure. Replacing our business tax 

system with one which would level the playing field 
with our trading competitors and bring jobs home to 
America is of critical importance if we hope to rebuild 
our U.S. manufacturing base. While Texas remains the 
number one place in the United States to do business, 
we need a bold economic and tax policy to make the 
United States the number one place in the world to do 
business. Let’s bring jobs home to America and have 
the saying “Made in America” the rule, rather than the 
exception, once again.

Sincerely, 

Tom Pauken, Chairman
Commissioner Representing Employers
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To wear or not to wear:  
dress codes in the workplace

An  
Overview

Under Texas and federal laws, em-
ployers may have dress codes in their 
policy handbooks as long as the dress 
code bears a reasonable relationship 
to legitimate business needs and is 
enforced fairly. What is a business 
need? The business’s concern with 
safety has been generally recognized 
by the U.S. Equal Employment 
Opportunity Commission (EEOC) 
as a legitimate business need.  For 

example, 
a manu-
facturing 
company 
may re-

quire all employees to wear pants for 
safety reasons in the manufacturing 
facility to prevent fabric becoming 
caught in machinery.  However, under 
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 
1964, employers who have 15 em-
ployees or more, may not have dress 
codes which discriminate against em-
ployees based on race, color, religion, 
national origin, and gender.

Religious Discrimination. Em-
ployers who are covered under Title 
VII must try to reasonably accom-
modate employees whose religious 
beliefs or practices are burdened by 
the employer’s dress code, unless 
it places an undue hardship on the 
employer. If the accommodation 
(e.g., making an exception to the 
dress code for an employee because 
of religious reasons) causes more 
than a minor cost on the employer’s 
business, then the employer will not 
have to accommodate the employee. 
However, not only will monetary 
costs be considered in determining 
an undue hardship, but the burden on 
the employer’s business will also be 
considered; for example, the effect 
the accommodation has on the busi-
ness’s safety or how the accommoda-
tion imposes on other employees’ 
work rights or benefits. Therefore, 
an employer will have to be specific 
and have documented evidence of the 

hardship.
Nevertheless, an employer who 

has 15 or more employees and 
whose dress code prohibits head 
coverings or hats may need to ac-
commodate a Jewish employee’s 
request to wear his kippah or a 
Muslim employee’s request to wear 
her headscarf. Religious dress may 
include face coverings, body pierc-
ing, or tattoos. In 2004, Costco, the 
wholesaler, had a “no facial jewelry” 
dress code which was successfully 
defended in a lawsuit by proving 
that the employee’s facial piercings, 
which were in accordance with her 
religious beliefs, could not be ac-
commodated because the company 
had a legitimate business need to 
deliver a professional image to its 
customers [see, Cloutier v. Costco, 
390 F.3d 126 (1st Cir. 2004)].  The 
Costco employee was a cashier who 
saw customers every day, and it 
would have posed an undue hardship 
on the company to accommodate 
her because allowing the employee 

to wear her facial piercings would 
“adversely affect the employer’s 
public image.”  However, each case 
will depend on the facts, such as the 
type of business, the employee’s job 
duties, and the employer’s conduct.  
Usually, an employer’s dress code 
will likely be upheld if the rules are 
applied consistently with all em-
ployees and involve business-related 
needs. For more information about 
dress codes relating to religious 
beliefs, go to the EEOC’s website 
at http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/
religion.html#_Toc203359534; 
http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/
qanda_religion.html; and  
http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/
religion.html#_Toc203359523.

Race & Disability Discrimina-
tion. While some physical appear-
ances are related to religious beliefs, 
some physical appearances may be 
medically related and can be con-
sidered a disability. For example, an 
employer who has a “no facial hair” 
policy may have to reasonably ac-

Applying the dress code to all employees can prevent claims of discrimination 
against women or minorities and may minimize complaints of unfair treatment. 
However, there will be some exceptions under the law.  Jupiterimages/Getty 
Images/Thinkstock

http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/religion.html#_Toc203359534
http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/religion.html#_Toc203359534
http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/qanda_religion.html
http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/qanda_religion.html
http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/religion.html#_Toc203359523
http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/religion.html#_Toc203359523
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commodate employees, such as men 
with pseudofolliculitis barbae (PFB) 
(i.e., a skin condition that may affect 
some minorities) under the Ameri-
cans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 
which applies to employers that have 
at least 15 employees. PFB may be 
considered a disabling condition and 
may fall under the ADA. In addition, 
a no facial hair policy may have a 
disparate impact on a protected class 
(e.g., minorities), creating a discrimi-
natory policy. Therefore, a policy re-
quiring employees to be clean-shaven 
may be discriminatory against some 
minority employees. For more infor-
mation about ADA, go to the EEOC’s 
website at http://www.eeoc.gov/facts/
ada17.html, and for more information 
about no-facial hair dress codes, go 
to http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/
race-color.html#VIIB5.

Sex Discrimination. Employers 
may have different dress codes for 
men and women unless the policy has 
no basis in social customs, differs sig-
nificantly between men and women, 
or places a greater burden on women. 
For example, a policy that requires 
female managers to wear a suit, while 
male managers are allowed to wear 
jeans and a t-shirt, is most likely 
discriminatory against women. Dress 
codes that conform to social norms 
are generally acceptable even when 
they affect only one sex. For example, 
an employer’s policy that requires 
only male employees to cut their long 
hair is acceptable [see, Harper v. 
Blockbuster Entertainment Corp., 139 
F.3d 1385 (11th Cir. 1998)].

Basic Tips for Drafting & 
Enforcing Your Dress Code 
Policy:

• �Business-Related Reason. 
Base the dress code on business-
related reasons and explain the 
reasons in your policy so em-
ployees understand the rationale 
behind the restrictions. Some 
examples of business-related 
reasons include maintaining the 
company’s public image, promot-
ing a productive work environ-
ment, and complying with health 
and safety standards.

• �Simple Dress Code First. Be 
sure your policy requires your 
employees to simply have an 
appropriately well-groomed ap-
pearance. If you have a casual 
dress policy, specify what cloth-
ing is inappropriate (e.g., are 
sweatsuits, shorts, flip-flops, etc. 
appropriate?).

• �Communicate. Explain the 
dress code to job candidates. 
Include your dress code in your 
company’s policy handbook and 
be sure to explain the conse-
quences for noncompliance. If 
any changes are made to the 
policy, have your employees 
acknowledge the new polic y by 
signing an acknowledgement 
form. A general sample of an 
acknowledgment form from our 
book, Especially for Texas Em-
ployers, can be found at http://
www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/
acknowledgment_of_receipt_
of_employee_handbook.html.

• �Apply Uniformly. Apply the 
dress code to all employees. This 
can prevent claims of discrimina-
tion against women or minorities 
and may minimize complaints of 

unfair treatment. However, there 
will be some exceptions under 
the law (see next point).

• �Reasonable Accommodations. 
As mentioned above, an employ-
er with 15 employees or more 
must comply with Title VII of the 
Civil Rights Act of 1964, which 
requires such employers to make 
reasonable accommodations 
when necessary. However, if an 
accommodation places an undue 
hardship on the business, then the 
business is not required to make 
the accommodation. An employ-
er with fewer than 15 employees 
is not required to reasonably ac-
commodate employees; however, 
such an employer would still 
want to treat the employee as 
fairly and consistently as pos-
sible.

• �Corrective Action. Apply the 
dress code consistently. When 
disciplining employees for 
violating the dress code, explain 
why the employee’s attire does 
not comply with the dress code. 
Be sure to document your disci-
plinary action and always have 
a witness present when present-
ing the employee with a written 
warning. Some ideas on how to 
create a disciplinary process are 
in our book, Especially for Texas 
Employers, located at http://
www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/
discipline.html.

For more information about dress 
codes, go to the EEOC’s website at 
www.eeoc.gov. You can also find 
dress code information in our book, 
Especially for Texas Employers, at 
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/
dress_codes.html.

For creating an enforceable dress 
code policy, it is always best to con-
sult with an attorney.

Marissa Marquez
Legal Counsel for  

Chairman Tom Pauken

A manufacturing company may require 
all employees to wear pants for safety 
reasons in the manufacturing facility 
to prevent fabric becoming caught in 
machinery.  iStockphoto// Thinkstock

http://www.eeoc.gov/facts/ada17.html
http://www.eeoc.gov/facts/ada17.html
http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/race-color.html#VIIB5
http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/race-color.html#VIIB5
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/acknowledgment_of_receipt_of_employee_handbook.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/acknowledgment_of_receipt_of_employee_handbook.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/acknowledgment_of_receipt_of_employee_handbook.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/acknowledgment_of_receipt_of_employee_handbook.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/discipline.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/discipline.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/discipline.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/dress_codes.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/dress_codes.html
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Frequently asked questions  
from employers
The following questions were 
compiled from past Texas Business 
Conferences around the state and 
from Texas employers who called our 
Employer Hotline.

Employer Policies
Q:  Should the employee handbook 
be written by a lawyer?
A:  Texas and federal laws do not 
require employers to have policy 
handbooks, but a policy handbook 
is helpful in defending lawsuits or 
unemployment insurance claims; 
likewise, they do not have to be 
written by a lawyer. However, it is 
a good idea to have an experienced 
employment law attorney review 
your policy handbook.

Q:  Once employees have their 
initial training (e.g., sexual 
harassment, drugs in the 
workplace, etc.), do we or should 
we train annually? What is the law 
if any?
A: Unless a specific grant or 
contract provides otherwise, Texas 
employers are not required to train 
their employees in this state annually 
on sexual harassment, drugs in the 
workplace, or any other type of 
policy, but it is a good idea to remind 
your employees every now and then 
about your policies.

Q:  Can an employer require that 
employees call instead of texting or 
e-mailing the office if they are going 
to be tardy or absent from work?
A:  Yes, an employer can create 
a policy which requires calling, 
not texting or e-mailing, as the 
only proper means of notifying 
the employer of tardiness or 
absenteeism. An employer may 
also want to specifically identify 
whom an employee needs to notify, 
whether it is the manager, human 
resource representative, the owner, 

co-worker, etc.

Work Separations
Q:  When I terminated an 
employee, she immediately got 
up and walked out of the office 
before I had a chance to ask her 
to sign a termination form. She is 
now asking me for a copy of the 
termination form. Do I have to give 
it to her?
A: That is not a requirement under 
Texas law (for details, see Attorney 
General Opinion No. JM-623, 
January 20, 1987, which is based 
on St. Louis Southwestern Railway 
Co. of Texas v. Griffin, 171 S.W. 703 
(Tex. 1914)). However, giving an 
employee a termination notice can 
help document that the employment 
relationship has truly been severed 
as of a certain date, which can help 
an employer avoid certain problems; 
for example, a termination notice can 
be helpful when an employee claims 

not to have known she was no longer 
employed and files a wage claim with 
the Texas Workforce Commission 
(TWC) claiming that she was not 
paid for time that she allegedly 
worked.

Q:  If an employee quits or is 
terminated, when is an employer 
supposed to deliver their final 
paycheck?
A:  The Texas Payday Law regulates 
the timing of the final paycheck 
in section 61.014 which applies to 
employees (i.e., not independent 
contractors) who work for private 
employers. If an employee is laid 
off, discharged, fired, or otherwise 
involuntarily separated from 
employment, the final pay is due 
within six calendar days of discharge. 
If the employee quits, retires, resigns, 
or otherwise leaves employment 
voluntarily, the final pay is due on 
the next regularly scheduled payday 

Unless a specific grant or contract provides otherwise, Texas employers are not 
required to train their employees in this state annually on sexual harassment, drugs 
in the workplace, or any other type of policy, but it is a good idea to remind your 
employees every now and then about your policies.  Jack Hollingsworth/Photodisc/ 
Thinkstock
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following the effective date of 
resignation. For more information 
about final paychecks, please see a 
link from our book, Especially for 
Texas Employers, at http://www.twc.
state.tx.us/news/efte/final_pay.html.

Q:  We terminated an employee 
and mailed his final paycheck by 
certified mail. The former employee 
did not pick up the check at the 
post office and it was returned 
to our office.  I ran a copy of the 
envelope to show it was returned 
in order to prove that we mailed it 
within the required time. Is it okay 
to just send it by regular mail this 
time and pay for proof of mailing 
receipt?
A:  An employer is not obligated to 
remail the final paycheck if it has 
already been sent by registered mail 
and returned as unclaimed. The return 
envelope will be your documentation 
that you attempted delivery by mail 
within the required time. You can 
simply hold the paycheck at the office 
and await further contact from the 
employee. If the paycheck has been 
unclaimed for a year or more, it may 
be considered unclaimed property 
and turned over to the Unclaimed 
Property Division of the Texas 
Comptroller’s Office. You can find 
information on how to contact that 
office on the comptroller’s website at 
http://www.window.state.tx.us/up/.  
Thus, continue holding the paycheck 
until at least one year has passed 
since the date on which the wages 
were due and payable, then turn it 
over the Comptroller’s Unclaimed 
Property Division. Further details are 
available in our book, Especially for 
Texas Employer, at http://www.twc.
state.tx.us/news/efte/delivery_of_
wages.html.

Questions About TWC
Q:  We offered someone who is 
receiving unemployment benefits 
a job and he refused it. How do I 
report that to TWC?
A:  You can call your local workforce 
office and report the claimant’s 
identifying information and any 
relevant details about the job offer 
that was refused, including start 

date, duties, location, pay, etc.  After 
you make the report, TWC will 
investigate. You can search for your 
local workforce office at http://www.
twc.state.tx.us/dirs/wdas/wdamap.
html. You also can report the work 
refusal to your nearest Tele-Center, as 
listed on http://www.twc.state.tx.us/
ui/bnfts/offices.html.

Q:  I mailed my unemployment 
insurance claim appeal to the TWC 
Appeal Tribunal. Whom do I call 
at TWC to confirm that it was 
received?
A:  You can confirm receipt of your 
appeal to TWC’s Appeal Tribunal by 
calling the status desk at (512) 463-
2807, or you can e-mail questions to 
appeals.status@twc.state.tx.us.

Employer Resources
Q:  I would like to get a copy of 
TWC's book, Especially for Texas 
Employers. Can you please tell me 
how to go about getting a copy 
and how much it costs?
A: TWC's book, Especially for 
Texas Employers, is available online 
free of charge at http://www.twc.
state.tx.us/news/efte/tocmain.html.  
You can also order a free copy 
of the book by going to this link: 
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/
efte/tocmain2.html and clicking 
on “Click here to request a printed 
version.” Once you click on that 
link, an e-mail will pop up addressed 
to the department that mails out the 
books.

Q: I want to subscribe to Texas 
Business Today. What do I do to 
subscribe?
A: An employer can e-mail a request 
to subscribe to TWC-Updates@
businessink.com, or a request can 
be mailed to the address located on 
the back of this newsletter. Note: 
The above e-mail address is only 
for Texas Business Today requests 
such as discontinuing subscription, 
change of address requests, or 
requests for additional copies of 
the newsletter.  Be sure the request 
includes the company name and 
address where it is to be sent. 

Q:  Where can I get the required 
workplace posters?
A:  The required TWC posters can 
be ordered at no cost through our 
unemployment tax services on our 
website at http://www.twc.state.
tx.us/ui/tax/emtaxinfo.html, or 
you can fax your request to (512) 
936-3205. Be sure your fax request 
includes your TWC account number, 
your address for mailing posters, 
and the number of posters you 
need printed in English or Spanish 
(Spanish-language posters are not 
a requirement). You also can order 
posters by calling (512) 463-2747 
or by contacting your local TWC 
tax office. A list of our TWC tax 
offices around the state can be found 
at http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/tax/
taxoff.html. Required posters from 
other agencies can also be printed 
using links on our website at http://
www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/lablaw/
posters.html.

Q:  How much does it cost 
to list a local job opening on 
WorkInTexas.com?
A:  Job listings on WorkInTexas.com, 
TWC's job-matching website, are 
free.

Q:  I am having technical problems 
with the WorkInTexas.com website. 
Whom can I contact for assistance?
A: Contact your local workforce 
center to speak to someone about 
your technical problem. You 
can use our workforce center 
locator  at http://www.twc.state.
tx.us/dirs/wdas/wdamap.html 
and follow the instructions.  If 
you would like to e-mail your 
question, go to this website to 
submit your question: https://wit.
twc.state.tx.us/WORKINTEXAS/
wtx?pageid=CV_MSG_
COMPOSE&cookiecheckflag=1 
and your question will be answered 
by a workforce center representative 
near you.

TWC’s Tax Department
Q:  My business has moved and 
the name has changed. How do I 
contact TWC about these changes?
A:  An employer can request name 

http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/final_pay.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/final_pay.html
http://www.window.state.tx.us/up/
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/delivery_of_wages.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/delivery_of_wages.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/delivery_of_wages.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/dirs/wdas/wdamap.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/dirs/wdas/wdamap.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/dirs/wdas/wdamap.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/bnfts/offices.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/bnfts/offices.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/tocmain.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/tocmain.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/tocmain2.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/tocmain2.html
mailto:TWC-Updates@businessink.com
mailto:TWC-Updates@businessink.com
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/tax/emtaxinfo.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/tax/emtaxinfo.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/tax/taxoff.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/tax/taxoff.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/lablaw/posters.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/lablaw/posters.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/lablaw/posters.html
http://www.WorkInTexas.com
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/dirs/wdas/wdamap.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/dirs/wdas/wdamap.html
https://wit.twc.state.tx.us/WORKINTEXAS/wtx?pageid=CV_MSG_COMPOSE&cookiecheckflag=1
https://wit.twc.state.tx.us/WORKINTEXAS/wtx?pageid=CV_MSG_COMPOSE&cookiecheckflag=1
https://wit.twc.state.tx.us/WORKINTEXAS/wtx?pageid=CV_MSG_COMPOSE&cookiecheckflag=1
https://wit.twc.state.tx.us/WORKINTEXAS/wtx?pageid=CV_MSG_COMPOSE&cookiecheckflag=1
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If a business has fewer than 15 
employees (counting anyone who 
works for the business, in payroll 
status, for each working day in each 
of 20 or more calendar weeks in the 
current or preceding calendar year), 
it is not covered by any employment 
law relating to pregnancy or disability. 
Hemera/ Thinkstock

and address changes from TWC’s 
Tax Department by calling (512) 
463-2700 or by e-mailing tax@twc.
state.tx.us. The Tax Department’s 
website is http://www.twc.state.tx.us/
ui/tax/taxdept.html.

Q:  I am having a problem filing 
my unemployment insurance 
tax quarterly report on TWC’s 
website. Whom can I call for 
assistance?
A: TWC’s Tax Department can 
assist with questions about filing 
your quarterly reports. See the tax 
department’s contact information 
above.

Q:  We have laid off our only 
employee, and may close the 
business entirely. Do we have to file 
any forms or notify TWC about 
this?
A:  You are not obligated under Texas 
law to notify TWC about a work 
separation and there are no forms 
you need to file with TWC. However, 

if you will no longer report wages, 
you should contact TWC’s Tax 
Department to file a status change 
form (Form C3SCF). See the Tax 
Department’s contact information 
above.

Employer Rights
Q:  I found out that a current 
employee is working for another 
employer, too. What rights does an 
employer have regarding whether 
an employee is allowed to work for 
two employers simultaneously?
A:  Under Texas law, an employer is 
not obligated to allow an employee 
to work in any outside employment 
and can require an employee to 
obtain company authorization before 
beginning any outside work. A 
company can prohibit an employee 
from working for a competitor or 
from any other employment that 
is inconsistent with their work for 
the company. For more information 
on this topic, please see this link 
from our book, Especially for Texas 
Employers: http://www.twc.state.
tx.us/news/efte/conflict_of_interest.
html.

Q:  Can an employer make it 
a condition of employment to 
have a new employee sign a 
wage authorization deduction 
agreement?
A:  An employer in Texas may 
make it a condition of continued 
employment that employees sign 
such a form. The best time to have 
such forms signed is at the time of 
hire when all the new hire paperwork 
is issued. The wage deduction 
authorization agreement is something 
that can be part of the standard new 
hire packet. Please see the following 
topic in our book, Especially for 
Texas Employers, for suggestions on 
what can be included in such a packet 
at http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/
efte/new_hire_paperwork.html.

Medical Issues 
Q:  I do not have a maternity leave 
policy and one of my employees 
is pregnant and wants us to grant 

her maternity leave. We have eight 
employees. What laws apply to our 
business?
A:  If a business has fewer than 15 
employees (counting anyone who 
works for the business,in payroll 
status, for each working day in each 
of 20 or more calendar weeks in the 
current or preceding calendar year), 
it is not covered by any employment 
law relating to pregnancy or 
disability, and the business would 
be free to handle the situation in 
any way it deems appropriate. Of 
course, a business not covered by 
such laws would still want to treat its 
employees as fairly and consistently 
as possible. If the business has 15 
or more employees, it is covered 
by state and federal pregnancy 
and disability discrimination laws. 
Please see the link from our book, 
Especially for Texas Employers, 
regarding medical-related laws that 
may apply to your business at Also 
see the topic on pregnancy rights 
at http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/
efte/pregnancy_rights.html. In the 
event of an unemployment claim 
from an employee who is laid off 
due to excessive medical absences, 
the employer should explain that it 
was a medical work separation and 
that the company’s account should be 
protected from chargeback.

Marissa Marquez
William T. Simmons

Legal Counsel for  
Chairman Tom Pauken

http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/tax/taxdept.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/tax/taxdept.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/conflict_of_interest.html
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http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/conflict_of_interest.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/new_hire_paperwork.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/new_hire_paperwork.html
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OSHA guidelines set basic workplace 
safety and health requirements

The nation's main workplace safety 
and health law is the Occupational 
Safety and Health Act (OSHA) of 
1970, which requires all private-
sector employers to furnish a safe 
workplace, free of recognized haz-
ards, to their employees, and requires 
employers and employees to comply 
with occupational safety and health 
standards adopted by the U.S. Depart-
ment of Labor's OSHA division (for 
the main duty clause of OSHA, see 
29 U.S.C. § 654).  The complete 
listing of DOL's OSHA regulations 
is found at http://www.osha.gov/pls/
oshaweb/owasrch.search_form?p_
doc_type=STANDARDS&p_toc_
level=0&p_keyvalue=.

Compliance with OSHA stan-
dards not only helps prevent needless 
workplace tragedies from accidents, 
but also helps to minimize the number 
of injury-related employee absences, 
keep workers' compensation and other 
insurance costs to a minimum, and 
promotes higher productivity from 
employees who can feel secure that 
the company is looking out for their 
safety and can thus concentrate on 
doing their jobs well.

A myth about OSHA is that the 
regulations are too complex to under-
stand. Although the regulations are 
numerous and occasionally very com-
prehensive and detailed, almost all 
of them stem directly from common 
sense, best practices, and what expe-
rienced and prudent employees would 
do in their jobs anyway. For example, 
the regulations require wearing seat 
belts when driving vehicles or operat-
ing machines with seats, ensuring that 
safe scaffolding and fall protection 
are in place for employees working at 
heights, wearing goggles or other face 
protection during welding or while 
working with abrasive materials, us-
ing cave-in protection when working 
in trenches, using guards on any tools 
with moving blades, using guards and 
other protective barriers on machines 
with large moving parts, provid-

ing kill switches on machinery for 
immediate shut-off if anything goes 
wrong, providing adequate ventilation 
for workers in enclosed areas where 
fumes are present, protecting health-
care workers from accidental pricks 
from needles and other sharp medi-
cal instruments, avoiding sparks near 
flammable materials, and so on.

Although employers have the right 
to take appropriate corrective ac-
tion toward employees who violate 
known safety rules, OSHA protects 
an employee's right to report work-
place safety concerns and violations 
of safety rules, and an employer that 
retaliates against an employee who 
reports safety-related problems or 
participates in an OSHA-related in-
vestigation is subject to enforcement 
action in court by DOL (see 29 U.S.C. 
§ 660(c)(1, 2)).

Non-willful violations can result in 
civil penalties, which become more 
substantial for serious or repeated 
violations, and willful violations 
can result in both civil penalties and 
imprisonment for those responsible, 
depending upon the severity of the 
violation.

OSHA violations are not neces-
sarily enough to prove an employer's 
negligence as a matter of law in a 
civil lawsuit arising from a workplace 
injury, but can be used as evidence 
of negligence. Similarly, evidence of 
compliance with OSHA may not be 
sufficient to avoid liability in such a 
lawsuit, and compliance is certainly 
not enough to prevent a workers' 
compensation claim from being filed, 
since workers' compensation claims 
are generally handled without regard 
to issues of fault (see 29 U.S.C. § 
653(b)(4)).

Child labor presents special safety 
issues under both Texas and federal 
laws. Regardless of how safe a work-
place may be for adult employees or 
how much in compliance with OSHA 
an employer may be, children may 
not perform hazardous duties or work 

during restricted times. A complete 
list of prohibited duties and restric-
tions on work hours for children 
under both Texas and federal laws 
appears on the Texas child labor law 
poster available for free download-
ing at http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/
lablaw/llcl70.pdf. For more informa-
tion on child labor laws, see the topic 
"Child Labor" in our book, Especially 
for Texas Employers, online at http://
www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/child_
labor.html.

OSHA's official PowerPoint and 
video presentations for workplace 
safety education in various indus-
tries are excellent training tools for 
employers and employees alike and 
are available for free downloading 
at http://www.osha.gov/SLTC/mul-
timedia.html. The department's self-
guided study and training tools are 
available on the OSHA eTools page 
at http://www.osha.gov/dts/osta/os-
hasoft/index.html. In addition, OSHA 
offers free compliance training and 
consultation to small- and medium-
size businesses at its site consultation 
page at http://www.osha.gov/dcsp/
smallbusiness/consult.html for details.

The state agency in Texas with 
the greatest authority in the area of 
workplace safety is the Texas Depart-
ment of Insurance (TDI), Division of 
Workers' Compensation (http://www.
tdi.state.tx.us/wc/indexwc.html), 
which has enforcement responsibility 
for the Texas Workers' Compensa-
tion Act (for the general provisions 
of that law, see Chapter 401 of the 
Texas Labor Code). The main work-
place safety resource information for 
Texas is on the TDI website at http://
www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/safety/index.
html. The Workers' Compensation 
Division's Occupational Safety and 
Health Consultation Program  
(OSHCON) provides workplace 
safety and health consultations to 
Texas employers, including free 
OSHA compliance assistance, 
Please see OSHA, Page 10

http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owasrch.search_form?p_doc_type=STANDARDS&p_toc_level=0&p_keyvalue=
http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owasrch.search_form?p_doc_type=STANDARDS&p_toc_level=0&p_keyvalue=
http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owasrch.search_form?p_doc_type=STANDARDS&p_toc_level=0&p_keyvalue=
http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owasrch.search_form?p_doc_type=STANDARDS&p_toc_level=0&p_keyvalue=
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/lablaw/llcl70.pdf
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/lablaw/llcl70.pdf
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/child_labor.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/child_labor.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/child_labor.html
http://www.osha.gov/SLTC/multimedia.html
http://www.osha.gov/SLTC/multimedia.html
http://www.osha.gov/dts/osta/oshasoft/index.html
http://www.osha.gov/dts/osta/oshasoft/index.html
http://www.osha.gov/dcsp/smallbusiness/consult.html 
http://www.osha.gov/dcsp/smallbusiness/consult.html 
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/indexwc.html
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/indexwc.html
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/safety/index
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/safety/index
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OSHA continued from Page 9

 at http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/
safety/oshcon.html.

As with many federal laws, 
OSHA does not preempt state 
laws that provide a greater de-
gree of protection or benefit for 
employees. The following are 
examples of state-level workplace 
safety and health laws. Many 
occupations regulated under the 
Occupations Code have safety-
related laws in the chapters for 
those occupations:

• �Texas Health and Safety 
Code, Section 81.042 - Duty 
of Some Employers to Report 
Certain Communicable 
Diseases to Local Health 
Authorities or to the Texas 
Department of State Health 
Services at 1-800-705-8868 
(for the list of reportable dis-
eases, see http://www.dshs.
state.tx.us/idcu/investigation/
forms/101A.pdf)

• �Texas Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 256 - Safe 
Patient Handling and Move-
ment Practices

• �Texas Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 437 - Regula-
tion of Food Service Es-
tablishments, Retail Food 
Stores, Mobile Food Units, 
and Roadside Food Vendors

• �Texas Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 502 - Hazard 
Communication Act

• �Texas Labor Code, Chapter 
51 - Employment of Children

• �Texas Labor Code, Chapter 
52 - Miscellaneous Restric-
tions

• �Texas Workers' Compensa-
tion Act, Texas Labor Code, 
Chapter 401, et seq.

This topic appears in our book, 
Especially for Texas Employers, 
which can be found online at 
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/
efte/osha.html.

William T. Simmons
Legal Counsel for  

Chairman Tom Pauken

There are more than 433,000 Texas 
businesses that employ fewer than 100 
employees, creating a diverse industry 
base with more than 10 million jobs 
in sectors such as energy, informa-
tion technology, and aerospace. The 
Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) 
recognizes that supporting these 
entrepreneurs means supporting the 
Texas economy. That’s where Skills 
for Small Business comes in.

TWC’s $2 million Skills for Small 
Business program is designed to focus 
Skills Development Funds on the 
training needs of small businesses. 
Skills for Small Business provides 
tuition and fees for employees who 
participate in an existing course of-
fered by two-year public community 
or technical colleges, or the Texas En-
gineering Extension Service (TEEX).

Skills for Small Business provides 
up to $1,450 for each newly hired 
full-time employee trained and up to 
$725 for each incumbent employee. 
An employee can participate once 
during a 12-month period. Businesses 
apply directly to TWC for training at 
a local college. TWC will evaluate 
applications and, upon approval, fund 
the college for the requested training.

“More than 80 percent of the 
state’s businesses are small employers 
who need workers with the most cur-
rent, in-demand industry skills,” said 
TWC Chairman Tom Pauken. “We 
are pleased to offer a specific program 
that will meet the needs of these small 
businesses.”

Corpus Christi businessman Jerry 
Hunt of Dykema Architects recog-
nizes the value of TWC’s Skills for 
Small Business program. Several of 
his employees took classes at Del Mar 
College, including a course on Revit, 
a modeling software program used for 
computer-aided design applications. 

“Upgrading my employees’ skills 
makes my company more success-
ful,” he said. “I know that skilled 
employees are my company’s most 

valuable assets.”
Other courses small business 

employees are taking through this 
TWC program include QuickBooks, 
Business Communications, Microsoft 
Excel, and Project Management. 

“Most of these classes are online 
which allow the employees to work 
on them at their own pace,” said Ol-
ivia de la Rosa, continuing education 
coordinator at South Texas College 
in McAllen. “Skills for Small Busi-
ness is a good program and I would 
encourage companies to take advan-
tage of it.”

Alpha Care Home Health in Edin-
burg is one of the companies partici-
pating in the program at South Texas 
College. 

“It’s a very good program,” said 
Chief Financial Officer Elvira Lopez. 
“Taking an accounting course and 
a QuickBooks class has helped me 
tremendously in my job. I hope to 
expand participation in our company.”

Skills for Small Business is in part-
nership with the Office of the Gover-
nor, which is conducting the Gover-
nor’s Small Business Forums around 
the state that are designed to educate 
the Texas entrepreneur and small busi-
ness community on workforce devel-
opment, start-up essentials, marketing, 
hiring and managing employees, and 
training and growth opportunities. 
Representatives from TWC, local 
workforce boards, community col-
leges, economic development groups, 
and chambers of commerce are avail-
able at the Small Business Forums to 
help answer questions and businesses 
complete an application.

For more information, visit the 
Skills for Small Business website at 
http://ssb.texasworkforce.org, contact 
Workforce Business Services Project 
Development at skills@twc.state.tx.us, 
or call toll-free at 1-877-463-1777.

Kate Hourin
TWC Communications Department

Big News for Small Business: 
Skills for Small Business 
focuses on training needs

http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/safety/oshcon.html
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/safety/oshcon.html
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/idcu/investigation/forms/101A.pdf
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/idcu/investigation/forms/101A.pdf
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/idcu/investigation/forms/101A.pdf
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/osha.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/osha.html
http://ssb.texasworkforce.org
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Private-sector businesses in Texas 
have a unique opportunity to increase 
their business competitiveness while 
boosting their employees’ skills 
through workforce training.

The Texas Workforce Commission 
(TWC) Skills Development Fund offers 
a customized training opportunity for 
businesses to train new and existing 
employees. A business, business con-
sortium, or trade union identifies train-
ing needs and partners with a public 
community or technical college, or the 
Texas Engineering Extension Service, 

to fill those 
needs. 
Custom-
ization 
can allow 

courses to be delivered at the employ-
er’s worksite during hours to match 
workers’ shifts, online, and through 
the development of company-specific 
instructional examples.

Under the Skills Development Fund, 
the college is the business’s partner 
throughout the whole process. The 
college works with the business to 
determine the curriculum; completes 
the grant application; and manages the 
grant administration, including fiscal 
and reporting activities. The business 
focuses on ensuring that employees 
participate in the training and maxi-
mizing the results through increased 
productivity and business profitability. 

Private employers of all sizes are 
eligible to participate in the Skills 
Development Fund. See “Big News for 
Small Business: Skills for Small Busi-
ness focuses on training needs” in this 
issue for details on how this program 
can help small businesses.

For more information, visit the 
Skills Development Fund website at 
http://skills.texasworkforce.org, e-mail 
skills@twc.state.tx.us, or call toll-free 
1-877-463-1777.

Governor's Small  
Business Forums

There are still some chances for 
small businesses to participate in the 
Governor's Small Business Forums 
series held around Texas. Representa-

tives from the Governor's office and 
other key agencies are available to 
share information concerning financing, 
workforce development, starting a busi-
ness, marketing, hiring and managing 
employees, networking, and identifying 
key government contacts. Information 
about the remaining forums is avail-
able at http://members.texasone.us/site/
PageServer?pagename=sbs_forums.

OSHA's Distracted  
Driving Initiative

Due to an increasing number of inju-
ries and deaths attributable to text-mes-
saging while driving, the Department 
of Transportation and the Department 
of Labor, through OSHA, are teaming 
up to try to minimize that problem, and 
distracted driving in general. OSHA 
is actively discouraging employers 
from having any policies or practices 
that require or encourage employees 
to send text messages while driving. 
This is not a new subject; texting while 
driving is already prohibited for federal 
employees under an executive order 
issued on October 1, 2009. In addition, 
prudent employers are already trying to 
avoid needless added liability and have 
instituted strict prohibitions against 
distracted driving. OSHA’s position is 
that employers that allow or promote 
distracted driving are not complying 
with their duty to ensure safe working 
conditions for employees. OSHA’s of-
ficial statement on this new policy is at 
http://www.osha.gov/distracted-driving/
initiative.html.

Texas Named Best 
State for Business

For the seventh year in a row, Chief 
Executive Magazine has named Texas 
the nation’s best state for doing busi-
ness, based on “consistent policies and 
regulations that allow [businesses] to 
plan, as well as intangible factors such 
as [the] state’s overall attitude toward 
business and the work ethic of its popu-
lation.” According to the May 2011 sur-
vey posted at http://chiefexecutive.net/
best-worst-states-for-business, Texas 
“gets strong marks in all areas impor-

tant for business creation, and has the 
second-lowest taxes in the nation. The 
state has created more jobs than any 
other—about 250,000 last year. Not 
surprisingly, it also enjoys the highest 
inward net migration rate of any state.” 
At the other end of the spectrum is 
California, classified for seven years 
in a row as the worst state in which to 
operate a business.

Showing that even Texas has room 
for improvement in some areas, a 
recent study released in April 2011 
by the Council on State Taxation 
indicates that Texas ranks 20th in the 
nation with regard to effective tax 
rates on new investments by business 
(weighted by capital investment), and 
19th when weighted by jobs. Maine, 
Oregon, and Ohio led the nation in 
business tax competitiveness, and the 
District of Columbia and New Mexico 
trailed all other states by a significant 
margin. The full study is available on-
line at http://www.cost.org/WorkArea/
DownloadAsset.aspx?id=78442.

New Website Devoted 
to the Form I-9

On May 13, 2011, U.S. Citizenship 
and Immigration Services (USCIS) 
launched “I-9 Central”, a new online 
resource center at http://www.uscis.
gov/I-9central that brings together its 
resources, tips, and guidance on how 
to understand the Form I-9 process 
and properly complete and maintain 
the Form I-9. The agency notes that 
the Form I-9 is the most frequently 
accessed form on its website, which 
is no surprise to the tens of thousands 
of Texas employers who have taken 
advantage of the USCIS site in the 
past to download the form. One of 
the features is a link to the “E-Verify 
Self-Check” which allows employees 
and job-seekers in the U.S. to check on 
their own employment eligibility online 
(currently available only in Arizona, 
Colorado, D.C., Idaho, Mississippi, and 
Virginia). There is also an updated I-9 
Handbook for Employers (M-274), an 
invaluable how-to manual for employ-
ers who want reliable guidance in 
completing the forms.

Business 
Briefs

Skills Development Fund benefits businesses

http://skills.texasworkforce.org
http://members.texasone.us/site/PageServer?pagename=sbs_forums
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http://www.cost.org/WorkArea/DownloadAsset.aspx?id=78442
http://www.uscis.gov/I-9central
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Since March 25, 2011, new rules 
interpreting the Americans With 
Disability Act (ADA) Amendments 
Act of 2008 (ADAAA) have been 
in effect. Many good articles are 
available on the Internet concerning 
those rules, but to summarize, it is 
easier for an employee or applicant to 

show they 
have a 
protected 
disability, 
and the 

focus now is on whether an employer 
made or could have made a reasonable 
accommodation for the disability in 
question. The text of the final rules 
is at http://www.federalregister.
gov/articles/2011/03/25/2011-6056/
regulations-to-implement-the-equal-
employment-provisions-of-the-
americans-with-disabilities-act-as, and 
the Equal Employment Opportunity 
Commission's (EEOC) question and 
answer page is at http://www.eeoc.
gov/laws/regulations/ada_qa_final_
rule.cfm. A special resource for small 
businesses trying to comply with the 
ADAAA is at http://www.eeoc.gov/
laws/regulations/adaaa_qa_small_
business.cfm.

Another EEOC Alert
EEOC has held meetings recently 

showing that the agency is scrutinizing 
a problem that observers are noticing 
more and more: the refusal to hire 
those who are unemployed. Many 
at the agency and some outside 
observers have indicated that since 
unemployment has hit minorities 
particularly hard, refusing to hire 
applicants simply because they are 
unemployed could be seen as having 
a disparate impact on minorities and 
thus potentially in violation of Title 
VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. 
In a similar vein, some at EEOC feel 
that failing to hire those who are 
seen as over-qualified tends to have 
a disparate impact on older workers, 

which is potentially a violation of the 
Age Discrimination in Employment 
Act. The best advice would be to focus 
on job-related skills, abilities, and 
fit, and be as careful as possible that 
various forms of bias do not appear to 
influence the hiring decision.

New Wage and Hour 
Regulations from DOL

On April 5, 2011, the U.S. 
Department of Labor released its final 
regulations amending Parts 516, 531, 
553, 778, 779, 780, 785, 786, and 790 
of the wage and hour regulations. Most 
employers will notice changes in Part 
531 (governing wage payments) and 
Part 778 (overtime pay). In Part 531, 
the revised regulations on tip credits 
provide that employers must give 
written notice of the tip credit and any 
tip-pooling arrangement in advance of 
the work; the tip credit for employees 
participating in a tip pool is limited to 
the amount of tips actually received 
by each employee. In Part 778, DOL 
comments for 29 C.F.R. § 778.114 

indicate that commissions, bonuses, 
and/or other forms of incentive pay are 
incompatible with the “fixed salary, 
fluctuating workweeks” method of 
paying overtime to salaried, non-
exempt employees. The text of the 
new regulations is found in the Federal 
Register at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/
pkg/FR-2011-04-05/pdf/2011-6749.
pdf.

Need to Track Overtime? 
“There’s An App for That”

Speaking of DOL, the agency has 
released a free iPhone and iPod Touch 
app that is intended to help employees 
track their work hours and keep a 
tally on any overtime pay they may 
be earning. According to DOL, the 
app is “a timesheet to help employees 
independently track the hours they 
work and determine the wages they 
are owed. Available in English and 
Spanish, users can conveniently track 
regular work hours, break time, and 
any overtime hours for one or more 
employers. This new technology is 

Legal 
Briefs

EEOC issues new rules for 
2008 ADA Amendments Act 

The U.S. Department of Labor has released a free iPhone and iPod Touch app 
that is intended to help employees track their work hours and keep a tally on any 
overtime pay they may be earning. Creatas Images/ Thinkstock
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http://www.eeoc.gov/laws/regulations/adaaa_qa_small_business.cfm
http://www.eeoc.gov/laws/regulations/adaaa_qa_small_business.cfm
http://www.eeoc.gov/laws/regulations/adaaa_qa_small_business.cfm
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2011-04-05/pdf/2011-6749.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2011-04-05/pdf/2011-6749.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2011-04-05/pdf/2011-6749.pdf
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significant because, instead of relying 
on their employers’ records, workers 
now can keep their own records in 
digital format. This information could 
prove invaluable during a Wage and 
Hour Division investigation when 
an employer has failed to maintain 
accurate employment records.” The 
DOL announcement, including a link 
to the iTunes store where the app 
can be downloaded, is at http://www.
dol.gov/whd/Hightlights/archived.
htm#May9_2011.

Reminder on Workplace 
Poster from the OIEC

The Office of Injured Employee 
Counsel (OIEC) recently issued a 
bulletin reminding employers that are 
covered by workers’ compensation 
insurance that they need to post 
a notice, “Employer’s Notice of 
Ombudsman Program,” at the 
workplace. The poster is available in 
English, Spanish, Vietnamese, and 
Chinese from the OIEC website at 
http://www.oiec.state.tx.us/resources/
employernotice.html. Employers also 
can call 1-866-EZE-OIEC (1-866-393-
6432).

School Districts Facing 
Unemployment Claims

School districts and other 
reimbursing employers facing budget-
related reductions in force should 
be ready for more unemployment 
claims than in past years. There 
are some things to keep in mind. 
Reimbursement liability will hit once 
unemployment benefits are paid out 
to RIF-ed employees, and billing 
will be on a quarterly basis. In terms 
of how many unemployment claims 
to anticipate, there will be a small 
number for second quarter 2011, more 
in the third quarter, and still more 
in the fourth quarter of 2011. The 
reasonable assurance provision will 
not help in cases of those who have 
lost their jobs through a reduction 
in force. However, other eligibility 
requirements such as availability for 
full-time work and medical ability 
to work will apply as usual. Finally, 
if any laid-off district personnel are 
offered suitable work with the district, 

but turn it down, such work refusals 
should be reported to any TWC office 
for investigation.

Unemployment and 
Wage Claims
Unemployment claims

• �Use a termination checklist, 
follow your policies, and be fair.

• �In discharge cases, you must show 
at least two main points:

1.)� a specific final incident of 
misconduct that happened 
close in time to the discharge;  

2.) �that the claimant either knew 
or should have known that 
discharge would occur for 
the reason given.

• �In voluntary leaving cases, focus 
on how the claimant left while 
continued work was still available 
and how a reasonable employee 
otherwise interested in remaining 
employed would not have left for 
the reason given.

Wage claims
•� �Have employees sign a clear, 

written wage agreement 
(that includes commissions 
and bonuses) and follow the 
agreement exactly.

•� �Paid leave, holidays, and 
severance pay, if granted, should 
be handled according to a clear 
written policy or other form of 
agreement.

• �Keep exact records of all days and 
hours worked.

• �Keep good documentation of all 
wages paid and deductions made. 
Never pay wages in cash without 
a signed receipt.

• �Enforce your work schedules, 
because you have to pay for all 
time worked, whether it was 
authorized or not.

• �Never take an employee’s pay 
below minimum wage unless the 
reason for the deduction is one 
that is allowed under the law. 
See the list at http://www.twc.
state.tx.us/news/efte/allowable_
deductions.html.

• �Unless a deduction from pay is 
ordered by a court or required 
or specifically authorized by 

a law, obtain signed written 
authorization from the employee 
before making the deduction.

In all cases:
• �Respond on time to any claim 

notice, ruling, or appeal decision; 
never file a late response or 
appeal.

• �Be as specific as possible and 
supply whatever documentation 
is needed for that type of case, 
such as wage agreements, 
policies, deduction authorizations, 
timesheets, proof of wage 
payments, and so on.

• �Be consistent in your responses, 
appeals, and testimony.

• �Follow the instructions on the 
hearing notice exactly.

• �Have all your evidence organized 
and firsthand witnesses ready for 
the hearing.

• �Make your testimony brief, 
factual, and concise. Hearing 
officers like that!

William T. Simmons
Legal Counsel for 

Chairman Tom Pauken

School districts and other reimbursing 
employers facing budget-related 
reductions in force should be ready 
for more unemployment claims than in 
past years.  George Doyle/ Stockbyte/
Thinkstock

http://www.dol.gov/whd/Hightlights/archived.htm#May9_2011
http://www.dol.gov/whd/Hightlights/archived.htm#May9_2011
http://www.dol.gov/whd/Hightlights/archived.htm#May9_2011
http://www.oiec.state.tx.us/resources/employernotice.html
http://www.oiec.state.tx.us/resources/employernotice.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/allowable_deductions.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/allowable_deductions.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/allowable_deductions.html
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The Patient Protection and 
Affordable Care Act, the federal health 
care reform law, created a tax credit to 
help certain small businesses offset the 
cost of providing health insurance to 
their employees. 

Does my business 
qualify for the tax credit?

Taxable (for profit) and tax-exempt 
(nonprofit) business are eligible if they 
meet the following requirements:

• �Have fewer than 25 full-time 
equivalent (FTE) employees.

Note: Because eligibility is based 
in part on the number of FTEs, not 
the number of individual employees, 
employers with more than 25 workers 
may also qualify if some of their 
workers are part-time.

• �Pay average annual employee 
wages below $50,000.

• �Pay at least half of the insurance 
premiums for employees at the 
single (employee-only) coverage 
rate.

How much is the tax 
credit?

The credit is worth up to 35 percent 
of premium costs for a small business 
in 2010 (25 percent for tax-exempt 
employers). On January 1, 2014, this 
rate increases to 50 percent (35 percent 
for tax-exempt employers). The credit 
is paid on a sliding scale, up to a 
maximum of 35 percent for businesses 
with 10 or fewer full-time equivalent 
employees earning annual average 
wages of $25,000 or less per year. 
Small businesses can claim a tax credit 
for 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013 and for 
any two years after that. For tax years 
2010 to 2013, the maximum credit is 
35 percent of premiums paid by eligible 
small businesses and 25 percent of 
premiums paid by eligible tax-exempt 
organizations.

How do I claim the credit?
Businesses can use the new Form 

8941 (Credit for Small Employer 
Health Insurance Premium) and the 
newly revised Form 990-T (Exempt 
Organization Business Income Tax 
Return) to file for the tax credit. For 
form instructions and more information, 
visit www.irs.gov.

What other protections 
does the health care 
reform law offer 
consumers?

The health care reform law also:
• �Allows consumers to add or keep 

children on their health policies 
until age 26.

• �Allows certain Texans who have 
been uninsured for six months and 
who have pre-existing conditions 
to enroll in the federal Pre-Existing 
Condition Insurance Plan (PCIP).

• �Stops insurance companies from 
denying benefits to children 
younger than 19 because of a pre-
existing condition.

• �Eliminates annual and lifetime 
dollar limits on your coverage 

unless the plan received a waiver.
• �Requires plans to offer some 

important preventive services 
to enrollees without charging 
a copayment, coinsurance, or 
deductible.

• �Ensures the right to appeal to an 
independent entity when the plan 
denies payment for a service or 
treatment.

Source: http://www.
texashealthoptions.com/cp2/documents/
chapfssmallbiz.pdf.

Contact: 1-855-TEX-CHAP 
(1-855-839-2427) or http://www.
texashealthoptions.com/cp2/cpmchap.
html.

The Texas Consumer Health 
Assistance Program (CHAP) is 
operated by the Texas Department 
of Insurance (TDI) to help Texas 
consumers with health insurance 
issues. Texas CHAP is part of a 
network of state consumer assistance 
programs funded by a grant from 
the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services. If you are deaf, 
hard of hearing, or speech-impaired, 
you may contact TDI using a relay 
service.

Information regarding the Small 
Business Healthcare Tax Credit

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (federal health care reform law) 
created a tax credit to help certain small businesses offset the cost of providing 
health insurance to their employees iStockphoto/Thinkstock

http://www.texashealthoptions.com/cp2/documents/chapfssmallbiz.pdf
http://www.texashealthoptions.com/cp2/documents/chapfssmallbiz.pdf
http://www.texashealthoptions.com/cp2/documents/chapfssmallbiz.pdf
http://www.texashealthoptions.com/cp2/cpmchap.html
http://www.texashealthoptions.com/cp2/cpmchap.html
http://www.texashealthoptions.com/cp2/cpmchap.html
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Please join us for an informative, full-day conference 
to help you avoid costly pitfalls when operating 
your business and managing your employees. We 
have assembled our best speakers to discuss state 
and federal legislation, court cases, workforce 
development and other matters of ongoing concern 
to Texas employers.

Topics have been selected based on the hundreds 
of employer inquiry calls we receive each week, 
and include such matters as the Urban Legends 
of Texas Employment Law and the Basics of 
Hiring, Texas and Federal Wage and  Hour Laws, 
Employee Policy Handbooks: Creating Your 
Human Resources Roadmap, Unemployment 
Insurance Hearings and Appeals, and Independent 
Contractors. The registration fee is $85.00 and 
is non-refundable. Seating is limited, so please 
make your reservations early if you plan to attend. 

For more information, go to  
www.texas workforce.org/events.html.

San Marcos . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . Aug. 12, 2011
South Padre . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . Aug. 26, 2011
Houston. .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . Sept. 9, 2011
Waco. .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . Sept. 16, 2011

Make checks payable and mail to:

Texas Business Conference • Texas Workforce Commission • 101 E. 15th Street, Room 0218 •  
Austin, Texas 78778-0001

please print

Seminar choice:

First name	 Initial	 Last name

Name of  Company or Firm

Street Address or P. O. Box

City	 State	 ZIP	 Telephone

Upcoming  
Texas Business  

Conferences
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Texas Business Today is a quarterly publication devoted to 
a variety of topics of interest to Texas employers. The views 
and analyses presented herein do not necessarily represent the 
policies or the endorsement of the Texas Workforce  
Commission. Articles containing legal analyses or opinions 
are intended only as a discussion and overview of the topics  
presented. Such articles are not intended to be a comprehensive 
legal analysis of every aspect of the topics discussed. Due to 
the general nature of the discussions provided, this information 
may not apply in each and every fact situation and should not 
be acted upon without specific legal advice based on the facts 
in a particular case. 

Texas Business Today is provided to employers free of 
charge. If you wish to subscribe to this newsletter or to  
discontinue your subscription, or if you are receiving more 
than one copy or wish to receive additional copies, please write 
to:

Commissioner Representing Employers
101 East 15th Street, Room 630
Austin, Texas 78778-0001

or else send an e-mail to employerinfo@twc.state.tx.us.

For tax and benefits inquiries, e-mail tax@twc.state.tx.us.

Material in Texas Business Today is not copyrighted and 
may be reproduced.

Auxiliary aids and services will be made available upon re-
quest to individuals with disabilities, if requested at least two 
weeks in advance.

Telephone: 1-800-832-9394       (512) 463-2826 
FAX: (512) 463-3196      Web Site: www.texasworkforce.org

E-mail: employerinfo@twc.state.tx.us
Printed in Texas         on recycled paper

Texas 
Business
Today
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