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The Good, the Bad, and the Unknown
 
A large jump in new unemployment claims, especially 
those filed by recently laid off, highly paid workers, 
has battered the Texas unemployment insurance (UI) 
trust fund. The Texas Workforce Commission has al­
ready announced a small deficit tax increase for 
employers in 2002 to keep the fund solvent. And, you 
may have already read or heard news reports that even 
without considering the massive layoffs following 
September’s terrorist attacks, Texas officials project the 
state’s unemployment trust fund could face a shortfall 
of several hundred million dollars in 2002; this could 
trigger a potentially steep tax increase for employers 
in 2003. 

Texas employers will receive their 2002 tax notices in 
December 2001. While final calculations are not yet 
available, to keep the UI trust fund solvent, higher taxes 
will result from an increase in the general tax rate for 
businesses that experienced layoffs during the last 12 
months, the addition of a deficit tax, and an increase in 
the replenishment tax for all employers. 

Along with unemployment insurance taxes, Texas em­
ployers have been contributing .10% of their taxable 
wages to a job training fund, the Smart Jobs Holding 
Fund. (The Texas Legislature passed a law during the 
last session which says the Fund will cease to exist on 
December 31, 2001). Current Texas law requires that 
funds in the Smart Jobs Holding Fund be transferred 
to the UI trust fund if the UI fund falls below an amount 
equal to 1% of the total taxable wages paid in Texas on 
October 1st of each year. 

In September 2001, the Texas Workforce Commission 
projected a shortfall for the UI trust fund of $109.7 
million. Fortunately, Governor Rick Perry and legisla­
tive leaders transferred money from the Smart Jobs 
Holding Fund to the UI trust fund before October 1st . 
Their actions reduced the shortfall to $27.4 million, 
thereby minimizing future tax rate increases for the 
greatest number of Texas employers. 

And, Congress is currently grappling with ways to pro­
vide the States with significant additional funds to 
address increased unemployment benefit needs. It is no 
secret that in recent years, Texas and many other states 
have received far less in federal funds to administer their 
unemployment compensation programs than employ­
ers paid in federal taxes to support such purposes. To 
address that situation, the House of Representatives 
recently passed H.R. 3090, which will now be consid­
ered by the Senate. This bill would provide a “Reed 
Act” distribution of excess funds held in the federal un­
employment trust fund to state unemployment accounts 
of $9.3 billion, of which Texas would receive about 
$644 million. This could help to keep employer taxes 
down in 2003. 

These funds would be directly transferred into the state 
unemployment insurance trust fund, where they would 
be immediately available to provide regular unemploy­
ment insurance benefits for additional claimants; they 
could also decrease a tax hike on employers in 2003 
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and make it unnecessary to borrow from the federal 
loan account. (You may wish to contact both Senators 
Gramm and Hutchison regarding the positive impact 
the unemployment insurance provisions of H.R. 3090 
could have on Texas.) 

Paying state and federal UI taxes can certainly be a 
large expense for a business; that’s the bad news. How­
ever, even in the midst of all this gloom, doom and 
economic turbulence, there is still some encouraging 
news: to a certain extent, this is one tax rate that you 
actually have some control over. How? By the way you 
hire, discipline, fire and manage unemployment claims. 
While state and federal laws prescribe how tax rates 
must be calculated, carefully handling each of these 
activities can have a dramatic impact on whether you 
will pay at the lowest tax rate – which 75% of all Texas 
employers did in 2001 – or at a higher rate. This article 
will focus on concrete suggestions to help you keep your 
tax rates as low as possible. 

First, let’s look at what your state employer tax rate 
means to your business in dollars and cents. In Texas 
today, the minimum UI tax rate is 0.24% which is paid 
on the first $9,000 of each employee’s wages. If that’s 
your tax rate, you will pay $21.60 per employee per 
year in state unemployment taxes. The maximum tax 
rate is currently 6.24%. If that’s your company’s tax 
rate, you will pay $561.60 per employee per year in 
state unemployment taxes. That’s a $540 difference per 
employee between a Texas business paying at the 
lowest and the highest tax rates. 

When an employee successfully draws benefits against 
your account, something called a chargeback occurs – 
and each chargeback has the potential to raise your tax 
rate. Every time your tax rate goes up by .1%, you will 
pay an additional $9 in state UI taxes. As of January 1, 
2001, the weighted average tax rate for all 373,477 
Texas employers was .94%. 

What can you do to try to control these costs? Reduced 
to the very basics, how do you win the claims you should 
be winning? Without question, the federal and state 
unemployment compensation laws are remedial in 
nature and were designed to primarily help workers, 
not employers. There are only a limited number of ways 
a former employee can be disqualified, primarily by 
being fired for engaging in misconduct connected with 
the work or by quitting for personal reasons unrelated 
to the work. If the separation was due to misconduct, 
the employer will have the burden of proving it from 
start to finish. 

To understand the unemployment insurance system in 
Texas, it is critical to understand a few key concepts. 
On the one hand, Texas remains an at-will employment 
state, meaning the employment relationship is indefi­
nite in duration. An employer can fire an employee at 
any time, for a good reason, bad reason, or no reason 
at all, with or without notice. On the other hand, 
federal and state law define who is eligible to receive 
UI benefits after they have been fired. Here in Texas, 
the Legislature has given the Texas Workforce Com­
mission the responsibility of determining which former 
employees will receive UI benefits within the statutory 
framework they have created. While you may have 
perfectly legitimate, business-related reasons for firing 
a worker, to prevail on an unemployment claim, you 
need to be aware of the legislative mandates the agency 
operates under. 

In theory, the laws were designed to help workers who 
are out of work through no fault of their own. For 
example, if you have a layoff due to a work slowdown, 
that’s not misconduct, and your former employees will 
be able to collect unemployment benefits. The same is 
true if an employee is simply unable to do the job to 
your company’s satisfaction – they show up, go through 
training, come to work on time, but the quality of their 
work is never what it should be. Inability is not consid­
ered to be misconduct in either federal or state law, so 
you’ll lose these cases. 

However, there is an entirely different situation when 
an employee has violated your known policies, been 
chronically absent , insubordinate, rude, profane, 
violent, or negligent. These are the types of situations 
in which you can put a winning case for misconduct 
together. This is also one aspect of the employment 
relationship that you can – and must - be in control of 
from start to finish. 

Here are 10 pointers to help you avoid making TWC 
claims harder to win than they already are while saving 
you tax dollars in the process. 

1.	 Hire carefully. Get it right from the start by in­
vesting in the hiring process. Do your homework: 
do background and reference checks and 
preemployment drug screening before putting some­
one on the payroll. Don’t make a bad hire assuming 
you’re going to somehow “fix” it later. Businesses 
must be clearly aware of their goals up front and 
the kinds of skills, people, behaviors and compe­
tencies needed to meet those goals. Once you’ve 
defined your goals, finding the right person to hire 
may require you to interview job candidates longer 
and more often, asking more targeted questions 

2
 



                  

 

 
TBT Fall 2001 

The Good, the Bad, and the Unknown continued
 

about job skills and attitudes and then listening care­
fully to their answers. You’re looking for people 

5. Do not fire an emp loyee when the urge arises. 
Don’t assume that what makes good business sense 

with the skills you need; this includes both such hard 
skills as math, literacy and problem solving, as well 
as “soft” skills such as motivation and attitudes. 

or what “feels right today” will be enough to 
convince TWC to disqualify a claimant or protect 
your account from chargeback. Remember: you’ve 

2. Draft clear policies, get them out to everybody, 
and follow them consistently. Have all employees 

got to prove that the worker was fired for a specific 
act of misconduct connected with the work and that 
he either knew or should have known he could lose 

sign a statement acknowledging that they have 
received and understood those policies, and then 
live with them, every time, with every 

his job for such a reason. Take the time to do your 
homework while you still can. As an “at-will” 
employer, you can always fire a problem employee; 

worker.Clearly explain what the company expects 
of its employees in the simplest and most straight­
forward language possible. If you don’t follow (or 

however, once you’ve done so, you can’t go back 
and put your case together. 

even know) your own progressive disciplinary policy, 
for example, you’ll have an uphill battle showing 
how the claimant was on fair notice that he could 

6. Do not miss a protest or appeal deadline. A late 
protest to the claim notice means that you lose your 
appeal rights, including the right to protest 

lose his job for the reason given. On the other hand, 
failing to provide certain benefits promised in a 
written policy could possibly give an employee not 

chargebacks to your account. A late appeal means 
that TWC may not consider the reasons why a 
person no longer works for you no matter how 

only good cause connected with the work to quit, 
but could also lead to a successful payday law claim 
against you. Companies that carefully draft policies 

compelling your case may be; without jurisdiction, 
TWC must simply dismiss the appeal. It doesn’t 
always seem fair, but unless and until the law is 

and warnings and just as carefully follow what they 
have put in writing are putting themselves into the 
strongest, most defensible legal posture possible. 

changed, this is what employers will be confronted 
with. The solution? Respond to all TWC notices and 
rulings immediately. Treat every envelope from 

3. Document the case against the ex-employee while 
they’re still employed. Document, document, docu-

TWC like a ticking time bomb. If your business is 
going to be closed for an extended period of time 
during the holidays, for example, make sure that 

ment. A simple rule of thumb: if it isn’t in writing, 
the (mis)conduct didn’t happen. All you’ve got then 
is a swearing match. If a claimant denies being 

someone opens the mail at least once a week. 
Empower whoever is responsible for opening the 
mail with the authority to fax an automatic state-

warned or violating your policies and you don’t have 
copies of warnings or attendance records, there’s a 
good chance the claimant will win. If you fired an 

ment of protest to TWC so that you won’t miss the 
appeal deadline. Develop a short form that simply 
says “We protest; more details will follow later,” fill 

employee for policy violations, attendance problems, 
or violating warnings, submit copies of the policy, 
attendance records, or warnings that led to the 

in the specifics of the claim (i.e., the claimant’s name, 
social security number, etc.) and fax it to TWC 
immediately. 

separation. If the termination was due to poor 
performance, provide examples of the shoddy work, 
typos, grammatical or math errors that led to 

7. If you need more time to gather information and 
witnesses or complete an investigation, say so. 

4. 

the separation. 

Do not fire employees without reasonable 

To preserve your appeal rights, simply write a quick 
sentence or two of general protest stating that more 
information will follow later. 

warnings. Unless the misconduct involved is so se­
rious that no reasonable employee could possibly 
expect to commit it even once and still have a job, 

If the person who ordinarily opens the mail is go­
ing out of town or if the office will be closed for 

TWC will look for evidence that the claimant knew 
his job was in jeopardy for the reason given by the 
employer. TWC hearing officers will look to see 

several days, make sure that someone is still assigned 
to open your mail on a daily basis and authorized to 
take prompt action if needed. 

whether the employee had a reasonable chance to 
correct his poor performance or misconduct and 
save his job. Remember: an employee should never 

8. Do not assume that no news is good news. Many 
employers mistakenly assume that if they don’t hear 

be surprised that (or why) they’ve been fired. back from TWC about a ruling or an appeal, the 
claimant has been denied benefits; closely related is 

continued on page 13 
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New Texas Employment Laws
 
The dust from the 77th Session of the Texas Legisla­
ture is beginning to settle. Most of the labor and 
employment law bills that were filed have died leaving 
the employment law landscape in Texas virtually un­
changed. However, a few bills did become law, and 
this article will update employers on some of those 
changes. Unless otherwise noted, all laws became ef­
fective on September 1, 2001. 

WAGE LEGISLATION 

House Bill 533 raised the Texas minimum wage. The 
Texas minimum wage was $3.35 per hour. House Bill 
533 now ties the Texas minimum wage to the Federal 
minimum wage of $5.15 per hour. The Texas mini­
mum wage will rise each time the Federal minimum 
wage rises. 

House Bill 691 requires employers to deduct court 
ordered spousal maintenance (alimony) from the wages 
of employees. An employer is prohibited from refus­
ing to hire or to fire an employee because the employee 
is under a court imposed withholding order. Employ­
ers are required to report to the court when an 
employee subject to a spousal maintenance withhold­
ing order is separated from employment. House Bill 
691 imposes substantial penalties for employer non­
compliance. 

House Bill 2028 amended Chapter 61 of the Texas 
Labor Code. Chapter 61 provides a mechanism for 
employees to file claims for unpaid wages against their 
current or former employers. The Texas Workforce 
Commission (TWC) is required to adjudicate such claims 
and collect unpaid wages. House Bill 2028 indicates 
that when TWC files a lien against the property of an 
employer who has failed to pay wages that are due, the 
lien is superior to any other lien on the same property, 
with the exception of a lien for ad valorem taxes. 

UNEMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION 

House Bill 567 changed the yardstick by which the 
maximum and minimum amounts of unemployment 
benefits are calculated. In the past, benefit amounts 
were determined yearly based on a percentage of the 
Average Weekly Wage for Manufacturing Workers. 
House Bill 567 now requires that maximum and mini­
mum unemployment benefit amounts be calculated each 

year based on a percentage of the Average Weekly Wage 
in Covered Employment. 

House Bill 1109 changed the state unemployment in­
surance tax filing requirements for employers of 
domestic employees. In the past, these employers were 
required, like all other employers covered by unem­
ployment insurance tax filing obligations, to file their 
wage and tax reports on a quarterly basis with TWC. 
House Bill 1109 eases that burden by simply requiring 
employers of domestic employees to file an annual re­
port with TWC. 

House Bill 1757 sets out a separate maximum unem­
ployment insurance tax rate for one type of employer. 
Employers of “crop preparation services for market” 
will pay the lower of their experience tax rate or 5.4 
percent. All other private taxed employers, with the 
exception of cotton-ginning employers, pay their ex­
perience tax rate, which is currently capped at a 
maximum of 6.24 percent. House Bill 1757 also does 
away with the requirement that cotton-ginning employ­
ers must file an annual request in order to receive a 5.4 
percent rate. 
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GENERAL EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION 

House Bill 2600 made numerous changes to the Work­
ers’ Compensation system in Texas. From a general 
employment law perspective, the most important 
change may be the provision dealing with waiver of an 
employee’s right to sue. Under Section 406.033 of the 
Texas Labor Code, employees may sue an employer 
for negligence if they are injured and the employer does 
not have worker’s compensation insurance. The Texas 
Supreme Court recently ruled that nothing in the Texas 
Labor Code prevented an employee from waiving their 
right to sue in exchange for the employer providing 
them with an alternative injury compensation package. 
House Bill 2600 amends Section 406.033 to override 
the Court’s holding. Section 406.033 now makes it clear 
that an employee who is working for an employer who 
has not purchased workers’ compensation insurance may 
not, in advance, waive their right to sue for work-related 
injury or death, regardless of whether the employer is 
providing them with an alternative injury compensation 
package. This bill became effective June 17, 2001. 

House Bill 3473 prohibits an employer of a “profes­
sional” employee from discharging that employee for 
reporting (in good faith) child abuse or neglect. A pro­
fessional employee means an individual who is licensed 
or certified by the state or who is an employee of a 
facility licensed, certified, or operated by the state and 
who, in the normal course of official duties or duties 
for which a license or certification is required, has di­
rect contact with children. The term includes teachers, 
nurses, doctors, day-care employees, employees of a 
clinic or health care facility that provides reproductive 
services, juvenile probation officers, and juvenile de­
tention or correctional officers. Employees who are 
wrongfully terminated under this law have substantial 
legal rights to sue and recover a variety of damages. 

Aaron Haecker 
Attorney at Law 

Texas Business Conference Dates 2001/2002 

Make checks payable and mail to: 

Texas Business Conference • Texas Workforce Commission • 101 E. 15th Street, Room 0218 • Austin, Texas 78778-0001 

please print 

Seminar choice: 

First name Intial Last name 

Name of Company or Firm 

Street Address or P.O. Box 

City State ZIP Telephone 

Please join us for an informative, full-
day conference to help you avoid costly
pitfalls when operating your business 
and managing your employees. We
have assembled our best speakers to
discuss state and federal legislation, 
court cases,workforce development
and other matters of ongoing concern
to Texas employers. 

Topics have been selected based on the
hundreds of employer inquiry calls we 
receive each week, and include such 

matters as the Texas Payday Law, the 
Unemployment Insurance Hearing
Process, Workers’ Compensation, Hir­
ing, Firing, Sexual Harassment and 
Policy Handbooks. To keep costs
down, lunch will be on your own. The
registration fee is $75 and is non-re­
fundable. Seating is limited, so please
make your reservations immediately if
you plan to attend. 

For more information, go to
www.texasworkforce.org/events.html

Te
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nc
e • Galveston - November 30, 2001 

• Dallas - December 5, 2001 
• South Padre - January 31 - Feb. 1, 2002 
• Beaumont - February 22, 2002 
• Austin - March 1, 2002 
• Lubbock - April 19, 2002 
• Tyler - June 28, 2002 

5
 



                  TBT Fall 2001 

Advanced Strategies for Success in 
Unemployment Hearings 
The essence of the employment relationship is that an 
employer exercises direction and control over employ­
ees; this includes the right to fire an employee at any time, 
for any reason that does not violate an employment con­
tract or have a discriminatory purpose. However, the 
employment relationship changes dramatically once a 
worker is fired and becomes a claimant by filing an unem­
ployment claim. At that point, state statute controls, at 
least to the extent of determining whether the claimant 
will receive benefits and if your account will be subject to 
chargeback. Your success in the appeals process depends 
on your ability to understand the laws the Texas Workforce 
Commission is charged by the legislature to interpret when 
determining which claimants will receive benefits. Please 
recognize that due process requires TWC to always allow 
the claimant an opportunity to contradict any facts you 
present, and you must anticipate and expect that the claim­
ant will contradict your version of the work separation. 
Here are some examples: 

Employer:  “We fired him because he had a bad 
attitude.” 
TWC (to claimant): “Did you have bad attitude?” 
Claimant: “No. In fact, my attitude was excellent.” 

Employer: “We fired the claimant for excessive absence
 
and unacceptable attendance.”
 
TWC (to claimant): “Were you excessively absent?”
 
Claimant: “No.”
 
TWC: “Was your attendance acceptable?”
 
Claimant: “My attendance was excellent.”
 

Employer: “We fired him because he committed a viola­
tion of our policies.”
 
TWC (to claimant): “Did you violate the policy?”
 
Claimant (response #1): “I did not violate the policy.”
 
Claimant (response #2): “I did what they say I did, but I
 
didn’t know that there was a policy.”
 
Claimant (response #3): I did what they say I did, and I
 
knew about the policy, but I was just following my
 
supervisor’s instructions.”
 

Employer: “We fired him because of numerous customer
 
complaints.”
 
TWC: “What were the complaints?”
 
Employer: “The customers said the claimant was rude
 
and drove our vehicle recklessly.”
 
TWC (to claimant): “Were you rude and driving
 
recklessly?”
 
Claimant: “No.”
 
TWC: (to employer): “Are your customers available to
 

give a statement about what they saw the claimant do?” 
Employer: “No.” 

In each of these situations, the claimant would likely be 
paid benefits based on a lack of evidence to support a 
disqualification. Success in unemployment hearings re­
quires you to anticipate that the claimant will deny any 
misconduct. Your task then is to present evidence to over­
come the claimant’s denials. The savvy employer recognizes 
that it is impossible to obtain evidence after the work sepa­
ration occurs. Therefore, you must realize the risks 
involved if you discharge an employee before you have 
sufficient evidence to prevail in a hearing. 

EASY CASES 

Regular readers of Texas Business Today and all employers 
experienced in TWC’s unemployment appeals process 
know all too well the value of firsthand testimony, or tes­
timony based on personal observation. Any witness who 
can truthfully testify under oath in a hearing that the wit­
ness personally observed the claimant’s conduct that caused 
the discharge is essential to the employer’s success at the 
hearing. These are the easy cases: employers who have 
firsthand witnesses present the witnesses at the unemploy­
ment hearings and enjoy a high rate of success. But what 
about the employers who simply don’t have firsthand tes­
timony to prove the claimant’s bad acts? 

HARD CASES 

The reality of today’s workplace is that many workers are 
not subject to continuous, direct supervision. The most 
common form of evidence is circumstantial evidence. You 
didn’t actually watch the employee commit the bad act, 
but you’ve reviewed documentation, and the employee 
has been warned in the past for the same bad conduct. 
You’re convinced that the employee committed the bad 
act, but you also know that the employee will deny to 
TWC any wrongdoing. What’s an employer to do? 

One consideration is how you choose to tell your “story.” 
Consider an employee who is given an assignment of call­
ing five customers on the telephone. The employee leaves 
work without finishing the assignment. This worker has 
been warned before for failing to complete work. You’re 
free to tell TWC that the worker was discharged for fail­
ing to complete assigned work, but the worker may readily 
admit that the work was unfinished at the end of the day. 
This is not the end of our analysis: we will always go on to 
ask the worker: “Why did you fail to complete the work?” 
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“WITHIN THE REALM OF ALL POSSIBILITY” 

You must recognize that there often exists within the 
realm of all possibility a legitimate explanation for al­
most any bad conduct a worker could commit. In the 
current example, the worker could simply claim that 
the worker didn’t complete the assignment of calling 
five customers because the worker was serving other 
customers. The worker doesn’t work under immediate 
supervision, so you have no way to disprove the worker’s 
statement. A worker who fails to call customers because 
he’s busy serving other customers will probably not be 
held to have committed misconduct. 

CHANGING YOUR STORY 

Tell a story that leaves the worker little or no opportu­
nity to present a legitimate explanation for his actions. 
“We fired him because he left without telling anyone in 
authority that his assignment of calling five customers 
was not finished.” The story has changed: it is now much 
harder for the worker to explain why he left work with­
out at least letting someone know that the assignment 
was not finished. Nobody can reasonably expect a 
worker to complete ten hours of work in an eight-hour 
shift. But no worker should be excused from the 

expectation to report to a supervisor before leaving 
for the day and say: “I didn’t complete the assignment.” 

NOT QUITE FINISHED 

You should complete the entire analysis laid out above 
before you discharge a worker. You’ve outlined an ac­
curate story that the worker can’t reasonably wiggle 
out of, but you’re not yet ready to discharge the worker. 
With an observer present, sit the worker down and ask 
why the assignment wasn’t completed and why the 
worker didn’t tell someone in authority before leaving. 
It’s entirely possible that the worker will tell you that a 
supervisor told the worker not to complete the assign­
ment and that the supervisor had already checked with 
you. Before going any further, you may confirm that 
the worker is telling you the truth, and suddenly this 
worker is no longer your problem. Instead, you may 
have to discipline a supervisor! 

The two key points at this stage are to have an ob­
server present and ask the worker to explain the worker’s 
actions before you carry out the discharge. The pres­
ence of the observer provides you with the evidence to 
prove what was said between you and the worker. You 
and your observer can corroborate each other’s ver­
sion of the discharge meeting. Offering the worker a 
chance to explain the situation gives you information 
that may stop you from carrying out the discharge, or 
it gives you the evidence you’ll need later at a hearing, 
specifically that the worker was given a chance to ex­
plain and could offer no legitimate reason for his 
actions. 

Finally, recognize that this situation will play out in your 
favor only if you gave the original assignment the right 
way. Give the worker a deadline and tell the worker 
what’s expected if the deadline won’t be met: “Talk to 
me before you leave if you don’t call all five of these 
customers.” 

“I WATCHED HIM STEAL” 

No reasonable employer would stand idly by and do 
nothing but watch as an employee stole the employer’s 
property. Nevertheless, many employers believe that 
an employee has stolen, and they want to fire that 
worker. The worker will never openly admit to a TWC 
hearing officer that he stole your property. The 
employer’s statement that the claimant stole the 
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employer’s property, based on nothing more than cir­
cumstantial evidence, will not support a disqualification. 

Consider the worker who carries out the following theft. 
The worker’s job duties include completing documenta­
tion used to produce a custom-made product for 
customers. The worker is also responsible to complete 
documentation used to charge the customers later when 
they pick up their finished order. However, the worker 
doesn’t complete the second half of the documentation 
for the customers who happen to be the worker’s own 
family members. As a result, the worker’s family takes de­
livery of the finished products without making payment. 

In a case like this, the evidence will be in the form of the 
documentation produced by the fired worker to show that 
the worker knew how to correctly complete all of the docu­
mentation for any given transaction. Additionally, there 
will be documentation to show that the worker failed to 
collect payment from the worker’s family members. And 
notice the most important aspect of this example: your 
story. This is not an example of a worker who is fired for 
stealing. This worker is fired for the offense of failing to 
carry out the worker’s job duty of completing required 
documentation for a routine sale transaction. 

TRAIN A TWC WORKER TODAY 

Employers often fail to recognize that their operations 
are in no way “standard.” Also, it’s not the job of a TWC 
claims examiner or hearing officer to know how every 

Texas employer conducts business. That makes it your 
job to quickly explain the relevant parts of your business 
so that our employees can understand the acts of the claim­
ant that brought about the discharge. Provide us with 
copies of your production reports, audit forms, sales sum­
maries, or any other documents that will allow us to 
understand your business. Don’t assume it’s obvious, be­
cause it’s not. If you have to train new workers when they’re 
hired, you’ll have to train us too. Only if we know how 
your business works will we be able to conclude, like you, 
that a claimant’s conduct was misconduct. 

THE END OF THE BEGINNING 

This article is only the beginning. The important points 
to remember are that you must obtain your evidence 
before you actually carry out a discharge. Also, the way 
you tell your story can completely change the outcome of 
any given case. If you don’t know how to present the facts 
of your case in a way that tells a story of misconduct, please 
call our office immediately at 800-832-9394 and speak to 
one of our staff attorneys. Many employers who do this 
find out that they don’t have the facts necessary to prove 
misconduct, and they’re left to issuing a warning and put­
ting a worker back to work. That might not be the best 
outcome, but it’s always better than being charged for an 
unemployment claim when you discharge a worker and 
can’t prove misconduct. Future articles will cover other 
advanced strategies for unemployment hearings. 

Jonathan Babiak 
Attorney at Law 

Breaking News: Free New Service Allows Employers 
to file Quarterly Tax and Wage Reports Online 
Paying taxes isn’t anyone’s favorite task. However, the 
Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) has developed 
an electronic payment service that will at least make it 
somewhat more convenient. The Payment Online Sys­
tem is a free service that enables employers to submit 
quarterly tax payments to TWC by using the Automated 
Clearing House debit. Employers who file their quar­
terly tax and wage reports electronically will no longer 
have to mail in their remittance to TWC to complete 
the quarterly filing process. 

Before using this new system, you must become a mem­
ber of the Employer Tax Information Online System. 
Registration is free, and once you have registered, you 
will receive a logon ID and password in the mail. To 

register as a new online user, visit the agency’s website 
at www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/tax/payonline.html and follow 
the instructions set out there. To register by phone, 
please call (512) 463-2699. 

For security purposes, the registration confirmation, 
along with your new logon ID and password, will be 
mailed to your employer address of record within 3 to 
5 business days. For additional information, view the 
“Things You Should Know About Payment Online” 
page at the agency’s website, www.texasworkforce.com. 

If you have suggestions on how we can better serve 
you, please do not hesitate to e-mail the Tax Depart­
ment at tax_dept@twc.state.tx.us. 
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Observations from the Dais – Fall 2001
 
Dear Texas Employers, 

The thoughts and prayers of all of us at the Texas Workforce Commission are with everyone who was touched by 
the tragic events of September 11, 2001. To any of you who were personally affected, we send our deepest 
condolences; you are in our hearts. 

Having said that, I must tell you that I never cease to be amazed by the hard work, creativity, and positive 
contributions Texas employers make to the State and its people – in good times and bad. Yes, we have recently 
seen higher unemployment rates and a roller coaster ride on Wall Street. However, this is still a very good time to 
be in Texas, thanks in large part to your efforts. I firmly believe that we still have every reason to be optimistic 
about our future. 

The Texas Workforce Network recently held its fifth annual workforce and economic development conference, 
“Better Together” in Houston. There were over 1200 attendees from all over the state. As a tribute to Texas 
businesses, it was truly a pleasure for me to participate in an awards ceremony honoring a number of Texas 
employers for their contributions to the Texas Workforce Network and their local communities. Today, as al­
ways, the key to the success of the workforce system is the involvement of employers throughout the state in 
providing direction to shape the system. In effect, these awards are the Texas Workforce Network’s way of saying 
“Thank you” for a job well done to Texas employers who are helping us improve the state’s workforce develop­
ment system. 

There were 28 regional winners of the 2001 Employer Awards of Excellence, each selected by their local workforce 
development boards. And, there were three statewide winners and one overall statewide winner – the 2001 Em­
ployer of the Year. The state level categories were: 

Texas Current Workforce Award of Excellence 
Texas Future Workforce Award of Excellence 
Texas Transitional Workforce Award of Excellence 
2001 Employer of the Year 

The statewide award winners and their 
nominating workforce boards are: 

Medical Plastics Laboratory, Inc. 
Texas Current Workforce Award of Excellence 
Central Texas Workforce Development Board 

KARLEE – Texas Future Workforce 
Award of Excellence 
WorkSource for Dallas County 

Ron-Bar, Inc. – Texas Transitional Workforce 
Award of Excellence 
West Central Texas Workforce Development Board 

Seton HealthcareNetwork/St. David’s HealthCare 
Partnership 
2001 Employer of the Year 
Capital Area Workforce Development Board 

It is my privilege to announce the 2001 recipients of the 
Employer Award of Excellence and the local workforce 
boards that nominated them: 

Advanced CallCenter Technologies 
Cameron Works 

Applied Materials, Inc. 
Capital Area Workforce Development Board 

Betty Hardwick Center 
West Central Texas Workforce Development Board 

The Boeing Company 
Upper Rio Grande Workforce Development Board 

Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Texas 
Concho Valley Workforce Development Board 

Budget Rent a Car Corporation 
North Texas Workforce Development Board 
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BWXT Pantex 
Panhandle Workforce Development Board 

Cargill Turkey Products 
Heart of Texas Workforce Development Board 

CitiCorp Data Systems 
Alamo Workforce Development, Inc. 

Cooper Power Systems 
Deep East Texas Workforce Development Board 

Cornell Corrections 
Permian Basin Workforce Development Board 

Doctor’s Hospital of Laredo 
South Texas Workforce Development Board 

Halliburton Services 
East Texas Workforce Development Board 

H.E. Butt Grocery Company 
Coastal Bend Workforce Development Board 

Heldenfels Enterprises, Inc. 
Rural Capital Area Workforce Development Board, Inc. 

Integrated Health Services, Inc. 
Tarrant County Workforce Development Board 
dba Work Advantage 

KARLEE 
WorkSource for Dallas County 

KGBT Radio 1530 AM La Primera 
Lower Rio Grande Valley Workforce 
Development Board 

Madisonville State Bank 
Brazos Valley Workforce Development Board 

Nextel 
Central Texas Workforce Development Board 

NTS Communications 
South Plains Workforce Development Board 

Spherion Workforce Architects 
Golden Crescent Workforce Development Board 

Spherion 
Southeast Texas Workforce Development Board 

TCIM Services, Inc. 
North East Texas Workforce Development Board 

Texoma Healthcare System 
Workforce Texoma 

TYCO/Healthcare/Kendall-Commerce 
North Central Texas Workforce Development Board 

The University of Texas Medical Branch – Galveston 
The WorkSource – Gulf Coast Workforce Board 

Val Verde Correctional Facility 
Middle Rio Grande Workforce Development Board 

Congratulations to all 2001 Winners! 

Sincerely, 

Ron Lehman Commissioner Representing Employers 
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Legal Briefs – Fall 2001:
 
How Much Will Employment-Related Discrimination 
Cost In the Future? There’s Good News and Bad News 

When all is said and done, the vast majority of employ­
ment-related lawsuits come down to one thing: money. 
Just how many dollars in damages a plaintiff may re­
cover in this type of litigation is a critical concern to 
businesses all over the country. 

The United States Supreme Court recently issued a pair 
of decisions which address two very important types of 
damages: “front pay” and punitive damages. The good 
news for employers: the Court instructed the nation’s 
federal appeals courts to closely examine the punitive 
damages a judge or jury have awarded. The bad news: 
the justices ruled that “front pay” awarded to a worker 
under federal discrimination law is outside the cap on 
damages. This second ruling serves to increase employ­
ers’ financial exposure in these lawsuits; it may also 
encourage additional lawsuits because of the possibility 
of higher damages for a victorious plaintiff. 

Front Pay: How the Debate Began 

Prior to 1991, employees who successfully sued for 
employment discrimination in federal court could re­
cover such remedies as lost benefits, back pay, 
reinstatement and attorneys’ fees. Frequently, courts 
also awarded “front pay” to cover the period of time 
between the judgement and the worker actually being 
reinstated. In particularly acrimonious cases in which 
reinstating a worker to their former job was simply not 
an option, courts often awarded front pay for some 
period of time after the judgment while the worker 
looked for another job. 

In 1991, Congress amended the Civil Rights Act to ex­
pand the types of damages available in these cases to 
include punitive damages (intended to punish an em­
ployer for engaging in discriminatory behavior and to 
deter others from doing the same) and compensatory 
damages (for pain and suffering). A limit or cap was set 
on these types of damages (increasing with the size of 
the employer) up to a maximum of $300,000. There 
are a number of types of damages specifically enumer­
ated as covered by the cap including, “future pecuniary 
losses, emotional pain, suffering, inconvenience, men­
tal anguish, loss of enjoyment of life and other 
nonpecuniary losses.” However, the amendments also 
state that punitive and compensatory damages are “in 
addition to” any previously available relief. 

A thorny (and potentially expensive) question quickly 
arose: where does front pay fall in this new scenario? 
Was it a “future pecuniary loss” that would be governed 
by the $300,000 maximum, or was it a “previously au­
thorized remedy,” meaning it would be outside the cap? 
The recent Supreme Court decision demonstrates just 
how important this unresolved issue can be to an em­
ployer in dollars and cents. 

The Facts 

Sharon Pollard, a manager for E.I. du Pont de Nemours 
and Company, filed a lawsuit alleging that she had been 
subjected to such severe sexual harassment in the work­
place that she was forced to take a medical leave of 
absence to seek psychological treatment. She went on 
to contend that she was fired when she refused to come 
back to work in the same hostile environment. 

After trial, the judge awarded Ms. Pollard $300,000 
for emotional distress (the maximum dollar amount of 
compensatory damages allowable under federal law), 
$253,000 in attorneys’ fees, and $107,000 in back pay. 
Ms. Pollard asserted that she should also be entitled to 
$800,000 in front pay. The judge ruled that although 
“the $300,000 award is, in fact, insufficient to compen­
sate (Ms. Pollard),” the cap covered front pay; he 
therefore denied her request. The Sixth Circuit Court 
of Appeals upheld the trial court’s ruling, and Ms. Pol-
lard then appealed to the U.S. Supreme Court. Last 
year, the Court agreed to consider whether Ms. Pol-
lard might be entitled to an extra $800,000 in damages. 

What the Court Just Did to Broaden Employers’ 
Exposure 

In a unanimous, 8-0 ruling, the Court held that front 
pay is outside the cap; they therefore sent the case back 
to the trial judge to reconsider Ms. Pollard’s request 
for additional damages. The Court acknowledged that 
“future pecuniary losses” could appear to include lost 
wages suffered after a judgment was rendered. How­
ever, it ruled that congressional intent in passing the 
amendments in 1991 was to create additional remedies 
for employees who had been illegally discriminated against. 
The justices concluded that placing front pay within the 
cap could limit the availability of those damages. 

The Court further reasoned that front pay is quite simi­
lar to back pay – which is expressly excluded from the 
cap. The justices noted that under the National Labor 
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Relations Act, back pay is usually considered to include 
the period of time after a judgment is rendered and 
until the worker is reinstated in their job. Pollard v. E.I. 
du Pont de Nemours & Company No. 00-763, U.S. Su­
preme Court (June 4, 2001). 

Punitive Damages To Get a Harder Look 

Although the facts in the second crucial decision recently 
issued by the Supreme Court did not specifically in­
volve an employment-related lawsuit, the case did 
involve a matter capable of striking terror in the most 
stalwart of employers: punitive damages. In reality, 
given the fact that some states (including Texas) do not 
cap the amount of damages available under state law 
coupled with the notoriously unpredictable nature of 
juries, punitive damages may very well constitute an 
employer’s greatest financial nightmare. 

Cooper Industries, Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group, Inc.,No. 
99-2035, U.S. Supreme Court (Mary 14, 2001) pre­
sented the question of how closely a federal appellate 
court should scrutinize a lower court’s award of puni­
tive damages. In the past, many courts have ruled that 
these awards should be reviewed only for “abuse of dis­
cretion;” this is a standard under which an award of 
punitive damages was seldom overturned. 

The Supreme Court has now instructed federal appel­
late judges to examine punitive damages more closely. 
The justices held that federal appellate courts must en­
gage in a “thorough, independent review” of the 
punitive damages if the defending party asserts that the 
damages violate constitutional guarantees (such as the 
prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment and 
excessive fines). 

The Bottom Line for Texas Employers 

The good news: the Supreme Court just gave employ­
ers a fighting chance to challenge excessive punitive 
damages on appeal. The bad news: the front pay issue 
has clearly been resolved in favor of workers and could 
make employment lawsuits even more expensive than 
they already are for employers. 

Until now, the Court had not addressed the issue of 
whether front pay was outside the $300,000 cap; this 
meant employers could at least argue that there was a 
limit on the damages that could be recovered in 

federal court, especially for purposes of negotiating a 
settlement. That strategy has been totally eliminated. 
And, it may become far more difficult to even reach a 
settlement given employees’ (and their attorneys’) 
heightened expectations of monetary recovery. 

There is no question that excluding front pay from the 
cap has just added a whole new element of uncertainty 
to employment-related lawsuits for employers. The ac­
tual amount of front pay may be extremely difficult to 
calculate; this will be especially true if the worker al­
leges that they cannot go back to work. This means 
that the front pay award may range from a relatively 
small amount to the $800,000 (or more) Ms. Pollard 
alleges she is entitled to. 

Prevention: Once Again, The Best Course of Action 

If Ms. Pollard’s employer had taken the time to address 
her very serious allegations of sexual harassment and 
act on them while they had the chance to do so, this 
expensive, time consuming litigation never would have 
happened. Not only did they ignore her complaints, 
they fired her for refusing to return to work in the 
same hostile environment. The only safe policy is one 
of zero tolerance for all types of illegal discrimination. 
Not only is it absolutely critical to have written policies 
prohibiting illegal discrimination in your workplace, it 
is vital to actually follow them. 

In addition to a clearly written policy, a serious anti­
harassment/anti-discrimination effort must also include 
taking a hard look at the image and the corporate cul­
ture of the company. Too often, employers spend 
thousands of dollars and many hours drafting a written 
policy while totally ignoring what’s really going on in 
the workplace on a daily basis. Corporate culture and 
reality must mirror the organization’s self-proclaimed 
dedication to eradicating all forms of harassment. As 
we have recently learned, to do any less could be a whole 
lot more expensive in the future. 

Renée M. Miller 
Attorney at Law 

find out more about our services at 
www.texasworkforce.org 
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The Good, the Bad, and the Unknown continued
 
the problem of failing to act immediately once no­ als who actually saw and heard what led up to the 
tice arrives that a former employee is receiving 
benefits or that your tax rate has increased unex­

termination available to testify at the hearing. 

pectedly. There may be a problem with the mail 10. Prepare thoroughly and participate fully in all hear-
system or with how TWC handled getting notice of ings. The Appeal Tribunal hearing is not a dress 
the claim to you that would excuse a late response. rehearsal; in fact, it is your only opportunity to fully 
However, once you have actual notice of a claim or present your case. If you miss the hearing, you may 
a chargeback, the appeal deadlines start to run. The 
solution: don’t hesitate to inquire about what hap-

not have any chance to be heard. Provide copies of 
any and all exhibits you want to introduce into evi­

pened with a claim. If you respond to a claim notice dence in advance to both the hearing officer and the 
but don’t get a ruling, or receive notice that a former former employee. And, although it may temporarily 
employee is drawing benefits, call TWC immedi­ disrupt business to pull key firsthand witnesses away 
ately and ask why. If any of these inquiries show from their work to testify in a UI hearing, it is better 
that benefits are going to a former employee who 
arguably should have been disqualified, you should 

than an almost certain loss in the case. Think about it: 
which presents the bigger burden, letting someone else 

write TWC a letter immediately, explain that you cover for the witness during the hearing or losing the 
never received the ruling, and request a hearing. case and receiving chargebacks that can increase the 

company’s tax rate for three years to come? Most hear­
9. Present your best (firsthand) witnesses at all TWC ings are now held by telephone, allowing witnesses to 

hearings.  Like the rest of the American legal 
system, TWC gives the greatest weight to firsthand 

participate by phone from remote locations; hopefully, 
this makes taking testimony from even the busiest wit-

testimony from witnesses who have direct, personal nesses more practical. 
knowledge of the events leading to the discharge 
or resignation. Remember that every single claim- Following these pointers won’t guarantee that you’ll 
ant that you fire will be able to give firsthand win every claim filed against you; the law simply 
testimony: they’re under oath and they’re talking 
about what they experienced. While their version 

doesn’t work that way. However, consistently prac­
ticing common sense, following your written policies, 

of the facts may be very different from any scenario and consulting legal counsel when in doubt will re-
you can recall, secondhand testimony based on duce your chances of losing a case unnecessarily. 
reports from others won’t be worth much in the face Avoiding the types of problems mentioned above 
of uncontradicted denials of guilt from the claim- will also help you avoid trouble with even more se-
ant. Don’t have the president of the company 
participate in the hearing to show how important 

rious matters such as wrongful discharge lawsuits, 
allegations of employment discrimination, and em-

you consider the matter to be or unleash the HR ployment tort liability. 
director with a wagon load of documents unless 
they’ve also got eyewitness information. Have the Renée M. Miller 
supervisor, manager, co-workers or other individu- Attorney at Law 

BUSINESS BRIEFSFall 2001
 
Age Discrimination Claims on the Rise 

After steadily declining during the 1990’s, age discrimi­
nation claims have risen sharply according to the U.S. 
Bureau of Labor Statistics. These charges declined from 
19,800 in 1993 to 14,000 in 1999. However, in 2000, 
age-based complaints jumped to 16,000, a 13.2% in­
crease. And, in the first six months of the current fiscal 
year, such charges climbed another 15.4% to about 
9,300 compared to 8,250 during the same time period 
last year. 

Workers who have been fired or temporarily laid off 
file about half of all age discrimination complaints. “If 
you do look at the trends, you’ll note that the number 
of age cases we have will increase when there are sig­
nificant numbers of layoffs,” according to Paul Boymel, 
a senior attorney in the Equal Employment Opportu­
nity Commission’s Office of Legal Counsel. 

According to the labor statistics bureau, older workers 
in long-term employment tend to lose their jobs at a 
higher rate than their younger counterparts. For ex­
ample, among workers who were 55 or older who had 

13
 



                  

 
TBT Fall 2001 

BUSINESS BRIEFS continued
 
been in their jobs at least three years, approximately 
5% lost their jobs in the late 1990’s. Compare this to 
3.5% of the youngest workers who lost their jobs. 

These claims are filed pursuant to the Older Workers 
Benefit Protection Act of 1990 which is targeted at 
workers 40 and older. The Act requires employers to 
provide employees with age-specific information about 
who will remain on the job after early-retirement 
buyouts or layoffs and who is let go. The law goes into 
effect when businesses ask workers to sign an agree­
ment not to sue the company in exchange for a more 
generous severance package. Workers are given 45 days 
and the age data to decide whether they will sign the waiver 
or if they believe they have the basis for a lawsuit. 

Layoffs Affect All Industries 

While layoffs in the high tech sector have gotten most 
of the public attention and headlines in 2001, workforce 
reductions have actually been higher in the “old­
economy” sectors since 1997 according to a recently 
released survey by the outplacement firm of Challenger, 
Gray and Christmas. 

The study reveals that computer, electronics, e-com­
merce and telecommunications are among the top five 
job cutting industries this year. High tech firms cut 
267,907 jobs; this represents 41% of the total nation­
wide job cuts in 2001. However, while tech-related 
businesses lead in job cutting for 2001, they are re­
sponsible for only 20% of all total layoffs since 1997. 

Given the graying of the country’s workforce, these 
claims may very well continue to increase in the future 
as more and more workers are covered by the Act. The 
median age of the American workforce has risen from 
35.6 years old in the early 1980’s to 39.2 years in 2000. 
The median age will reach 41 years by 2008 according 
to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 

The firm analyzed more than 3 million job reductions 
between 1997 and May 2001. The retail industry was the 
leading job-cutting sector during that time, eliminating 
285,846 positions. The automotive, industrial goods, fi­
nancial and computer businesses complete the top five 
job-cutting sectors during the time period studied. 

According to John A. Challenger, the firm’s chief ex­
ecutive officer, the study indicates that overall, 
technology has been more stable than other industries 
since 1997: “The recent uptick in high-tech job cuts 
notwithstanding, this is still largely considered a growth 
industry. As a society, we are becoming more and more 
reliant on technology and all the conveniences associ­
ated with it. As a result, the technology industry will 
continually need highly skilled workers.” 

The study points to an April 2001 survey by the Infor­
mation Technology Association of America reporting 
425,000 unfilled information technology jobs in the 
U.S. as evidence of the ongoing demand for skilled tech-
workers. While that figure is nearly 50% lower than in 
2000, Challenger contends that the previous demand 
will resume once the current economic slump ends. 

Renée M. Miller
 
Attorney at Law
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The Voluntary Contribution Option – Is it Right For Your Company?
 

Here’s some hopeful news for Texas employers and their 
tax rates: businesses have the possibility of lowering 
their state unemployment tax rate by voluntarily pay­
ing in all or a portion of their share of the benefits paid 
to former employees. In return, their tax rate will be 
recalculated. 

The Texas Workforce Commission will inform employ­
ers of their 2002 tax rate in mid-December 2001. Those 
businesses with chargebacks to their accounts will be 
able to analyze their particular situation to determine 
if it is cost effective to exercise the voluntary contribu­
tion option. An application for voluntary contribution 
will accompany the rate notice for accounts that have 
been charged with unemployment benefits during the 
three-year computation period from October 1, 1998 
through September 30, 2001. 

Any Texas employer that wishes to participate in this 
program will have 30 days to submit an election along 
with the desired reimbursement. The necessary adjust­
ments will be made and a new rate notice recognizing the 
effects from the voluntary contribution will be issued. 

To determine how a voluntary contribution could ben­
efit your company, you will need to examine where the 
break-even point occurs. The break-even point is found 
when the savings from a reduced tax rate equal a vol­
untary contribution. To better illustrate how a voluntary 
contribution works, consider these facts. 

First, it might be prudent for a business (with unem­
ployment claims drawn only in 2001) to lower their 
general tax rate to zero. By buying back all of the 
charges, it is possible to break even in the first or 
second year while continuing to benefit by paying at 
the minimum rate through the third year. This example 
assumes that no additional unemployment benefits are 
drawn subsequent to the election to participate. 

Second, in some cases buying back 100% of the unem­
ployment benefits drawn over a three-year period may 
simply not be cost-effective. However, in that case, an 
employer could elect to buy back a portion of those 
claims to reduce their tax rate. By following the 
instructions on the back of the voluntary contribution 
election form or visiting our website (http:// 
www.texasworkforce.org/ui/tax/uitaxrates.html), an 
employer can calculate the smallest voluntary contri­
bution necessary to lower their general tax rate in 
increments of 0.10%. Since a voluntary contribution is 
applied to the most recent quarterly charges first, it is 
possible for this allocation to help reduce subsequent 
annual rate computations. It is not, however, an abso­
lute factor. 

Every employer account is unique and each situation 
will require careful review to determine the optimum 
results. For more information on voluntary contribu­
tions, please call us at (512) 463-2756, fax your questions 
to (512) 475-1221, or visit our website, 
texasworkforce.org. 

Seminar TapesSeminar TapesSeminar Tapes
If you would like to receive an informative five-videotape set of the 2000 
Texas Business Conference sessions, please make your $30 check payable 
and mail to: 

The tapes cover Federal and Texas Wage and Hour Law, Unemployment Compensation, Taxes 
and Tax Credits, Firing and Employment Policies.  Please allow up to six weeks for delivery. 

Controller - TBC Videos 
Texas Workforce Commission, Room 0218

 101 E. 15th Street
 Austin, Texas 78778-0001 
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TexasBusinessToday

TexasBusinessToday is a quarterly publication devoted to a 
variety of topics of interest to Texas employers. The views and 
analyses presented herein do not necessarily represent the 
policies or the endorsement of the Texas Workforce Commis­
sion. Articles containing legal analyses or opinions are 
intended only as a discussion and overview of the topics 
presented. Such articles are not intended to be a comprehen­
sive legal analysis of every aspect of the topics discussed. Due 
to the general nature of the discussions provided, this infor­
mation may not apply in each and every fact situation and 
should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based 
on the facts in a particular case. 

TexasBusinessToday is provided to employers free of charge. 
If you wish to subscribe to this newsletter or to discontinue 
your subscription, or if you are receiving more than one 
copy or wish to receive additional copies, please 
write to: Ron Lehman
 

Commissioner Representing Employers
 
101 East 15th Street, Room 624
 

Austin, Texas 78778-0001
 

Material in Texas BusinessToday is not copyrighted and may 
be reproduced. 

Auxiliary aids and services will be made available upon request 
to individuals with disabilities, if requested at least two weeks 
in advance. 
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