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Texas Workforce Commission Enforces Wage Payment Law 
$5.15 million in unpaid wages collected on behalf of Texas workers 

  
AUSTIN – The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) helped working Texans collect more than $5.15 million in unpaid 
wages in 2014. TWC administers the Texas Payday Law, which requires private employers to provide workers with 
earned compensation in a complete and timely manner.  
  
“The Texas Payday Law requires employers to pay their workers on time and in full for all work performed,” said TWC 
Chairman Andres Alcantar. “The Labor Law program provides workers a venue to effectively resolve wage disputes when 
they arise.” 
 
TWC’s Labor Law program provides an alternative to costly litigation by resolving pay disputes and assisting claimants in 
obtaining unpaid wages. In 2014, TWC’s Labor Law investigators received 13,021 claims of employers not paying their 
employees’ due wages, and collected $5.15 million in unpaid wages on behalf of these workers. 
 
“Texas workers deserve to be compensated fairly,” said TWC Commissioner Representing Labor Ronny Congleton. 
“Workers should contact TWC to help collect unpaid wages if they believe they were not paid in accordance with the 
law.” 

Affected workers should fill out a wage claim form and submit it to TWC’s Labor Law division. Once the wage claim 
form is filed, the employer is notified and a response to the claim is requested by TWC. After investigation, TWC issues a 
Preliminary Wage Determination Order, and both the claimant and the employer have 21 days from the mailing date to 
appeal.  
 
"My office strongly encourages employers to stay informed on both Texas and federal wage payment laws. Complying 
with these laws is essential for businesses of any size," said TWC Commissioner Representing Employers Hope Andrade. 
 
Labor Law staff also educates the general public about the Texas Payday Law, the Texas Child Labor Law and the Texas 
Minimum Wage Act through presentations to employer organizations, educational service centers, workforce boards and 
other community organizations. 
 
For more information on wage claim forms and labor law Visit www.twc.state.tx.us/jobseekers/how-submit-wage-claim-
under-texas-payday-law or call 800-832-9243 or 512-475-2670. 
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The Texas Workforce Commission is a state agency dedicated to helping Texas employers, workers and communities prosper economically. 
For details on TWC and the programs it offers in unison with its network of local workforce development boards, call 512-463-8942 or visit 
www.texasworkforce.org. 
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